thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:14 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
Did you reboot after each step as instructed? Try a reboot now and see if the wireless driver software will install.

To install the Intel 2915 wireless driver software, did you run ACSETUP.EXE from the C:\DRIVERS\WIN\WLANINT\ directory?

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:21 am
Posts: 6
Location: New England
Have rebooted multiple times....and tried to either update drivers or simply get properties on the wireless....can't get past the "adapter state not found in registry".

System restore does not work.

My assumption is I deleted a registry key that I shouldn't have.

Am trying to avoid the hassles of a complete rebuild---does anyone have the registry keys for a T43p -- for an Intel Pro/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection?

UGH!!!

-J


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:40 pm
Posts: 2
Location: NY, NY
Friends-
It seems that this and related threads have been dormant for awhile, but I wanted to share my findings.

After removing, rebooting, and reinstalling all of the recommended software, I was still having the same issue: Access Connections could be used to find wireless networks, but none of my profiles worked. I had to manage wireless connectivity through windows.

Turns out that a new wireless card requires you to create or edit your existing wireless profiles in Access Connections. They don't automatically update with the new wireless device.

This may have been an obvious step for most of the community, but I missed it entirely. After spending hours trying to get Access Connections to work, I was able to correct the issue in seconds by building a new wireless profile.

Hope this helps others who might encounter the same situation!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:34 am
Posts: 18
Location: Portland, OR USA
I followed Antera309's directions exactly, and this solved my problem perfectly. Thanks VERY much to Antera309 (and others) who have posted. Due to the age of this post, I am very surprised this is still an issue. My problem started as a result of System Update 3 updates. Thanks again, you saved me hours of work!

_________________
DELL - It really IS s a 4-letter word.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 8
Location: East Islip, NY
I have read the instructions and before I embark on the journey I have some concerns that I don't understand. For example

4) Search the C:\WINDOWS\INF folder for any files containing "2200BG". Delete any OEMxx.INF files containing this string -
>>Since I have a 3945ABG card I assume where ever he comments on 2200BG I should use 3945ABG
>> Am i lookinf for files in the INF floder that have 3945ABG in the file name and/or am I looking for 3945ABG in each OEMxx.INF file and deleting only those that do?

10) Reboot

11) Using Device Manager, force a re-install of the latest version of the Intel PRO/1000 Cabled network adapter (choose "I will choose the driver to install" then "Have disk" and provide the location on the hard disk with the PRO/100 driver files for XP). Reboot if prompted
>>When I come out of a reboot, my pc is already reinstalling the drivers. Do I need to disable something to do it manually?

Thanks for your help.

_________________
John S.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 6:30 am
Posts: 1
TPBigot wrote:
I followed Antera309's directions exactly, and this solved my problem perfectly. Thanks VERY much to Antera309 (and others) who have posted. Due to the age of this post, I am very surprised this is still an issue. My problem started as a result of System Update 3 updates. Thanks again, you saved me hours of work!

Another vote of thanks for Nick. I upgraded the wireless on a T41 with an Intel PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Wireless LAN card. Got the 1802 error but fixed that. Installed required drivers and wireless was fine under Windows, but not FnF5 or Access Connections. Followed Antera309's post. Took a while, but all is fine now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 8
Location: East Islip, NY
On January 31st I replied that I had the "Find" function back but when I tried to power the wireless radio on nothing happened.

I was going to try antera309's procedures but I try and stay out of the registery if at all possible.

In several other threads I pciked up on a possible power management issue which might explain why I was getting the message and the radio would not power on. So.....

I uninstalled the power management driver and utility and lo and behold on reboot my wireless connected. I have yet to reinstall the power management utility. I will post again after I do.

For all who offered help. thanks much.

_________________
John S.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Boston MA
Install the AEGIS protocol in the network properties of the wireless Dual mini adapter reboot and before login hit the f5 key. you should be able to turn the wireless networking on and off even before you login.

_________________
Hope this helps someone time to put back what I have received.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Another Fix
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Columbus, OH
This problem is so vexing, I think, because there are two combined causes: the Hotkey Utility does not fully uninstall and the Hotkey Utility cannot find the dll necessary to control the wireless radio.

If it is messed up for you, try the following:

  1. Uninstall the wireless driver using Add/Remove Programs
  2. Uninstall the Hotkey utility using its Setup program (uninstall is an option in the Setup app; it doesn't appear in Add/Remove Programs control panel)
  3. Restart
  4. Delete the Hotkey folders from C:\Program Files\Lenovo\PkgMgr [key step!]
  5. Reinstall the Hotkey Utility and the wireless driver (don't reboot if prompted)
  6. Change the system Path to include C:\Program Files\Intel\Wireless\Bin (easy way to do this: go to command prompt and run the following: path = %PATH%;C:\Program Files\Intel\Wireless\Bin )
  7. Restart


All should now be well!

