thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 305 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:38 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Southern California
When I first got my T42 3VU and wanted to install a clean copy of Windows XP, I looked every where on the net to find a detailed guide that walks you through all the necessary steps to accomplish this task. Unfortunately, I could not find such a guide.

So, I decided to write this guide myself and make it available to everyone. This step-by-step guide shows you how can you create a bootable CD, format and fresh install Windows XP Pro, and finally install all the necessary drivers for your ThinkPad.


The guide is avaialble on my web site here:

http://www.4saad.com/WhatsNew/Fresh_XP_Install/index.htm

Senior Admin edit:
since the above link is now dead, another forum user is hosting the document, here:


http://www.slideshare.net/robert99


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 11:28 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 12:54 am
Posts: 131
Location: USA
Outstanding!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 12:41 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 6:04 pm
Posts: 1796
Location: Boston, MA USA
to the FAQ it goes?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 5:57 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 1:57 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Near Phila. PA
someone doesn't like sp2..

_________________
T42 - 2373-3VU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:11 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 8:49 am
Posts: 90
Location: Missoula, MT - Annecy, FR - Tokyo, JP - Toronto, CA
I assume Extracting and Integrating the SP2 is done by replacing the sp1 package by the sp2 one....

_________________
ThinkPad T60 2007 62U: Duo T2500 2GHz / 1 Go / 100 Go / X1400 128 / 14.1" / BT / WiFi / FP
ImageThinkPad T42p 2373 HTG: Dothan 1.8GHz / 1 Go / 60 Go(7K60) / ATI FIREGL T2 / 15" / BT / WiFi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:47 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
cakos...was wondering the same thing....any answers before I go through the process subbing the SP1 for the SP2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:33 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
Went ahead and tried subbing SP2 file for SP1 in the process above, but Windows wouldn't intergrate it. So, I was wondering if I could go ahead and use the process for SP1 exactly like it says to do it above (on an SP2 machine), or am I asking for trouble here? Wondering if the I386 folder contents have changed after upgrading to SP2 on my computer? If it would work then I can always upgrade to SP2 again after reinstalling SP1 version of WinXP with this process. Does anyone know the answer to these questions. Hate to go on without them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 9:54 pm
Posts: 24
I'm trying to figure this out too before I embark on my clean intstall.. Bueller? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:38 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Southern California
cakos wrote:
I assume Extracting and Integrating the SP2 is done by replacing the sp1 package by the sp2 one....


No. That is why I mentioned in step 2 that I will write a separate guide for SP2 because the procedure is somewhat different.

MadeInJapan wrote:
Went ahead and tried subbing SP2 file for SP1 in the process above, but Windows wouldn't intergrate it. So, I was wondering if I could go ahead and use the process for SP1 exactly like it says to do it above (on an SP2 machine), or am I asking for trouble here? Wondering if the I386 folder contents have changed after upgrading to SP2 on my computer? If it would work then I can always upgrade to SP2 again after reinstalling SP1 version of WinXP with this process. Does anyone know the answer to these questions. Hate to go on without them.


I'm not sure if I understand this right! You said SP2 machine, do you mean that your machine shipped from IBM with SP2 preinstalled? if that the case, then your i386 folder would not work as I described in my guide for sure.

On the other hand, if you mean that you had a SP1 machine and you did the SP2 upgrade yourself, then I do not see a reason why your i386 would change as SP2 installation would affect only the system files. So the guide should work in your case for a clean install for WinXP with SP1.

A good way to check if your i386 folder has changed after installing SP2 is to search for the most recent modified file in i386. If that date is after when you first got your loptop, then some changes have been done which I don't think so.

For everyone wants to do a fresh install with SP2. Just follow my guide and after the last step (updating all the drivers) install SP2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
I put my SP2exe file in a folder in C:\ and named the folder SP2.
then I used this in my run line instead of what's stated above and finally had success with the integration!

C:\SP2\WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe -s:C:\bcd\cds\wxppro\files\

After my unsuccessful attempt earlier, I deleted the I386 folder in the cds folder I had created, rebooted the computer and copied the I386 again and did the above. I think that's what made the difference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 7:51 am
Posts: 30
Location: Denmark
Thanks, that is a superb guide!!

Flushed my hidden partition and IBM stuff long time ago and made a clean XP install the hard way. But I could not get the IBM key to work with a corporate XP ver. thus I am using a company key but I would like have the IBM key. Seems to be possible now!

The only thing is; I sure hope the i386 folder will in my ghost backup that made of the original system. I tried to get the cd’s from IBM but they would only give me the Danish discs, though my TP came with an English XP – strange.

Glad to know that I am not the only one who feels more comfortable with a clean install; and thinks the HPA was a little waste of space.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:41 pm
Posts: 9
G-r-e-a-t guide, thank you, really, my T42's gonna have fun soon...

Hmm I was wondering : what is so diferent in your guide between SP1 and SP2 ?


Thanks again 8) 8) 8) 8) :D :D :D :D

_________________
T42 2373-3YG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 6:22 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 5:43 am
Posts: 60
Hello:

I've found this software to be one of the most useful tools available and is worthy of mention for those of us too lazy to do all the manual way:

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?s ... 88337&st=0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:38 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Southern California
rocky01 wrote:
Hello:

I've found this software to be one of the most useful tools available and is worthy of mention for those of us too lazy to do all the manual way:

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?s ... 88337&st=0


I have come across this tool when I was writing the guide. It's very easy to use, but unfortunately, it only works if you have the original WinXP CD (OEM/retail) or the network installation files. Neither of these options is available for us ThinkPad users because we are stuck with the i386 folder and the recovery CDs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
Wow, Rocky! What an App! I'm going to use this to Slipstream SP4 on my T22's at work which have Japanese Windows 2000 on them.

