thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:44 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:31 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 106
GLR wrote:
1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 OA79H -pm SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 IA79H -pm SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS


For the sake of later googlers I just want to report success with a HTS541680J9AT00 (80G) with existing SB2OA70H firmware to IA79H.

(There was another 80GB drive in the machine by default, but I had that HTS drive around here and it turned out to be LOTS faster than the original IBM 80GB drive).

I used the Lenovo ISO files for firmware updates, started from CD (the new drive was already the internal drive, no USB box), pressed Ctrl+Break on exit when it asked to reboot and used the above three commands on the ramdisk I came out at the prompt (C: ).

The drive already had data on it and just booted up again with no 2010. *yay* :banana: The update tool now reports it as SB2IA79H.


Shim.

_________________
T43 2668-97G (2GHz, 512MB, 80GB, 15" SXGA)

Annoyed by fan noise? Check out the TP 43 Fan Control thread
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=17715


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:43 am
Posts: 2
Location: San Diego, CA
Quick question about the Seagate ST9160821A:
Thinkwiki shows that the ST9160821A will work out of the box. It also states: "The infamous 2010-error comes up during bootup, but the drive works fine and hdapsd can issue unload immediate to the drive."

Does that mean the error comes up but it will continue to boot? How's that any different from other drives? I currently have a Samsung 80GB in my Thinkpad T43, and my computer already does that (I have BIOS version 1.29 I selected "Continue" as the option related to the HD).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:51 am
Posts: 9
Location: Rueil-Malmaison (92), France
Shimodax wrote:
GLR wrote:
1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 OA79H -pm SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 IA79H -pm SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS

For the sake of later googlers I just want to report success with a HTS541680J9AT00 (80G) with existing SB2OA70H firmware to IA79H.

I used the Lenovo ISO files for firmware updates, started from CD (the new drive was already the internal drive, no USB box), pressed Ctrl+Break on exit when it asked to reboot and used the above three commands on the ramdisk I came out at the prompt (C: ).

The drive already had data on it and just booted up again with no 2010. *yay* :banana: The update tool now reports it as SB2IA79H.

I confirm : I've just completed exactly the same process on the same hard disk drive with the same firmware. It works fine !

_________________
X200 7459-E55 (pro)
T43 2668-4DG with HD 5K120 HTS541212H9AT00 [ERR 2010]
T43 2668-VBD with HD 5K80 HTS541680J9AT00 [fixed ERR 2010 : firmware flashed from SB20A70H to IBM SB2IA79H]
T42 2373-4WG with Intel wireless 2200BG [fixed ERR 1802]
R51 1829-R6G


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:15 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 71
Location: somerset, nj
Does anyone have experience with Fujitsu MHV2120AT? It's supposed to work with the new firmware update. But when I try to update it, it says no update for the HDD. Any idea how I can do this? And it still gives 2010 error. It drives me crazy!!!

_________________
T20, T23, T42, T43, R60e


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:59 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:41 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Magdeburg, Germany
Hi garysblim,

Unfortunately, Lenovos list doesn't say exactly your drive (MHV2120AT) is supported. It just says:
Quote:
Fujitsu MHV2xxxAT
,
Quote:
"x" means one or more characters.
and
Quote:
Note: The above information does not mean that any ThinkPad supports all of the Hard Drives listed.
. So it's not clear if your drive is one of the models which is supported. :(

_________________
T23 | T43p | Z60t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
MHV2120AH works without the 2010 error. It's the 5400rpm version. Good luck finding one at a reasonable price though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:42 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 71
Location: somerset, nj
That's a bummer. Worse is that in the middle of swapping the HDD, I crack (slightly) the plastic cover of the LCD lid... :( Does anyone if this is easy to replace? O well, I guess I can just use the 120 HDD on my powerbook instead...

_________________
T20, T23, T42, T43, R60e


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:10 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
Harryc wrote:
MHV2120AH works without the 2010 error. It's the 5400rpm version. Good luck finding one at a reasonable price though.


