thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 152 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:56 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 517
Location: London, UK
they're greyed out unless you check "Activate Powerplay"..

also im using the modded 5.6 catalyst drivers, not sure if the standard IBM ones would work or not?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:28 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:10 am
Posts: 100
Location: Spain
skanky wrote:
they're greyed out unless you check "Activate Powerplay"..

also im using the modded 5.6 catalyst drivers, not sure if the standard IBM ones would work or not?

I did activate that in the Catalyst once. But it did not work! :)

Where do i get the modded ones? What advantages do they offer?

_________________
T42, T60p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Update for the t4x file
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
Hi there,

i finally updated here the cs file. See the readme for details.

@Milos
Thanks a lot for your ideas.


Carl


Last edited by Spawn123456 on Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:45 am
Posts: 16
Location: EU
Spawn123456 wrote:
Hi there,

i finally updated here the cs file. See the readme for details.

@Milos
Thanks a lot for your ideas.


Carl


Hi! Thank you for this great work. Your script works fine until I reboot my machine. Then I get message "ERROR - ACPI Control System problem detected". When I turn on debugging of ACPI in NHC, I get "IBM.t43p.FAN.refresh()... ERROR".
I have to manually change Notebook Fan Control mode from 2 (NHC) to 3 (ACPI) and back. Then it works OK again.

Any ideas, what to change, so I do not have to make those manual steps every boot?

Thanks for reply

billyrom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
billyrom wrote:
Spawn123456 wrote:
Hi there,

i finally updated here the cs file. See the readme for details.

@Milos
Thanks a lot for your ideas.


Carl


Hi! Thank you for this great work. Your script works fine until I reboot my machine. Then I get message "ERROR - ACPI Control System problem detected". When I turn on debugging of ACPI in NHC, I get "IBM.t43p.FAN.refresh()... ERROR".
I have to manually change Notebook Fan Control mode from 2 (NHC) to 3 (ACPI) and back. Then it works OK again.

Any ideas, what to change, so I do not have to make those manual steps every boot?

Thanks for reply

billyrom



Hi Billyrom,

I only got this error twice after the hibernating mode. I don't know why this happens, and it doesn't happen all the time. I can only guess, that the EC is blocked by the bios. If this happens everytime after reboot, try the ibm_long_refresh.cs file. (You can find it at the same place) I've increased the time, how often the fan level is checked from 1 to 5 seconds. But that's a little dangerous, because it slowes down NHCs reactions to higher temperatures.

One last question: do you use the free version, or the service version of NHC? Because since I have the service version it didn't happen again.

Spawn

P.S: I'm locking for a sleep function in C-sharp. As I can see for now, this is possible, but somehow blocked by NHC.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:45 am
Posts: 16
Location: EU
Spawn123456 wrote:
billyrom wrote:
Spawn123456 wrote:
Hi there,

i finally updated here the cs file. See the readme for details.

@Milos
Thanks a lot for your ideas.


Carl


Hi! Thank you for this great work. Your script works fine until I reboot my machine. Then I get message "ERROR - ACPI Control System problem detected". When I turn on debugging of ACPI in NHC, I get "IBM.t43p.FAN.refresh()... ERROR".
I have to manually change Notebook Fan Control mode from 2 (NHC) to 3 (ACPI) and back. Then it works OK again.

Any ideas, what to change, so I do not have to make those manual steps every boot?

Thanks for reply

billyrom



Hi Billyrom,

I only got this error twice after the hibernating mode. I don't know why this happens, and it doesn't happen all the time. I can only guess, that the EC is blocked by the bios. If this happens everytime after reboot, try the ibm_long_refresh.cs file. (You can find it at the same place) I've increased the time, how often the fan level is checked from 1 to 5 seconds. But that's a little dangerous, because it slowes down NHCs reactions to higher temperatures.

One last question: do you use the free version, or the service version of NHC? Because since I have the service version it didn't happen again.