If you decide to use version 1.00.31B (the latest version) and read all 31 pages of the forum. There are a lot of bugs worked out and you'll need to know all the ins and outs of that.

This program will work for any language Windows 2K and XP and all service packs to date and is very small and very simple! Go check it out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:45 pm
Posts: 24
I juust got to step 13, right after the winxp install and for some reason I cannot connect to the net. I tried to set up a netowrk conenction but it seems like its not being created. I have highspeed cable connection that doesnt need password. Cant go any further since I have to download most everything now.

EDIT: Got it...i had to install drivers for the ethernet controller. The drivers were on the backup dvd created.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 8:43 pm 
Offline
User with bad email address, PLEASE fix!

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:53 am
Posts: 93
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Thank you UCI_MECH! This guide is excellent! Really helped out a new T41 owner. 8) I think the FAQ should link to this guide.

I had no problem Slipstreaming SP2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Slipstreaming SP2
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 12:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:58 am
Posts: 13
This article may be of interesst.

http://www6.tomshardware.com/howto/2004 ... on-01.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:18 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
Nearly...that process works too but AutoStreamer simplifies everything. I've made intergrated, bootable installation discs now for English and Japanese versions of Windows XP and Windows 2000 with it. If anyone is interested, just go to the link in this thread (small download size) and download the latest version of AutoStreamer. You don't have to read all the 30 some odd pages now to do it (like I said you should do earlier in the thread). It is extremely user friendly and self explanatory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Problems
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:20 pm
Posts: 3
I have gone through each step of this process, however when i get to the part where it is suppoed to burn the contents to the cd, it doesn't. The cd is empty. Is there anything I am doing wrong?

Thanks

EDITED: IGNORE THIS POST, i downloaded an old .dll file.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 9:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
What program are you using to burn the CD? Most seem to use Nero. I prefer using RecordNow. It's an ISO file so you could even use DVD Decryptor if you want (usually only burns DVD's but if it's ISO, it'll work). You can even mount the ISO image as if it's already a disc and burn it as if it's a CD to CD copy if you want (programs that come to mind are Daemon Tools and Nero's Image Drive).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 12:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Victoria, Canada BC
Damed. I was so much looking forward to this guide and now that I need it, the page is down. *****Expletives removed by Moderator***** :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 4:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Victoria, Canada BC
Ok, it's working again. But I have an issue with the CD Label.
Can somebody please tell me which label he used for the CD or what the CD is called in explorer? Please hurry. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:19 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
heavybyte...it's whatever you chose to name it during the process. I named mine WXPSP4 (For Windows XP with SP 4). Whatever you named it, it should have an ISO extension.

If you're not sure where you save it (usually right under C:), then go into Search and do a search for *.*iso This will search out all ISO files.

Good Luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 2:43 am
Posts: 20
Great guide -thanks a lot!

So I won't have to worry about the pre installed (by IBM) programs in the Program folder? Like RecordNow, Movie Maker, PC Doctor, etc? I'll be able to download what's not in the IBMTOOLS folder?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 5:36 pm
Posts: 45
How do you get the i386 directory off the recovery cd. I tried all my recovery CD's and could not find the i386 directory anywhere.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
The "official" recovery CD's from IBM don't have the I386 folders visible...they are encrypted in their own type of files. If you have your computer up and running and are using either Windows XP or Windows 2000, use the I386 folder from within Windows. It will be under C:\ in XP and in C:\WINNT\ in Win2000, but if you're like me, you've cleaned out the I386 folder in Win2000 (my desktop) and nothing there to copy. In this case you can use a Win2000 install disk.

In the case of the IBMTOOLS folder...um...NO, these programs won't copy into your slipstreamed installation disk. You'll have to back the programs you want some other way. If all will copy onto a disc then copy the whole folder, if not then pick and choose or if you have a DVD burner on your Thinkpad, copy onto DVD....I know the folder will fit on that!

Good luck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:23 pm
Posts: 4
Step 10 http://www.4saad.com/WhatsNew/Fresh_XP_Install/Step10.htm says that the HPA will be visible in 'My Computer' once it is disabled in the BIOS, but this is not working for me. Please see my thread here

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?p=27167

any suggestions or ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 9:59 pm 
Offline
User with bad email address, PLEASE fix!

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:53 am
Posts: 93
Location: Vancouver, Canada
look under "Disk Management", under Computer Management.

_________________
T41 (23739FU)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 2:43 am
Posts: 20
The light version of this, wouldn't that be to just skip to step 10 where the IBM partition is disabled, and just erease it?

Or could it be even more easy: when I check the drive with PartitionMagic I see the hidden partition, and I'm playing with the idea to just erase it and incorporate it with the bigger partition. Wouldn't that be possible?

It won't be a clean install, but on the other hand, it will be much easier to do, and without any (?) risks.

And to be honest, will I notice a difference when I do a clean install of XP, or is it just the knowledge that I've done it that I will get?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 305 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group