thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using the voice recorder
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: orlando, FLORIDA
i tried using the voice recorder, but when i play it back i cant hear antyhing. Does anybody know how to use it on a n100 3000 lenovo?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:30 pm
Posts: 3019
Location: Waterloo, ON
Is this the voice recorder software? Have you tried the Windows built-in Sound Recorder?

_________________
X200s (7466-3JU, Vista Business) / X31 (2672-CXU, XP Pro) / X61s (7668-CTO, XP Pro) / T61 (8896-A13 , XP Pro)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: orlando, FLORIDA
i am trying to use the bult in one. I went to accesories and then to sound recorder, is this the built in 1?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:24 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:30 pm
Posts: 3019
Location: Waterloo, ON
That's the one.

_________________
X200s (7466-3JU, Vista Business) / X31 (2672-CXU, XP Pro) / X61s (7668-CTO, XP Pro) / T61 (8896-A13 , XP Pro)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: orlando, FLORIDA
ok thanks. I try talking in it then when it saves, and i open it i do not hear my self. Is ther any adivse u can give me?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:30 pm
Posts: 3019
Location: Waterloo, ON
When you are recording, is the graph flat, or do you see it moving up and down as you speak? If it's flat, the microphone signal is not getting to the system.

Are you using the built-in microphone or an external one?

_________________
X200s (7466-3JU, Vista Business) / X31 (2672-CXU, XP Pro) / X61s (7668-CTO, XP Pro) / T61 (8896-A13 , XP Pro)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: orlando, FLORIDA
im trying to use the internal one, its called sound recorder. I dont really see a graph just a green thing that doesnt move at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:30 pm
Posts: 3019
Location: Waterloo, ON
A flat green line? Then it's a microphone problem. Two choices:

1. The microphone is broken or disconnected. If you have an external microphone, plug it in and try again. If the line is no longer flat, then it's some sort of a hardware problem.

2. Some sort of configuration problem. If your external microphone still produces a flat line, then the system is using the wrong device, the microphone is muted, or the driver is not properly installed.

_________________
X200s (7466-3JU, Vista Business) / X31 (2672-CXU, XP Pro) / X61s (7668-CTO, XP Pro) / T61 (8896-A13 , XP Pro)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: orlando, FLORIDA
ok i found the problem, it works but the reason i wasnt hearing anything is because the integrated microphone can hardly capture your voice. I have to scream in order for me to hear a whisper. Is there somethign i can do to adjust the microphone volume?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:40 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7898
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
sammi wrote:
Is there somethign i can do to adjust the microphone volume?


Right-click the speaker in the system tray (bottom right corner) --> "Open Volume Control" --> "Options" --> "Properties" --> "Recording" --> check "Microphone" --> click "OK" --> move the slider for the microphone up --> "Options" --> check "Advanced Controls" --> "Advanced" --> check "MIC Boost"

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:50 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 4818
Location: North Carolina, ...in my mind I'm going to Carolina.....
sammi, mine is the same way, i can barely hear it either, maybe lenovo will work on that issue :)

_________________
Americas Best Soldiers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: orlando, FLORIDA
works now thanks soo much. it was the boost that i had to raise and it works good now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group