thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 1:24 pm 
Offline
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Posts: 5570
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Crucial.com is selling relatively inexpensive PC133 RAM as the proper choice for early T model Thinkpads when using their online "Memory Advisor" tool.

T20.

T21.

T22.

Apparently, Crucial/Micron has finally overcome the lo-density memory requirement in these PC133 sticks and we are the ultimate winners. I.e., no more searching for expensive lo-density PC100 memory for these systems.

Oddly enough, the above listed sticks are even cheaper than the PC133 memory sold for the T23 systems, which have always been spec'ed for PC133 memory.

Go figure!

Regards,

James

_________________
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 11:56 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Mesa (near Phoenix) Arizona
James, this is some GREAT news!

THANKS!

Oh, enjoy your new T21.

steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 8:50 am 
Offline
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Posts: 5570
Location: Medford, NJ USA
skou wrote:
Oh, enjoy your new T21.

Thanks Steve, they won't be here long before being parcelled out to family members who have been busting my as...... er, uh, politely requesting laptop upgrades.

Regards,

James

_________________
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:59 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Mesa (near Phoenix) Arizona
Luckily, I got 5 of them. I just possibly, may be able to sell a couple of them. (Although, 2 of them are going to friends.)

steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 20
Location: Valencia - SPAIN
Hello!

I ordered yesterday a couple units for my T-20... let's hope they will work fine :D !. BTW, my units come from UK to Spain and price is higher than in USA. But it still is good enough to upgrade my 256Mb T-20!

I will let you know if they work as promised.

Regards and thanks for the hint!

JOSE
http://jvgavila.com

_________________
JOSE V. GAVILA
http://jvgavila.com
T20 900MHz 512Mb 20Gb
T720 50MHz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:24 pm 
Offline
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Posts: 5570
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Hola Jose,

JVG wrote:
Regards and thanks for the hint!

De nada.

Regards,

James

_________________
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 20
Location: Valencia - SPAIN
:D :D :D :D :D :D

Yes!. I placed my order on Monday... and have received it today (tuesday) :o

It came by courier from UK but shipping was just 7 Euro. And shipping time less than 24hours. Great :o !!!

And, of course, the best thing, once put in my old T-20 (it is a 650MHz unit), they work fine! :D

Total cost to Spain from UK has been 105 Euro for two units. About 25% more than in USA but still a good price.

Best regards from a happy camper!

JOSE

_________________
JOSE V. GAVILA
http://jvgavila.com
T20 900MHz 512Mb 20Gb
T720 50MHz


Last edited by JVG on Tue May 23, 2006 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 11:25 am 
Offline
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Posts: 5570
Location: Medford, NJ USA
JHEM wrote:
Crucial.com is selling relatively inexpensive PC133 RAM as the proper choice for early T model Thinkpads when using their online "Memory Advisor" tool.

I received the two sticks of PC133 memory from Crucial yesterday (finally!) but only got around to testing them today.

Quote:
******************************* SYSTEM SUMMARY *******************************
OS information: Microsoft Windows 2000
OS version: 5.00.2195 Service Pack 4
Processor: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 6
Memory: 523,760 kb
BIOS version: 1.13 (KZET31WW)
Machine type-Model: 264787U

In other words, SUCCESS!!!!

For the record, the sticks are marked 256MB 144-PIN SODIMM 32MX64 PC133 CL2.

So, go to www.crucial.com and use their online memory configuration utility to find the correct, CHEAP, PC133 memory for your T20, T21 or T22 Thinkpad.

Regards,

James

_________________
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Upgrading T20 with PC133
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:09 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Madrid
Dear all,

soon I´ll be owner of a used T20 (2647-84G) :D , and I´ve planned to upgrade it with the www.crucial.com SDRAM SO-DIMM 2 x 256 Mb which you were talking of in earlier posts and which aparently work fine with older T-models.

My question is if this kind of RAM works fine in every T20 model, or if there are some exceptions.