How do you define "reasonable" though?

If your current drive is dead, or you *really* need to space, then paying over $100 for the Fujitsu 120 Gig may be worth it. The $100+ price may be more reasonable than what IBM/Lenovo charges for a drive.

From what I've seen, the price range on them is in the $50 to $200 area. Quite a difference, depending on who is selling it.
I was able to find a used Fujitsu 120 Gig for $50.

Maybe instead of the (failed) petition to Lenovo to make the T43 support more drives, perhaps someone should start a petition with Fujitsu to make more 120 Gig drives.

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:12 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
I ran the last petition, it's your turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:36 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:39 pm
Posts: 74
Just chiming in to say the ST980815A definitely gives 2010 error, using latest bios for 2686-E7U T43.

_________________
X200s: 1.86/4/X25E
T43: 1.86/2/5k80


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 2:44 am
Posts: 9
Location: Moycullen, Ireland
dan0815 wrote:
Hello,

I've just updated a HTS541616J9AT00 (160G) with SB4OA70H firmware to IA79H. I used the actual release from the Lenovo page and the information in this forum. Following steps I made:

- Burn Image
- Restart, and exit update tool via ctrl c
- Typed : 1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 -pm OA79H SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 -pm IA79H SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS
- reboot -> no 2010

After that I restored the system via RR. The Disksize was only 130 G, I don't know why. When I've found out why the size is reduced, I'll tell you. The active disk protection works, at lest in a way I was able to test it (startet copy task and then lifted the T43 up a little bit while looking at the real time animation; when it showed the pause sign there was in the same moment no more noise from the HD). Pretty poor test, I know, but better than nothing.

Daniel


This worked for me with HTS541612J9AT00 firmware SBD0A70H. Thanks Daniel! :D

_________________
Rescued T23, 1GB RAM, PIII 1.13GHz, 80GB 5400 rpm HDD, Mini-PCI WiFi, internal bluetooth module, LCD 1400x1050. Dual Boot XP Pro & Fedora Core 7.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 2:39 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:59 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Palm Springs, California
Harry,
If you want that I should sign the T43 firmware petition, I need to be able to link to it. Currently, I cannot. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 2:44 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:41 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Magdeburg, Germany
Hi Smokestoomuch,

Smokestoomuch wrote:
Harry,
If you want that I should sign the T43 firmware petition, I need to be able to link to it. Currently, I cannot. :shock:
it's not necessary anymore. The petition has ended. ;) A few posts above you can read the result.


citizennb

_________________
T23 | T43p | Z60t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:20 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:09 pm
Posts: 143
Location: St. Petersburg Florida
Does anyone have a list or can you point me in the direction of a list of all the ThinkPad’s that have the 2010 error issue.

I have gone threw most of the sticky and noticed that the T42 maybe included.

I thought that I saw reference to some R series that may have this same issue.

Thanks for any guidance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 1:02 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:41 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Magdeburg, Germany
Hi.

It's a piece of cake. :D
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_w ... hard_disks

citizennb

_________________
T23 | T43p | Z60t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Reno, NV
I’m on my own with this one. Help. I purchased an HTS541616J9AT00 drive for use in a T43 2668-44U. Other HDs work fine in that machine. The purchased drive came from a Toshiba. (I have a diff T43 w/160g drive, that when I boot up also gives the ‘may not work in your machine/upgrade your firmware’ message, I press ESC. It also works just fine in 3-T43’s I have. But then, someone else configured it to work.)

With the 'from-Toshiba' drive I get the ‘may not work’ message, press ESC, the screen blanks out, cursor blinks in top left - nothing else ever happens. So I turn it off, it repeats, with no gain. From reading this thread I am confirmed I have to update the firmware. I’m assuming this is flashing the BIOS, please steer me correctly. I go to Lenovo’s site, find what I think is the non-diskette BIOS from http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-59096

Problem is, when it’s set as the primary drive, I can’t get *to* Windows XP Pro on the drive, to open Windows explorer, to run the program. Recall, it never boots to Windows, like my other 160g drive, even in the same machine (after of course bypassing the ‘may not work’ message).