PS FWIW, I prefer to use http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... n&lang=eng rather than Access Connections + the wireless driver available from Lenovo for download, because I turn off the power management and roaming "features" of the network adapter for better reliability. Access Connections resets these settings for every profile, but Intel's utility or using Windows Zero Configuration doesn't change the adapter settings between profiles.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:56 am
Posts: 4
Location: Preston, U.K.
Hi, I've now spent about 14 hours trying to mend the wireless on my wife's Thinkpad, and finally got it to work again. I thought it might help someone else if I posted some of the detail here. Moderators, please move this post if there is a more suitable place for it.

R50e 1834 S5G just over a year old. Windows XP Home.

The ThinkVantage software had never been installed/used, and no updates had been applied. The wireless was suffering drop outs, slow connections and general unreliability. It has only ever been used for our own home network, but may 'roam' in the future. Since I don't use the machine, it took a while for me to realise there was something wrong. I looked for updates/upgrades, and eventually these broke the wireless entirely, after which I ran the ThinkVantage software and got all the recommended and suggested updates, including a BIOS firmware upgrade. Then the wireless could not be made to work at all, even under the windows software.

After trawling through this excellent forum, I eventually found this post:
Quote:
http://forum.thinkpads.com/posting.php?mode=quote&p=145379

which set me on the right path. (I'm sorry, I don't know how to make this a link in the proper way).

I uninstalled the entire Intel ProSet wireless driver (both parts) to remove the new driver, using the windows add/remove software tool. I then went into the DRIVERS directory and deleted every file whose name contained "iProInst" or "IPROINST" that I could find, hoping they would be put back by the new driver installation. There were >90 files deleted!

I then again installed the latest Intel ProSet software from [7kwc50ww.exe] according to the instructions (by this time I was expert and could have done it in my sleep!). Bingo! The wireless function now works. The Access Connections also works - although I have only tried it once to find out, as I'm not about to do anything that might break the wireless function again. :?

So, my wife is now happy, and I never want to fiddle with a Thinkpad again. ;)

I do hope this helps someone!

_________________
Momist


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:40 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 1592
Location: Durham, NC
momist wrote:
So, my wife is now happy, and I never want to fiddle with a Thinkpad again. ;)
Sounds like famous last words to me. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:11 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Hello,
I had the same problem: Fn+F5 was refusing powering on/off my Intel 2200 card on T43. I tried to read much of your invaluable posts, but the more I read, the more I felt: "It is hopeless". Nevertheless, I tried to fight for the last time, and decided to update the IBM Access Connections to the recent version available from Lenovo site.
At the first attempt, it screamed: "Install .NET Framework 3.0 first", so I did. Then I installed the Access Connections. Then rebooted. And??? Do you know, what I got as a result???
Fn+F5 works as it should!!!
So, nothing else, but Access Connections (plus .NET Framework 3.0 before).

Good luck,
vincent43


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:30 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:26 am
Posts: 1436
Location: Hampshire, UK
A positive result. Well done. :D

_________________
T540p Win 7 Pro 64

X1 Carbon Win 7 Pro 64 for my wife.

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.

Dogs must be carried on the escalator. Where can I find a dog?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:56 am
Posts: 4
Location: Preston, U.K.
Well done indeed. I'm still fighting shy of having anything to do with my wife's Thinkpad unless I have to. The wireless is still working, I haven't checked the status of .Net lately :?

I have suggested that we format the hard drive and install Linux, but that didn't go down well. :)

Hope everythig stays good!

Ian

_________________
Momist


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:24 pm
Posts: 13
Location: kyoto, JP / Olympia, WA
Will the directions that antera309 posted work on an x41 tablet?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Columbus, OH
As the Hotkey Driver and Intel Pro/Set Wireless software get updated, proper instructions get out of date. The main cause of this problem is that the necessary directories are missing from PATH in Environment Variables (the System control panel)-- check for the necessary dll in somewhere like Intel\Wireless\Bin or Common Files, and add that directory to PATH and reboot. Also, reinstallation of the hotkey driver is problematic. After uninstalling and rebooting, delete the HOTKEY folder(s) within the %ProgramFiles%\Lenovo directory (see my previously posted instructions above), before reinstalling.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 3
Location: Poriya, Israel
Hi All,

I tried doing a clean install recently on my X40 2382 JEU. Last time I did this in 2007, there were no problems whatsoever.