Also I would like to buy a faster CPU (actually the T20 runs with a 700 Mhz CPU) and a bigger HD.

I would be very thankful if anybody could give me an information what´s the fastest CPU which works fine with the last BIOS and also regarding the HD. If somebody knows also a link where to buy the items for a good price, it would be great.

Thanks in advance and greetings from Spain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 20
Location: Valencia - SPAIN
Hello!

Well, so I am not alone in Spain with a T-20 :lol:

My unit was an older one, just 650Mhz. It came with 256Mb (2x128Mb) and I replaced it with Crucial memory (2 x 256Mb). It works perfectly.

I have also got a 900MHz processor which should work on my unit, based on previous threads, but have not had yet time to change it. I got also a T-22 fan so it will keep the CPU cool :P

I will post a message when I swap the CPU. Please, if you do it before, let me know :)

Regards,

JOSE (Valencia - SPAIN)

_________________
JOSE V. GAVILA
http://jvgavila.com
T20 900MHz 512Mb 20Gb
T720 50MHz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: T-22 fan
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:09 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Madrid
José:

Can you give me a tip where to buy the 1 Ghz CPU PIII an fan of T-22 in Spain (or other country) ?

Greetings

Jan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:12 pm
Posts: 10
Location: New Mexico
Hi folks,
I skimmed over this thread but didn't see it mentioned: has anyone mixed this PC133 with another stick of PC100?

My T20 has an IBM certified(not sure on the mfg'r without opening it up) stick of 128M that I don't want to pull out just yet. I'll be replacing the other 64M module with the 256M

Cheers,
Jamie

::edit:: Had I realized that they were now selling their PC133 for PC100 applications, I would have bought two. I used their 'application selector' before coming across the sticky atop this forum. ::edit::


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:12 pm
Posts: 10
Location: New Mexico
Looks like we depleted their stock. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:30 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Finland
Dadaa, first post :D

I ordered two 256 Mb Crucial PC133 SO-DIMMS yesterday. Now, less than 24 hours later, shipped, installed, tested and running smoothly.
Thanks to this great forum, i have already installed NEC ND-6650A burner.

slipnfall wrote:
Looks like we depleted their stock. :(

Stock in UK/EU store is not depleted.

Sorry for my poor english.

_________________
ThinkPad T22 2647-8EG
- Crucial 512 Mb PC133 memory
- NEC ND-6650A burner
- more to come...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 21
Location: Exmouth, UK
I have a T20 [2647-21G] 650MHz PIII with 128MB PC100 in one slot only. I nipped off to Crucial as per this excellent thread but seem to have more questions than answers. Here they are. Crucial seem only to have PC133 for either 128MB or 256MB.
1. Would 256MB PC133 in the 2nd slot work? or should I bite the bullet and get 2 x 256MB PC133? [which I don't really need as I only use the T20 for the basics - word processing, website stuff, and ActionScript when away from home.]
2. I think the Crucial chips are SDRAM [?] whereas what I have I think is SDR. Same difference? Does it matter?
3. From previous threads 512MB seems to be the max for memory but according to the Crucial scan I have "max 1024MB". I assumed 512 max meant total in both slots or am I missing something? [apart from sufficient brain cells of my own!]
4. Should I update the BIOS before? after? inserting new memory? Current BIOS is IBM 1YET43WW [1.07] 12/12/1999. If I should update, could someone advise where? I have done this on other machines so not a total novice. First time I ended building a new pc [good for the character] and second time I updated without breaking anything. So it's Technology 1: Me 1. Time for the decider?
Thanks for any advice. Duncan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:18 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 8967
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
duncan wrote:
1. Would 256MB PC133 in the 2nd slot work? or should I bite the bullet and get 2 x 256MB PC133?

