thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:21 am 
Offline
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:18 am
Posts: 572
Location: Derry, NH
I have one lightly used 1.8Ghz dothan CPU. I used it in a T41p for a few months. Didn't really notice a difference between the 1.7Ghz Banias and 1.8Ghz Dothan so put the Banias back in. Looking for $300 to include insured priority us mail shipping (money-order or Paypal). Perfect working condition. CPU only, will need to reuse your heatsink/fan (probably should buy some arctic silver). Available to continental USA buyers only. Thanks.

_________________
T61P 2.2ghz 4GB 7K200GB 15.4" WSXGA+ Vista 64
HP 2530p L7400 1.86Ghz 3GB 160GB Windows 7 Pro 64
(Hubby) HP 2510p U7500 1.06Ghz 2GB 5K120GB 12" LED WXGA XP Pro
(4 year old son) Toughbook CF-29 1.3Ghz 1.2GB 5K250GB 13.3" XGA XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:43 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
I have a T41 with a 1.4Ghz processor. I also put the very fast 60Gb drive in this machine. It has 768Mb of ram and works great.

Would I notice much impact for changing to the 1.8GHz processor?

If I did this, the manual says I have to remove the keyboard and palm rest (been there, done that), the keyboard bezel (fine), and also the LCD Display. Is it necessary to remove the LCD assembly? Should not be based on my look, and I would like to avoid removing this item (wiring, antennae, etc.)

I am in Toronto, Canada. I can get a Money Order to you easily (done that with Bill here at ThinkPads) and I am also a registered at PayPal. Shipping is never an issue, and any taxes wanted by Canada get charged up here - you don't have to deal with them.

A bunch of questions, I know, but first and foremost - I'm not sure what benefit there would be, if any. I am not a gamer.
... JDHurst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:11 pm
Posts: 20
Location: NJ
it's not necessary to remove the LCD
and the price of a brand new dothan 1.8 will be $295 soon.

_________________
T40 2373-14h Dothan 1.8G/1G/60G(7k60)+mk6022gax(60G)/802.11B/G/14.1/DVD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:46 pm 
Offline
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:18 am
Posts: 572
Location: Derry, NH
I did not need to remove my LCD assembly. Pretty straightforward replacement. Just the usual precautions for static.

I don't guess there is a problem shipping to Canada as long as you dont mind paying any fees at your side (I have had people complain to me previously). And as long as I am able to ship it insured.

_________________
T61P 2.2ghz 4GB 7K200GB 15.4" WSXGA+ Vista 64
HP 2530p L7400 1.86Ghz 3GB 160GB Windows 7 Pro 64
(Hubby) HP 2510p U7500 1.06Ghz 2GB 5K120GB 12" LED WXGA XP Pro
(4 year old son) Toughbook CF-29 1.3Ghz 1.2GB 5K250GB 13.3" XGA XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:53 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:42 am
Posts: 280
Location: san diego, ca
Jdhurst, I don't think you'll honestly notice much differece going up 400mhz unless maybe you're doing some really cpu intensive work or maybe video rendering.

_________________
Thinkpad T61 7662-CTO
2.5Ghz
3gb ram
500gb 5400 Western Digital Blue

Thinkpad T60 2007-CTO
2.0 Ghz
2gb ram
320gb 5400 rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:01 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 1548
Location: Saint Paul, MN
muffd wrote:
Jdhurst, I don't think you'll honestly notice much differece going up 400mhz unless maybe you're doing some really cpu intensive work or maybe video rendering.


You'll get at MOST about 28% speed boost. That's if it's very CPU intensive and your data set is small enough to fit in the CPU cache.

Video processing usually has a large data set, so your memory bandwidth could be a limiting factor in that arena. Then again, if you are processing video for hours on end, even 15 minutes each time might be worth something to you.

I don't think it would be worth much to me because it probably won't speed up things like start up of the OS and applications because that's mostly a disk speed issue, and most of what I do is short tasks like "undo". 8)

_________________
Machine-Project: 750P, 600X, T42, T60, T400, X1 Carbon Touch


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:54 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
I did finally by the CPU. I am in no rush. I am concerned about activation (new Hard Drive, new Wireless NIC, more Ram, and now a new CPU). I have a spare hard drive with XP still loaded on it. When I get the CPU and the time to disassemble the laptop and install it, I am first going to test it with the old system. If it works great, otherwise I'll call IBM. I'm not expecting miracles, but even 25% might show up in daily use, especially with Virtual Machines. ... JDHurst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 8:59 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 1929
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
I don't believe that the the thinkpads go through the activation process with Win XP. Something about the way IBM do it and the license agreement with Microsoft.

_________________
Keith
(Formerly 600E 2645, T30 2366, X31 2673, T40 2373, T41 2379, T42 2373, T42 2379, T60 1952, T61p 8889, T61p 8891
Currently T420 4177-CTO, T430 2347-A54, T430 2347-UN9, T430 2349-L64, T430 2342-CTO, H520S 2561-1LU, Ideapad K1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:51 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
I got the processor in this evening and it works fine. Seems a bit faster, but not a lot in normal use. I'll see how it reacts with VMware. All in all, it was worth the experiment. ... JDHurst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:25 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
Virtual Machine performance is up. That's a definite plus. ... JDHurst

Edit: QuickBooks 2003 had to run its updates again and QB2004 and QB2005 had to be re-activated. Office 2003 did not have to re-activated. So some products, at least, know there is a different CPU in the machine.
... JDHurst


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: superme900 and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group