thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 9:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:59 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Lithuania
Hello fans, I have a problem here, X40's motherboard is faulty, what I'm wondering about is whether I can replace it with X41's motherboard?
You see I can't get a new X40 motherboard here, but I can get a X41 one.
Has anyone done this already? I know that people were interchanging X30/X31 motherboards, cause they are physically the same,
and it seems that there are no differences between X40 and X41 connector layout either.


Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:59 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Lithuania
bump


Last edited by yozas on Wed May 20, 2009 4:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Glassboro, NJ
I would guess no due to the placement of the tablet hinge and the incompatibility of batteries. Maybe you could jury rig it though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:07 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 387
Location: Yonkers, NY
I was going to do the exact same thing but I found most of the X41 boards that are
available (eBay) are for the tablet.
I don't know whether the tablet board will fit into a non tablet so rather than try that I eBay'd an X41 (without a drive) for close to the same price as just the board!
I can tell you that the X40 memory won't work in an X41 and you'll need alot of drivers from IBM/Lenovo to get it working.
Now that I have both the X40 and X41 I will say the X41 (1.6Mhz) is a more robust and slightly faster machine than the X40. But it does give the 2010 hard drive error while the X40 doesn't care what drive it uses.
Good luck
Tim S


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 7:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.
yozas wrote:
Hello fans, I have a problem here, X40's motherboard is faulty, what I'm wondering about is whether I can replace it with X41's motherboard?
You see I can't get a new X40 motherboard here, but I can get a X41 one.
Has anyone done this already? I know that people were interchanging X30/X31 motherboards, cause they are physically the same,
and it seems that there are no differences between X40 and X41 connector layout either.


Thank you



You can install X41 or X41 tablet mother board into X40's housing case. If you plan to install x41 tablet board into x40's case, you should flash x41's bios and embedded

controller firmware into x41 tablet board.

Finally, There is no problem to install x41's board into x40.....

Leokim


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:50 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 3:29 pm
Posts: 2895
Location: San Francisco, CA
I have a couple of X40 machines I'm going to part out. Send me a PM if interested. I ship worldwide.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 16
Location: colorado
so it's been confirmed that an x41t motherboard will work in an x41 case?

_________________
T21 750 PIII, 384 MB RAM, XP and fedora 7
T42 1.8 PM, 2048 MB RAM, Radeon 9600, 1400x1050 14.1, VISTA and UBUNTU 7.10
X40 1.2 PM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:27 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
elee123 wrote:
so it's been confirmed that an x41t motherboard will work in an x41 case?

That is correct. I have done that (X41T mobo into X41 case). What I'd like to know is: Is it actually possible to flash an X41 BIOS into an X41T mobo? The issue with having the X41T mobo in an X41 is that some of the indicator lights and the lid closed switch do not work. See this thread for more info on that subject. The discussion was that if it worked OK, given some limitations, then don't mess with it. The mobo was cheap, and does still work.

_________________
A31p: 2653-N5U, 1.7GHz, 1.5GB, 320GB (upgr), CDRW/DVD, Win XP-Pro SP3
X41: 2528-5FU, 1.5 Ghz, 2GB, 40GB, Win XP-Pro SP3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 16
Location: colorado
haha exactly. don't mess with bios!!

i thought i had a bad board, because my computer was unable to sleep and unable to reboot properly. i tried downgrading my bios from 2.09 to 1.xx, because i thought the problems lined up with when i upgraded the bios to the non-2010 error bios. going back to 1.xx bricked the bad boy which is why i was in the market for an x41 mobo. which is hard to find on ebay as most are tablets mobos. turns out the 2GB dimm i bought was unable to self-refresh properly which led me to all my problems. sigh. unnecessary brickage.

_________________
T21 750 PIII, 384 MB RAM, XP and fedora 7
T42 1.8 PM, 2048 MB RAM, Radeon 9600, 1400x1050 14.1, VISTA and UBUNTU 7.10
X40 1.2 PM


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group