Spawn


Wow. Didn't expect such quick reaction. :)
It happens every start of NHC after boot of OS (restart or power on). After standby or hibernate I do not have such problem. I use free version of NHC, so there may be the difference.
I think, 5 seconds is short enough time, so I will try "long_refresh" and post my results.

UPDATE: long_refresh do not work :( - the same error after start.

Thanks again

billyrom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
Quote:

Wow. Didn't expect such quick reaction. :)
It happens every start of NHC after boot of OS (restart or power on). After standby or hibernate I do not have such problem. I use free version of NHC, so there may be the difference.
I think, 5 seconds is short enough time, so I will try "long_refresh" and post my results.

UPDATE: long_refresh do not work :( - the same error after start.

Thanks again

billyrom


Hi billyrom,

I've written an cs. file which does not update the fan during the first 15 seconds. (You find it at the same place it's the ibm_fan_delay.cs file). If there is still this error please increase the fan_delay by your own. To do this open the ibm_fan_delay.cs in notepad and scroll down a little bit until you find the line

const int fan_delay =15;

here you can increase the delay by replacing the 15 to the number of seconds you want (I suggest to test it with a very big value)
Please post if it fails or works.

Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:45 am
Posts: 16
Location: EU
Spawn123456 wrote:

Hi billyrom,

I've written an cs. file which does not update the fan during the first 15 seconds. (You find it at the same place it's the ibm_fan_delay.cs file). If there is still this error please increase the fan_delay by your own. To do this open the ibm_fan_delay.cs in notepad and scroll down a little bit until you find the line

const int fan_delay =15;

here you can increase the delay by replacing the 15 to the number of seconds you want (I suggest to test it with a very big value)
Please post if it fails or works.

Carl


Hi Carl,

only effect of initial delay is that the error message will appear adequately later after start of NHC. As you suggested, I tried some bigger values of fan_delay constant (120 and 240), but this was the same.
In my opinion this is not question of delays, but the way, how NHC takes control over acpi. As I wrote formerly, no matter what values the delays are set, I have to change Notebook FAN Control mode to ACPI and back to NHC and then it starts to work. Of course, the same I can achieve, if I do not forget to set mode to ACPI before the restart of notebook, then after reboot change back to NHC.
I have found some earlier version of scripts (files have date 13.10.2006 - maybe @Milos') where there was two .cs files in archive - one for bluetooth and one for non_bluetooth models - and there is also readme file, which reads "ACPI (set_fan_speed) doesn't work after reboot". I assume, actual scripts are based on those two.

Billyrom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
billyrom wrote:
Hi Carl,

only effect of initial delay is that the error message will appear adequately later after start of NHC. As you suggested, I tried some bigger values of fan_delay constant (120 and 240), but this was the same.
In my opinion this is not question of delays, but the way, how NHC takes control over acpi. As I wrote formerly, no matter what values the delays are set, I have to change Notebook FAN Control mode to ACPI and back to NHC and then it starts to work. Of course, the same I can achieve, if I do not forget to set mode to ACPI before the restart of notebook, then after reboot change back to NHC.
I have found some earlier version of scripts (files have date 13.10.2006 - maybe @Milos') where there was two .cs files in archive - one for bluetooth and one for non_bluetooth models - and there is also readme file, which reads "ACPI (set_fan_speed) doesn't work after reboot". I assume, actual scripts are based on those two.

Billyrom



Hi Billyrom,

ok the delay didn't work. I just uploaded a ibm_save_init.cs file. It does exactly what you did on initialisation.
And yes this script is based on the old one. I thought the error was fixed, cause it didn't happen on my machine during the last month.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:45 am
Posts: 16
Location: EU
Spawn123456 wrote:
Hi Billyrom,

ok the delay didn't work. I just uploaded a ibm_save_init.cs file. It does exactly what you did on initialisation.
And yes this script is based on the old one. I thought the error was fixed, cause it didn't happen on my machine during the last month.