However, this time around, I have not succeeded in making the fn-5 work. I have tried every piece of advice in this discussion (and in some other message boards), but to no avail. Incidentally, Program Files\Intel\Wireless path doesn't even exist on my computer, though it does exist on my wife's X40.

Regards,
Mordechai


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
Does your hotkeys onscreen display work for the other hotkeys? If not, you may need to install the Hotkey Features driver.

Make sure Access Connections is uninstalled, then try running C:\Drivers\Win\WLANINT2\XP\Apps\x32\iProInst.exe
When that completes successfully, reboot, then reinstall Access Connections if you want (it's not required).

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 3
Location: Poriya, Israel
Yes, other HOT keys work.

I decided to AGAIN do a clean install (after installing and uninstaling so much *^%$^&* in an attempt to get various features to work. This time, I did not install any of the Intel Pro management software, just the drivers (for both ethernet & wireless). I made sure to use my wife's wireless 2200BG drivers and here HOT-Key driver, since the fn-5 works on her machine (and newer wireless drivers & HOT-Key driver did not work on mine).

However, just as before everything works swell except the fn-5. I keep getting the message: "Unable to change power state of 802.11 wireless radio. Update the driver for the wireless adapter." I made sure to put in the advanced-environment variables path "Program Files\Intel\wireless\BIN" even though I didn't install anything there (I copied my wife's directory that existed in that path, however, just in case).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:05 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Posts: 742
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
I have had this problem before, and have found a simple and effective solution for intel cards. If you are using the origional windows intstall, go to the folder on the C:\ drive with all the software. (on my t41, it is c:\ibmtools\drivers\) Then choose the correct wireless folder, depending on your card (all I have is for t4x cards, this should be a longer list).

WlanCx2\ - intel pro 2200bg (calexo update)
WLANATH\ - athro card
WLANCSC\ - cisco/ibm? card
WLLANINT\ - intel pro 2100b

For intel cards, there should be a folder called "APPS", containing "API" and "SUPPORT". Choose API, and run KILLACIN.bat, which will re-install the software.

I have only used intel cards, so I cannot help with other brands, but I know the work will work with any driver version.

I have also found that it is easier to just upgrade the driver by pointing device driver to the correct path, and not bothering to use the included installer.

_________________
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
I have found the Intel installer works quite well. It will also repair a damaged install.

craigmontHunter brings up a good point. I pointed to the directory for my Intel 2200BG card. If you have a different Intel card, the subdirectory name may be a little different. Note that you can double-click on IBMTPI.XML (or other .XML) file in the first directory of the driver to see what that driver is for. For example, a double-click on C:\Drivers\Win\WLANINT2\IBMTPI.XML will show the following:
Code:
  <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
  <?tpi version="0200" ?>
- <build id="7KWC26WW">
  <title>Intel Wireless LAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</title>
  <version>11.01.0.API</version>
- <tpi id="WLANIN_D" downlevel="WLANIN_U">
- <xrelease order="INTELW202KXP">
- <release id="INTELW202KXP">
- <device>
- <![CDATA[ \PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4224&SUBSYS_10108086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4224&SUBSYS_10128086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4224&SUBSYS_10118086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4224&SUBSYS_10138086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4220&SUBSYS_27118086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4220&SUBSYS_27128086
  ]]>
  </device>
- <title>
  <gd tpipath="data/resolve[@method=LANGUAGE]">INTELW20</gd>
  </title>
  <version>11.01.0.API</version>
  <setup>\XP\Apps\x32\iProInst.exe /QI</setup>
  <uninstall>@REG\ProInst</uninstall>
  <os id="9X" />
  <os id="NT">[2K,XP]</os>
  </release>
  </xrelease>
- <data>
- <resolve method="LANGUAGE" default="0009">
- <item id="0009">
  <data id="INTELW20">Intel Wireless LAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</data>
  </item>
- <item id="0011">
  <data id="INTELW20">インテル ワイヤレスLAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</data>
  </item>
  </resolve>
  </data>
  </tpi>
- <tpi id="WLANINT">
- <xrelease order="INTELW202KXP">
- <release id="INTELW202KXP">
- <device>
- <![CDATA[ \PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4227&SUBSYS_10108086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4227&SUBSYS_10118086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4227&SUBSYS_10128086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4227&SUBSYS_10138086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4227&SUBSYS_10148086
  ]]>
  </device>
- <title>
  <gd tpipath="data/resolve[@method=LANGUAGE]">INTELW20</gd>
  </title>
  <version>11.01.0.API</version>
  <setup>\XP\Apps\x32\iProInst.exe /QI</setup>
  <uninstall>@REG\ProInst</uninstall>
  <os id="9X" />
  <os id="NT">[2K,XP]</os>
  </release>
  </xrelease>
- <data>
- <resolve method="LANGUAGE" default="0009">
- <item id="0009">
  <data id="INTELW20">Intel Wireless LAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</data>
  </item>
- <item id="0011">
  <data id="INTELW20">インテル ワイヤレスLAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</data>
  </item>
  </resolve>
  </data>
  </tpi>
- <tpi id="WLANINT2">
- <xrelease order="INTELW202KXP">
- <release id="INTELW202KXP">
- <device>
- <![CDATA[ \PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_11108086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_11118086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_11128086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_11138086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_11148086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_10108086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_10118086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_10128086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_10138086,\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4230&SUBSYS_10148086
  ]]>
  </device>
- <title>
  <gd tpipath="data/resolve[@method=LANGUAGE]">INTELW20</gd>
  </title>
  <version>11.01.0.API</version>
  <setup>\XP\Apps\x32\iProInst.exe /QI</setup>
  <uninstall>@REG\ProInst</uninstall>
  <os id="9X" />
  <os id="NT">[2K,XP]</os>
  </release>
  </xrelease>
- <data>
- <resolve method="LANGUAGE" default="0009">
- <item id="0009">
  <data id="INTELW20">Intel Wireless LAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</data>
  </item>
- <item id="0011">
  <data id="INTELW20">インテル ワイヤレスLAN (11abgn, abg, bg) (Windows 2000/XP)</data>
  </item>
  </resolve>
  </data>
  </tpi>
  </build>

