thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:45 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:31 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:40 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Chicago, IL
Hey All,

Just got myself a nice Thinkcentre A55 desktop tower that has a Celeron D processor inside. I updated the BIOS to the latest version, and noticed that in the notes of the BIOS updates many references to fixes for CONROE (READ: CORE 2 DUO) processors being included. However, I can't find any reliable info as to what processors would be able to be used on this system, but the hardware replacement manual states many Core 2 Duos from the 4400 all the way up to the 6700 as being compatible replacements. I don't know if Lenovo places BIOS locks on specific units to disallow processor upgrades? Has someone done an upgrade on a similar age machine and had issues?

I like this desktop a lot but need some more processing power. The tower came real cheap, the quality is solid, and all I need is the assurance that buying a processor won't be money wasted.

Thanks everyone!

PS: Here is the link to a screenshot from the A55 service manual showing the various procs which supposedly are upgradable on the system: http://xs320.xs.to/xs320/07422/pic_a55.jpg

_________________
IBM Thinkpad T61p on Vista Ultimate x64 [home rig]
IBM Thinkpad Z61t on Vista Ultimate x64 [work/school]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 2:47 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Chicago IL USA
My opinion is that if the processors are listed in that manual, and the BIOS notes show fixes for Conroe processors, then I believe you are OK.

I personally doubt the "BIOS locks" business in this case, since the BIOS and the manual both mention Conroe processors.

Every IBM I've ever put a processor in, which was newer than the machine could "recognize," worked perfectly (maybe a notice during boot, but that's it...)

... again, these are simply opinions, based on owning a number of IBM PCs over the years, but none are as new as your A55

_________________
TP360 • TP365x • i1452 • TP T42 • Intellistation Z Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group