I can navigate the drive just fine when it’s a secondary drive in a drive bay. I see all the software previously loaded, etc. So I know I could copy the BIOS program TO the HD. But I can’t ‘run' the program *on* that secondary drive. If I tried, it would execute on my booted drive, right? And I’m not running it because I don’t want to mess up the files on the booted drive. What do I do? Recall I’m on my own with this one, I know some stuff but got laid off so have no helpdesk to assist and have to get this machine running, so I’ll HAVE one to use.

And, I also want to be sure I have the right file by name, if you can assist. One link I went to for the 2668 but it did not have the HTS541616J9AT00 on the list of drives the file *will* work for. Similar ones, but no cigar.

Can you please be as specific as possible? Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 2:48 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
The firmware upgrade disc (if it's the IBM one) will ask you to select the drive to update firmware on. Choose your new drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Reno, NV
Thanks. I don't have an 'IBM disk' with either T43 I'm trying to get working with this drive. I have ones for 600x and T21 only. I finally found this link: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... harddrives. Ahhh. Firmware. Says it supports the HTS541616J9AT00 drive.

Downloaded the 'FIRMWARE_ISO_fwhd56.iso' file, cut it to CD. Put the CD in the drive. Rebooted, entered BIOS setup. Changed the boot order, the network order and F12 order to ATAPi CD0, HDD0 for the Hitachi drive. F10 to save. Shut the computer down. Took out the drive that boots. Put in the drive that doesn't, now as the primary drive. Turned it on, the CD starts crunching. Entered BIOS to make sure the boot order remained. Got the 'may not work' message. Blinking cursor that goes no where. Shut it down, do it again. Nothing every asked me to select a drive. It does the same thing no matter what path I take.

I later specifically 'excluded' the HDD0 drive in question, from the boot order, completely.

I tried F12 on startup, then selecting the CD/DVD RW drive to boot from. Media fails message, exits the program; no OS found. Did I cut the CD wrong? I cut it with only the 'FIRMWARE_ISO_fwhd56.iso' file. The instructions clearly say it is supposed to be a bootable CD. Was I supposed to use an option in cutting the CD to add system files to it?

The instructions also clearly say "Any hard drive password must be removed prior to running this utility. Otherwise firmware can't be updated with error message. " I don't know the OS passwords for any users. I can't get it to boot so I can check users, to reset passwords. Ideas, anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 7:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Don't copy the .iso file to CD. You have to burn the image to disk. How you do that depends on your burning software.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 10:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Reno, NV
Ah HAH. Progress. So it boots from d: and sees my HD + CDRW drive. While initializing, says:
0 hdd found
C:RAMDRIVE FOUND

Provides info:
IDE Pri. Master HTS541616J9AT00 Firmware version SB4OA70H
IDE Sec. MasterUJDA755y DVD/CDRW Firmware version 1.72

Says no firmware upgrade required. Same symptoms. Ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 12:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Code:
Hello,

I've just updated a HTS541616J9AT00 (160G) with SB4OA70H firmware to IA79H. I used the actual release from the Lenovo page and the information in this forum. Following steps I made:

- Burn Image
- Restart, and exit update tool via ctrl c
- Typed : 1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 -pm OA79H SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 -pm IA79H SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS
- reboot -> no 2010

After that I restored the system via RR. The Disksize was only 130 G, I don't know why. When I've found out why the size is reduced, I'll tell you. The active disk protection works, at lest in a way I was able to test it (startet copy task and then lifted the T43 up a little bit while looking at the real time animation; when it showed the pause sign there was in the same moment no more noise from the HD). Pretty poor test, I know, but better than nothing.

