thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: KVM Switch
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:27 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:50 am
Posts: 218
Location: Bay Area, CA
I am thinking of getting a KVM switch. Reading on this forum it seems like a lot of people had bad experience using a KVM switch with thinkpads. Have anyone successfully used a particular brand/model, if so please post. Share your experience...

I am looking for a KVM swithc with Audio support and USB device sharing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:00 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:43 pm
Posts: 228
I used an IOGear switch that I bought from Buy.com for 19.99 and shipping was free =). Works fine for me I just use the scroll lock button to switch.

Only problem is that it only has mouse, keyboard, and monitor switch not USB and Sound sorry mate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: KVM Switch hang/freeze
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:40 am
Posts: 2
lvlolvlo,

what model of IOGear KVM do you have?

I have a GCS62 and it isn't working right. I am using a Port Replicator II with my T42. Keyboard and Video are fine on the setup, but when I plug in the mouse cable from the KVM the laptop either won't boot, or the mouse will work for a second and then hang.

If I plug a mouse into the PS/2 port directly on the back of the replicator, it boots/works fine, however.

Did you by some crazy chance encounter and find a remedy for this problem with your IOGear? Of course other people are welcome to weigh in! Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:35 am
Posts: 1
Location: Seattle
I have an Iogear Extreme 4-port USB KVM switch with a similar problem. The usb connector for (keyboard and mouse) must be plugged into the T42, not the mini-dock. It had previously worked fine plugged in to the dock on my former laptop, a Sony VAIO. It also works fine on the two desktop machines that are connected to the switch. I suspect the problem has to do with cascading USB hubs.

hw

garnetbobcat wrote:
lvlolvlo,

Did you by some crazy chance encounter and find a remedy for this problem with your IOGear? Of course other people are welcome to weigh in! Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Reply from IOGear
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:40 am
Posts: 2
I just received this response from IOGear regarding my situation:

Greetings,

Please ensure that you are using a native wired mouse and keyboard as wireless devices or any types of converters/adapters are NOT supported and will not work. Also docking stations or port replicator will interfere with proper KVM functionality and special keys on multimedia keyboards are not supported and will not work and we do not have any work-arounds to get them to work. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks.

Service Support


Bummer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:11 pm 
I am thinking of getting the IOgear GCS632U, but hearing about all these problems I am now not sure. Bummer that it does not work with the mini dock.. I am very surprised...

I thought that getting a USB version will mostly solve all the problems. As I read on a different thread, apparently the PS2 does not work due to IBM Thinkpads using one of the pins on the ps2 for their own use which conflicts IOgear using it for cascading switches.


lvlolvlo:
Do you use your switch with a dock or port replicator? What model thinkpad do you have? What model is the IOgear switch?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 4:34 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 3:11 am
Posts: 229
For some KVM's to work, the "enhanced" boot startup must be used...it adds some additional delay/detection cycles for keyboard/mouse....

You set it in the CMOS. Also, make sure your BIOS and embedded controller firmware are current.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 2:24 pm
Posts: 48
Location: USA
I'll try the "enhanced boot" setting and see if it works.

Otherwise, it seems that as long as you use a USB KVM switch, or a PS/2 unit and a PS/2-to-USB adapter, you should be fine. See this thread for more info:

Let's talk about KVM switches


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:47 am 
Well a lot of problems seem to occur with the different docks and replicators. Do anyone have any experience with this combination?

Again looking to buy a GCS632U and use it with my minidock on a X31. The KVM will be connected to a USB mouse and keyboard.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:06 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:50 am
Posts: 218
Location: Bay Area, CA
edcard wrote:
I'll try the "enhanced boot" setting and see if it works.

Otherwise, it seems that as long as you use a USB KVM switch, or a PS/2 unit and a PS/2-to-USB adapter, you should be fine. See this thread for more info:

Let's talk about KVM switches


I can't seem to find the "enhanced boot" setting in the BIOS of my X31. Anyhow, I finally acquired the GSC632U and it works with the thinkpad only when the USB cable is connected to the laptop. It does not work connected to the USB port of the Mini Dock....

I will play around with it more... Anyone with suggestions let me know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:17 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:50 am
Posts: 218
Location: Bay Area, CA
Ok, so I narrowed down the problem.

The KVM has 2 ports for USB Keyboard and Mouse and each is specifically designated and labeled. I inadvertedly had them connected opposite and the keyboard work, but the mouse did not. When discovered and fixed it the mouse worked but not the keyboard.

So in Windows XP, when the keyboard is not working it shows up in the USB hardware list, and shows the keyboard as unknown devic. Connecting the kvm straight to the laptop and the mouse and keyboard is detected and works fine.

I don't know but it might be the dock is not supplying enough power to the devices???

edit: The keyboard is an IBM USB keyboard that does not need drivers.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group