thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: The story goes on....
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:16 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:36 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Madrid, Spain
Yes, the clock circuit was in "the other side" of the mainboard. I finally had today the time (and courage) enough for doing the hardware modification to my "very old" 600E to have it working at a clock speed of 100MHz and.... it works !!!! :) :D

I thought for a while in doing also the FSB to 108MHz mod, but the resistor I have (1/8watt) is too big for putting it under the MMC2 board and, aditionally, the solder I have, being small, it is not the appropiate for the places that have to be solded the resistor.

So, I'll stay with my 100MHz and now waiting for the new memories to come to my hands in the coming days (hopefully).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:54 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Berlin, Germany
I just installed a new HDD on my Thinkpad 600x 4EU 500Mhz. Its a Samsung 120GB HM121HC for 44 Euro incl. shipping. It works without any problems out of the box. I cloned the old original 12 GB HDD with HDclone free edition. The new drive is basically silent in comparison to the old shaking and buzzing HDD.

My attobench results. Max at about 22 MB/s. My home SSD reaches easily over 100 MBs but thats another story.

Image

For comparison my original 12 GB from 1999. Its about half the speed but with real working the speed improvement is much larger.

Image

Another comparison with the TP 600E with the original 6GB HDD from 1999. Really slow with 4-6 MB/s max.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 3:07 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:13 pm
Posts: 286
Location: Grimsby, England - UK
Uniter, i also decided to upgrade the HD on my 600x from the original 12GB to a new 40GB. I did a test on the old HD using the same software, 8-9 mb/s, pretty much the same as you were getting. Now i'm getting 20 read, and 32 write speed. (why the big difference in read/ write ) Its also a lot quieter.
Finally i upgraded the RAM to 448.

_________________
X61 and (retired)600x.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:28 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1558
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
I'm wondering if a BIOS flash is necessary to get a large HDD working properly. My version is 1.09 and I installed a dual-boot but for some reason one of the OS' will not load. I also get a message before my linux boots that a forced ACPI will be done. It also says something about an old BIOS image (1999) and no (2000) BIOS.

Something along those lines. I'm assuming a newer BIOS version must be necessary to get my dual-boot working properly.

_________________
X200T 7449-88U | Dell Latitude E6510 | Acer Chromebook c720 | mATX Haswell Desktop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1348
Location: Toronto, Canada
emeraldgirl08 wrote:
I'm wondering if a BIOS flash is necessary to get a large HDD working properly.
Possibly, but I don't know.
emeraldgirl08 wrote:
My version is 1.09 and I installed a dual-boot but for some reason one of the OS' will not load. I also get a message before my linux boots that a forced ACPI will be done. It also says something about an old BIOS image (1999) and no (2000) BIOS. Something along those lines.
Note that the internal BIOS date of ALL 600X BIOSes is 1999, even though the release date for some of them was a few years later. The reason for this has to do with something about Windows 98 installation and the use of the BIOS date to determine ACPI/APM compatibility.

I'm not saying you shouldn't upgrade your BIOS, and maybe that will solve your problem. I'm just noting that you should be careful if you are relying on the internally reported BIOS date to make any decisions about this.

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:37 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 346
Location: Sterling Heights, Mi
you guys are going to make me drag out a 600X and make an 850MHz version... dang you people :lol:

_________________
T60p/x32/t42p/a31p and about 100 more 8)
Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:44 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 346
Location: Sterling Heights, Mi
ok 600X check, CR2032 battery, check. can't find a battery... I know I have one, check. MMCII 850MHz CPU dang... 800MHz good enough :)

_________________
T60p/x32/t42p/a31p and about 100 more 8)
Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
guest wrote:
I have a TP 600 and want to run a DVD player on it...any ideas to make it work?


I have used the caddy and faceplate of a bad TP 600 UltraBay CDROM drive and replaced the bad drive with a DVD/CD-RW combo and it works just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 9:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 11:28 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Hi,
Just preparing for LCD replacement and found helpful video on this, since I have two dysfunc and 1 working 600x (win7, 512mb ram, samsung hm160c hd) and I'm a little nervous about it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20MNAGKp_58
Mom is giving me her old "A" series in July, but I need my winged turtle for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group