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 3
Location: Poriya, Israel
Hi all,

Well, after two days of tinkering, finally it worked.

I followed GomJabbar's advice, but only installed the drivers. This still didn't work, so I tried Killacin.bat (which didn't give any visual signals), so I followed this up with re-installing the drivers+IntelPro software. Now the Fn-5 failed completely, producing a windows "do you want to report this?" message. Re-installing Hot-keys again resulted in the whole mess now working. Don't ask me what did it... I am just happy it works...

Thanks.
M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:04 am
Posts: 37
Location: Vienna, Austria (EU)
Since this seems to be an everlasting source of problems...

in my case, deactivating the device in the hardware manager, waiting for a minute and reactivating helped.

(Windows 7 x64, T61p & Intel 4965.)

_________________
lenovo Thinkpad X230 (2325-7R6) w/i5-3320 w/IPS panel, T61p (6457-CTO) w/intel core2 t9300 w/wuxga tft, X100e (2876-27G) w/amd mv40 w/hd tft ... all on Win7 x64; in the past: IBM Thinkpad R40.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:07 am
Posts: 1
Location: cambridge, uk
your all bloody mad... to fix Fn+f5 simply install the correct power management software from Ibm or lenovo or anywhere else you can find it!!!

i made an account here just to help you out! so pls if i helped let me know with a post!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:50 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1515
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
angrydee wrote:
your all bloody mad... to fix Fn+f5 simply install the correct power management software from Ibm or lenovo or anywhere else you can find it!!!

i made an account here just to help you out! so pls if i helped let me know with a post!!!!


Thanks. Lets see if your suggestion can help solve my issue. I have the software. Maybe get the latest version now.

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:40 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1515
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
angrydee wrote:
your all bloody mad... to fix Fn+f5 simply install the correct power management software from Ibm or lenovo or anywhere else you can find it!!!

i made an account here just to help you out! so pls if i helped let me know with a post!!!!


I did install the Power Management Software but I had to uninstall Fn-F5 from Add/Remove using CCCleaner because my Wireless would always be off. I could enable & disable Bluetooth using the Control Panel that Fn-F5 brought up, but all attempts to enable WLAN Card would not enable it.

Or are there a certain versions of the following on X61T that all work together well on Win 7 x64?:

Power Drivers | Power Management Software | Wireless Drivers (Windows or Lenovo) | Fn-F5

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More Fn-F5 problems
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:33 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1515
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
benjs wrote:
Since this seems to be an everlasting source of problems...

in my case, deactivating the device in the hardware manager, waiting for a minute and reactivating helped.

(Windows 7 x64, T61p & Intel 4965.)


Everytime I close switch off WiFi with the Hardware Switch and turn it back on it does not get turned back on. The Bluetooth works but WiFi wont turn back one.

The only way to enable WiFi again after this, is to Disable & Enable in Device Manager. Which is a pain to do so many times.

Are there a certain versions of the following on X61T that all work together well flawlessly on Win 7 x64?:

Power Drivers | Power Management Software | Wireless Drivers (Windows or Lenovo) | Fn-F5

PS: Anyone got an idea how/ where Fn-F5 enables the WiFi card? Is it some Registry Flag?

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group