Generally, you should not mix different speed modules. Some systems are able to figure out what you have installed and adjust itself to the slowest one. However in this case, I do not believe this is true for the T20. I think the system is locked into using a specific timing. What is important when using PC133 modules is that you use ones marked CL2 and not CL3. This has to do with what is called the "CAS Latency" of the memory access. Lower numbers are faster parts. Your current PC100 module should be CL2. Whatever else you install should also be CL2. As to the amount of memory, I would say the more the better. Depending upon the operating system you are running and the number of processes executing in the background, 384MB may not be enough. I know for some demanding programs, 512MB is a minimum amount. Your call.

Edit Jan '08: Note, please disregard my comments about sticking with CL2. The T21 and T22 systems can use CL3. I'm assuming that with the same chipset, that the T20 would as well. Ray

duncan wrote:
2. I think the Crucial chips are SDRAM [?] whereas what I have I think is SDR. Same difference? Does it matter?

Same thing: SDRAM = SDR = Synchronous Dynamic RAM, not to be confused with DDR (Double Data Rate).
duncan wrote:
3. From previous threads 512MB seems to be the max for memory but according to the Crucial scan I have "max 1024MB". I assumed 512 max meant total in both slots or am I missing something?

The T2x series can handle two 512MB modules for a system total of 1024MB. This is what I am running in a T23 at the moment.
duncan wrote:
4. Should I update the BIOS before? after? inserting new memory? Current BIOS is IBM 1YET43WW [1.07]

Shouldn't matter when the BIOS update occurs, but yours is way old. Current level for the T20 is 61WW [1.22] June 2004.
duncan wrote:
If I should update, could someone advise where?

Go to the site at:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MOE-3VAM8Y

for a list of all current BIOS updates.

_________________
Ray Kawakami
[DONOR] X22;X24;X31;X41;X41T;X60;X60s;X61;X61s;X200s;X300;X301;Z60m;Z61t;Z61p;560Z;600;600E;600X;T21;T22;T23;T41,T410;R50;A21p;A22p;A31;A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Last edited by rkawakami on Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:12 am 
Offline
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Posts: 5570
Location: Medford, NJ USA
rkawakami wrote:
The T2x series can handle two 512MB modules for a system total of 1024MB. This is what I am running in a T23 at the moment.

Only the T23 can use 1GB of RAM, the earlier T models are limited to 512MB.

Regards,

James

_________________
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:10 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 8967
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
JHEM wrote:
Only the T23 can use 1GB of RAM, the earlier T models are limited to 512MB.

:oops: :oops: James is correct and I need to check my facts a little better next time. T20-22 systems use Intel 440BX chipset which is limited to 512MB. The T23s use the 830MP chipset which allows 1024MB. Sorry for the error (as Ray goes and hides...).

edit: I just used my T21 and ran the system check that Crucial provides. It said that it could not identify my system but that it had 128MB in it (correct), that slot 1 was used (correct) and that it supports 1024MB (not correct). Did the same with my T23 that has 1024MB installed. It reported that it saw all 1024MB but that the system (it thought it was looking at a T22) has a maximum limit of 512MB. In short, don't trust the Crucial memory tool to tell you what you have/need. Go through the drop-down selections to find your system and that should tell you the memory requirements.

_________________
Ray Kawakami
[DONOR] X22;X24;X31;X41;X41T;X60;X60s;X61;X61s;X200s;X300;X301;Z60m;Z61t;Z61p;560Z;600;600E;600X;T21;T22;T23;T41,T410;R50;A21p;A22p;A31;A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Last edited by rkawakami on Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 21
Location: Exmouth, UK
Many thanks again Ray for an excellent post! Forget the sackcloth and ashes routine! [Thanks James for the added info and for the original post about Crucial.] I shall scamper off and update the BIOS and lash out on 2 x 256 provided they are CL2. Thanks again to all. Duncan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:35 pm 
Offline
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Posts: 5570
Location: Medford, NJ USA
rkawakami wrote:
:oops: :oops: James is correct and I need to check my facts a little better next time. T20-22 systems use Intel 440BX chipset which is limited to 512MB. The T23s use the 830MP chipset which allows 1024MB. Sorry for the error (as Ray goes and hides...).