Hi Carl,

it works! Hats off to you! :D

You have my big thanks.

billyrom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
Hi,

I've updated the ibm.cs file. The bug billyrom found could also occur at another point! So update to V0.82.


Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 247
Location: Kirkkonummi, Finland
Spawn123456 wrote:
i finally updated here the cs file.

What is the correct link? rcswww.urz.tu-dresden.de/~s3924347/ does not work.
Thanks, Dominique

_________________
X301 (2776-3JG) | Core2 Duo U9400 1.4 GHz | 8GB | 128GB SSD | Win 7 Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:41 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 247
Location: Kirkkonummi, Finland
Spawn123456 wrote:
I've updated the ibm.cs file. The bug billyrom found could also occur at another point! So update to V0.82.

v. 0.82 is the version for what? the file that should be found on the link that doesn't work?
Thanks, Dominique

_________________
X301 (2776-3JG) | Core2 Duo U9400 1.4 GHz | 8GB | 128GB SSD | Win 7 Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
Sorry,

the web space of my university is down, so you have to wait until it's up again or you can download it here. Take the third file from the T43p 2668-G2G.


Carl[/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:58 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 517
Location: London, UK
any way of getting an acpi file for a t60? will the t43p one work on that too?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 517
Location: London, UK
i tried the v0.82 of the t43 acpi file for my t42, i get a "this is not yet configured for this system" ..whats that about?

if i put the files i had previous, they work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
@skanky

The script has been testet succesfully on a t60. And I think you have to modify the ibm.xml file.


Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 517
Location: London, UK
Spawn123456 wrote:
@skanky

The script has been testet succesfully on a t60. And I think you have to modify the ibm.xml file.


Carl

modify the machine type as the same as i would if i were doing it on my t42?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
Hi,

maybe you also need to update the manufacturer to Lenovo. Rename the ibm.xls to lenovo.xls and the lines <ibm> to <lenovo> and </ibm> to </lenovo>.


Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 517
Location: London, UK
renaming the 'ibm' entries to 'lenovo' worked a treat, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:43 pm
Posts: 42
Location: San Jose, CA
Is it worth a test of your *.cs file on T23? It's only a Pentium III mobile. Mainly I want to quiet down the fan noise. Been using tpfancontrol but it generates numerous warning message in System Log, and it keeps writing data to log file (so hard drive can never go idle).

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:09 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 134
I have an X31, and fancontrol works, but I'd like to get the fan utility on NHC working. Powerplay is greyed out, and I don't know why. More importantly, I used the T43p ACPI and I get this error...

Error building 'C:\Program Files\Notebook Hardware Control\acpi\IBM.cs' into 'C:\Program Files\Notebook Hardware Control\acpi\IBM.dll'

ErrorNumber: CS0117
ErrorText: 'ACPI.FIELD' does not contain a definition for 'ReadByOffset'
Line: 230
Column: 32
IsWarning: False

ErrorNumber: CS0117
ErrorText: 'ACPI.FIELD' does not contain a definition for 'ReadByOffset'
Line: 1158
Column: 45
IsWarning: False

ErrorNumber: CS1501
ErrorText: No overload for method 'Call' takes '5' arguments
Line: 1628
Column: 14
IsWarning: False


I edited the 2 fileS and added "X31" and my model number where it had T42 and another model number, but no go. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Aris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:18 am
Posts: 542
Location: Solomon Islands / Canada
Has anyone ever knowingly blown a system board using NHC2? I'm running it on my T42 2373-3UU (1.7 Dothan, 1GB, SXGA+ Radeon 9600) -- undervolting (6 @ .700V - 17 @ 1.100V), dynamic switching, fan control, the works. It has been stable, cool, and quiet for about two years (I began with CHC way back when).