Daniel


Reference - viewtopic.php?p=428581#p428581

So it appears doable, but at the end of the day only 130GB out of 160GB will be usable on the HD. Also I reread your posts, you will want to start with a blank drive. The image from the Toshiba will not work in a Thinkpad. Blank out the drive using Activekilldisk.
http://www.killdisk.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Reno, NV
I see. (I did see the previous post.) I don't mind blanking out the drive as I can reload OS, software. I had been told that all it needed was Thinkpad drivers, etc. do I have to do anything to it besides killdisk? Do I put it in as a bay drive then run killdisk? Then format it? Update BIOS? Anything? Specifics will help. Thanks.

I also have a new blank drive just like it. What do I have to do to it, to get it to work as well? A format command? If so, which one. And I should do it when it's secondary slave drive? I haven't had to format an old or used drive in a gazillion years. Thx.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 1:49 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Activekilldisk is all you need, then run the XP install DVD. BIOS is not a cause of your problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:29 pm
Posts: 34
Location: NE Ohio, USA
Old thread, I know, but certainly well relevant for folks who live with (as one person here called 'em) these moody T43s.

I have now a used T43 and a (separately purchased) used Hitachi Travelstar 7k100 HTS721080G9AT00 drive, manufactured in 2005, with firmware revision MC40A51A.

Instructions for force-flashing this drive with IBM/Lenovo's update program are on this page of this thread :

viewtopic.php?t=11059&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=300

However they refer to update revision 44 (fwhd44.iso) which seems to have gone missing from the IBM download. One member of the forum posted it on his own webpage and it's still out there, but it appears to be an incorrect or corrupt file. It's only about 1.8m and when burned to a CD the CD appears to be empty. To the recyclers with ye!

So I have the current HD update from IBM's website, fwhd56.iso, QUITE current : issued 20 May 2009.

The instructions in the above link suggest using the MC4IA51A firmware by copying it to an OEM file (MC4OA51A.bdr). In the current release there is no such firmware. There is however a MC4IA5DA.bdr. Just one difference : the 1 is now a D.

Think it's safe to use? This drive doesn't weigh much and would make a right lousy paperweight if I knock it senseless with the wrong firmware.

Thanks to all!

_________________
Ohio Thinker - 760EL, 600E, T22 * 2, T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:26 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 236
Location: NY, NY
Is there a known fix for the Seagate Momentus 100GB 7200RPM Hard Drive ST910021A? I'm running 1.29 and 1.06 on a 2668-CTO. I upgraded the drive firmware to 3.07 with the Lenovo iso with no luck.

_________________
T400s | 27" iMac (mid 2010) | T43 | Powerbook G4 | OptiPlex RAID 10 Ubuntu server


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:52 am
Posts: 5
Location: Seinäjoki, Finland
I read the whole thread... Unbelievable! After so many years, no solution for this 2010 error issue..? No one have hack the bios? :eek:

I just upgrade my R52 HDD with a 250Gb WD2500BEVE and got the 2010 message but the disk seems to work properly. I didn't know of the issue before this...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:03 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1537
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
I have decided to use a one of the HD's in my T30 for the R52 in an effort to save some money.

Does anyone know if the Seagate Momentus ST980815A is compatible with a "moody" R52???

_________________
X200T 7449-88U | Dell Latitude E6510 | Acer Chromebook c720


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: Russia
deleted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:53 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:51 pm
Posts: 462
Location: Canada
Harryc wrote:
Check the thread linked below for petition details. I'm open to ideas on how to make it more public. Let's carry the petition discussion over to that thread and leave this one for T43 firmware issues. Thanks.
viewtopic.php?p=435831#435831

Hmm, I signed this petition last year so anyone know whether I should be able to see this thread? (I think I may have posted there too before but not sure) Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
The thread was moved out of view because the petition was completed, submitted, and rejected, so it served no useful purpose.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group