Don't go too far Ray!

I made exactly the same mistake myself yesterday. TWICE!

Regards,

James

_________________
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:57 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 3:46 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Sacramento, CA
Yo pienso que el 256 MB se puede encontrar mas barato en otra tiendas.

_________________
A31 2652-Q3U Pentium 4-M 2GHz, 15" SXGA+IPS LCD, 512 MB PC2100, 40 GB HDD, Windows XP Pro, Sony Multi-Burner, Ultra Bay 2000 Battery, Intel Pro 2200 b/g mPCI wireless card


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Posts: 5441
Location: Wisconsin
Rough english translation?

I think that the 256mb sticks can be found cheaper elsewhere.

Correct?

_________________
"Say hallo to ma lil' friend"...Rules of the Road

The pizza guy vs. the cheapskate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:27 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7857
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Babel Fish:

I think that the 256 MB can be found cheap but in another stores

Of course one can buyer cheaper ones on eBay, but these low-density PC133 sticks on Crucial are still cheaper than the low-density PC100 sticks that 18004memory has for T20 - T22.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:39 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:14 am
Posts: 172
Location: Perth
Tried this years ago on my 2647-9BA when a friend offered to give me a spare 256Mb PC133 she had.

I already had a stick of 256Mb PC100. System hung on startup. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:15 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7857
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
zern wrote:
Tried this years ago on my 2647-9BA when a friend offered to give me a spare 256Mb PC133 she had.

I already had a stick of 256Mb PC100. System hung on startup. :(


She gave you a high-density stick.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 4
Location: HELLAS (aka Greece )
What!!! 75 Dollars per unit!!!

This is ridiculous! For such an old laptop.

I’m just a student; I can’t afford to bye them at this price!!! And if I could, I would just bye a new laptop!!!

Plain, simple, Logic guys!

_________________
IBM T21 2x128MB RAM 20GB HDD CPU850MHz
Bios Ver: (OLD:1.02a) (NEW 1.16)
5000mA Battery :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:12 am 
Offline
User with bad email address, PLEASE fix!

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:29 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Hollywood, CA
It's the unfortunate reality with obsolete hardware, yorgos. If you look on eBay, you can generally find them for $25-$50 a piece.

_________________
"If Microsoft had an original thought the company would immediately implode in suprise."
- David Every


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:47 pm 
Offline
thinkpads.com customer
thinkpads.com customer

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 3:38 pm
Posts: 1723
Location: Bakersfield, CA
The T20 was the single most reliable laptop I've ever owned, and in the last 20 years I've owned many. It is true that you can buy a brand-new laptop for about $400 and with that reality, putting $150 into T20 memory upgrades (to the low maximum of 512MB) might not seem such a great deal. The reality, however, is that your 512MB T20 is a MUCH better laptop than any of the cheap consumer-grade junk currently for sale.

_________________
"An atheist is just somebody who feels about Yahweh the way any decent Christian feels about Thor or Baal or the golden calf. As has been said before, we are all atheists about most of the gods that humanity has ever believed in. Some of us just go one god further."

Richard Dawkins, 2002


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:30 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 7:29 pm
Posts: 921
Location: Pittsburgh PA, USA
Just wanted to pass on to any interested party that there is an eBay seller who has 25 pieces of FRU#33L3070 for $34.99 each (I bought two) 256mb SDRAM PC100 CL2 - pulled from working laptops and 30 day return policy. Seller name is worldrecycler.

_________________
IBM T23 (2648-4NU) 1.13Ghz Pentium III, 1GB, 60GB 5400rpm, CD/DVD-RW, Internal Wireless, Windows XP Pro SP2 [DONOR]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:46 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7857
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Purcy wrote:
Just wanted to pass on to any interested party that there is an eBay seller who has 25 pieces of FRU#33L3070 for $34.99 each


Plus $8.34 shipping!

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group