I recently bought a used T42 2373-4TU (1.7 Dothan, 512MB, XGA Radeon 7500). Having had such a good experience with NHC on my first T42 I figured I'd put it on the second one as well. Since it was pretty much the same machine (at least the CPU is exactly the same and I didn't figure RAM and graphics cards would affect things too much) I used the same numbers for undervolting, fan, etc. I should note that one major(?) difference is that the 4TU, with the low-res graphics card, has the short fan while the 3UU has the long fan.

Anyway, it ran great the first day. I shut the lid to 'hibernate' when I went to bed and everything seemed fine. I went to start it in the morning and . . . nothing. Deader than a doorknob. I tried swapping RAM sticks and HD from my second machine (which I knew were good) and nothing would bring it to life.

So, question: do you think the system board was going to die regardless, or is there *any* way NHC could have killed it?!

PS I should note that the board was replaced under warranty with *excellent* service: out on 12 February, back on 16 February! The only hiccup was that it came back with an Intel 2100 3B wireless card rather than the 2200 b/g that was in it when I sent it in. They're sending me a replacement as I write.

_________________
T430s 2352-CTO 2.60GHz (i5), 4.0GB, 500GB (7200rpm), 14" HD+, W7 (64)
X201 3249-CTO 2.53GHz (i5), 8.0GB, 500GB (7200rpm), 12" WXGA, W7 (64)
T42 2373-3UU 1.7GHz (PM), 2.0GB, 80GB, 14" SXGA+, XP SP3 / Ubuntu 9.04
T42 2373-4TU 1.7GHz (PM), 1.5GB, 60GB, 14" XGA, XP SP3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:40 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 311
Location: Brussels, Belgium
dorin wrote:
any chance that file will work on x40? i have no idea abt programing!

thanks,

dorin


Woud like an X60 version.

_________________
TP X23 +UBX2 +cdrw
TP X60 +UBX6 +dvdrw slim + floppy + 8cells battery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 48
Location: Germany
@all


If you get an Error like

ErrorText: 'ACPI.FIELD' does not contain a definition for 'ReadByOffset'

Then you need the Core2Duo Patch, which is available on the homepage from NHC. Please don't ask why you need it, just install it an it will work.




Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 9:52 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 247
Location: Kirkkonummi, Finland
thibouille27 wrote:
Would like an X60 version.

Me too!

_________________
X301 (2776-3JG) | Core2 Duo U9400 1.4 GHz | 8GB | 128GB SSD | Win 7 Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 2:09 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 517
Location: London, UK
new version is out (pre-release06):

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?p=281585


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:53 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Slovakia
skanky wrote:
new version is out (pre-release06):

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?p=281585


i ve bought pro 06 version, but when i try to set my ACPI,
i enable ACPI sys control, but it gives me: SCPI control system is not yet configurated for this system, i dont know what i have to do with it.. i have Z61m..
i tried also downloading the core2duo patch, nothing happend only it says "pre-release-04"
please help me


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:23 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:16 pm
Posts: 59
Location: London, UK
This is great work, thanks for your efforts in writing the ACPI profile for NHC!

However, I have now spent a lot of time trying to get it to work and I'm still greeted by the annoying "ACPI Control System is not yet configurated for this system" message on the ACPI tab. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG? RRRHHHAAA :evil:

1) Downloaded Carl's ZIP and extracted .xml and .cs files to NHC's /acpi/ folder

2) Started NHC and went to "Show computer hardware details"

3) Made a note of the "Name" under "PRODUCT" (2672CEG)

4) Opened ibm.xml in Notepad and replaced the model name with the above.

5) Restarted NHC and checked ACPI tab. No change.

I have tried variations of the above _many_ times, including chaning where NHC looks for the model name from SYSTEM to PROCUCT to MAINBOARD but I not getting anywhere. Please HELP! :cry:

Lomax

_________________
600E - 600X - 770X - X31 - X32 - T43p - Z Pro 9228


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:19 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 5:31 pm
Posts: 400
Location: NYC, NY
I wish someone would write an ACPI config file for VAIO laptops, but that's another story. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 152 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group