thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:20 pm
Posts: 4
Location: toronto ontario
I'm trying to do a ram upgrade got two 1 GB of Patriot I can install one in the top slot as long as I keep the original IBM installed 512 in slot one.
other then that I get to the lenovo white screen and it hangs.
anyone had any luck in this
I was thinking I'll just take them back and get 1 2 GB and put it in the top slot anyone done this does it work past the 2GB bios limit?
According to PCDoc the only difference other then size is the ibm provides more info IE part number and date of manufacture.
anythoughts would help
Thanx Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 4393
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.
As far as limit is concerned, you can install one memory module of 2GB stick or in a combination of 1+1GBs, more than that will not work.

As far as your problem is concerned, it sounds like bad memory sticks to me, try to get them replaced or run Memtest86+ on them to see if they pass the test. Another technique that helps sometimes is to change their position from one slot to another.

And yes, you can replace these sticks from another vendor also, try to buy them from manufacturers like Crucial, Corsair or OCZ.

_________________
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:20 pm
Posts: 4
Location: toronto ontario
thanx for the input
but I did do all the testing and both new ones are fine according to tests it is just i can't get away from having to place one of the old 512 in slot one(bottom) both new ones work fine otherwize.
I'm thinking now ether get one 2gb and see what happens but that will give me 2.5 gb total don't know what that would do for the bios limit of 2 gb.
i was also thinking since it work just fine with the 1.5 i would get a flashdrive and use readyboost when needed.
thanx again Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: N100 Ram
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 10:06 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Central ILL
I just replaced my 2-512s with 2- 1Gig Crucial Sticks. No issues here.
Whizzer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:51 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13616
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
An original 512MB in slot 0 plus a 2GB stick in slot 1 will work.
2GB + 2GB will NOT boot.
Don't know if 1GB + 2GB works.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 4393
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.
RealBlackStuff wrote:
An original 512MB in slot 0 plus a 2GB stick in slot 1 will work.....snip


For N100? I thought the limit was up to 2GB only.

_________________
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:02 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13616
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I try to help out a guy on the Lenovo forum, who has confirmed that 512MB + 2GB works.
http://forum.lenovo.com/lnv/board/messa ... ead.id=546

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 4393
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.
RealBlackStuff wrote:
I try to help out a guy on the Lenovo forum, who has confirmed that 512MB + 2GB works.
http://forum.lenovo.com/lnv/board/messa ... ead.id=546


The user there has N200 (which can take up to 4GB memory), we are talking about N100 here.

_________________
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:07 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 1:33 am
Posts: 457
Location: Boston, MA
I believe I saw elsewhere on this forum where someone said 3GB was the MAX for the N100 but I can't confirm it.

_________________
770E (relic not in use
3000 N100 T2080 1.73GHz
R61 773-1GU
T41 2373 7FU Pentium-M 1.6GHz Banias
X31 2672 XXM Pentium-M 1.3GHz
X60s 1702-68U L2400 1.66GHz Core Duo
Compaq Portable (suitcase size, gone)
Mac Portable (first laptop in world, Stored
Mac Laptop (Stored
Toshiba Tecra (Stored


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group