thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 8:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:59 am
Posts: 11
Location: Brie Comte Robert, FRANCE
Hi,

I have a Hitachi retail HDD HTS721080G9AT00 with the firmware MC4OA40M
I tried to update the firmware with the hfui15 command but in the update program, my drive is not discover.

When I edit the FW.PRO, I can't see my firmware version :
Quote:
; HTS721080G9AT00 80.0GB
"HTS721080G9AT00","MC4IA41M","MC4IA5DA","MC4IA5DA.bdr","hfui15.exe","IA5DA","/u mpcA5DAb.tbl"
"HTS721080G9AT00","MC4IA51A","MC4IA5DA","MC4IA5DA.bin","hfui15.exe","IA5DA","/u mpcA5DAb.tbl"
"HTS721080G9AT00","MC4IA5CA","MC4IA5DA","MC4IA5DA.bin","hfui15.exe","IA5DA","/u mpcA5DAb.tbl"


Did someone successfully update this kind of drive ?

Thank's

_________________
X32 2673-M4G PM 1.8 - 2GB - 8GB CF + 32 GB CF - XGA
T43 2669-R1G PM 1.86 - 2GB - 80GB/7.2K - SXGA+
Past : T42 2374-K1G PM 1.7 - 2GB - 40GB/5.4K - XGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:30 am
Posts: 5
Location: Singapore
1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 OA79H -pm SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 IA79H -pm SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS[/quote]

Tried the above and it works...... Thanks very much. You guys made my day :banana: :mrgreen: :D :lol: :P :wink:

_________________
I
Love
My
Thinkpad
R52


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 11:05 am
Posts: 1
Location: Manchester, UK
Hi all,
I'm new here from the UK and happened upon this thread after searching for 2010 error.

I have an ex-corporate T43 with a Seagate ST94019A 40Gb hard drive installed.
This is one of the many ex-corporate T43s that are hitting the marketplace minus their original hard drives which were removed and destroyed by the corporates IT department, then replaced with an OEM drive in the refurbishment process.

I have suffered the annoying 2010 error since day one and although the message itself, which disappears after a few seconds, doesn't bother me so much, its the loud beep sound that is the problem.

This is particularly annoying and embarrassing when wanting to use the T43 on a train or in an airport lounge and the loud beep sound instantly draws (unwanted) attention from everyone around to what you are doing.

After reading through all 19 pages of this thread, I'm absolutely flabbergasted that this situation has been going on for over 4 years and neither IBM/Lenovo has seen to fit to deal with it and neither anyone has managed to devise a bios patch to bypass it. Is there no solution on the horizon?

Now I have exhausted the meagre 40Gb disk space I am looking to upgrade to a 160Gb/320Gb drive. There are a variety of these readily available in the marketplace and relatively cheap compared to IBM/Lenovo prices.

However, I really have had enough of the annoying 2010 error and its accompanying beep sound.

My dilemma is this;
I like the look and feel of the T43 and would prefer to upgrade the drive, get rid of the 2010 error beep and keep on using it.

Therefore, my options are;
1. somehow get rid of the 2010 error and beep
2. disable what ever is producing that horrible loud beep sound
3. obtain a 160Gb/320Gb drive that does not produce the error
4. go buy a Dell because lifes too short

I welcome any comments and suggestions as to the best course of action to pursue.
Thank you .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:27 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:26 am
Posts: 1431
Location: Hampshire, UK
Welcome to the forum.

I think the 2010 error is here to stay. You say it occurs when you power on the machine. What happens when coming out of hibernation? If there is no beep then that is the answer.

I hope this helps, however if you do a search on 2010 you should find lots more information about the error message.

_________________
T540p Win 7 Pro 64

X1 Carbon Win 7 Pro 64 for my wife.

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.

Dogs must be carried on the escalator. Where can I find a dog?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:30 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:51 pm
Posts: 452
Location: Canada
rob840 wrote:
Therefore, my options are;
1. somehow get rid of the 2010 error and beep
2. disable what ever is producing that horrible loud beep sound
3. obtain a 160Gb/320Gb drive that does not produce the error
4. go buy a Dell because lifes too short

I welcome any comments and suggestions as to the best course of action to pursue.
Thank you .

There is only one 320GB drive made in the world, the WD3200BEVE by Western Digital, and it isn't compatible. Remember you need a PATA drive for this machine because of its age. Some other manufacturers' drives will work fine without the error, either out of the box as-is or by flashing an update to the drive firmware. Generally they're discontinued know as the market has gone to SATA. But if you post a wanted in the marketplace thread, you may well find one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:47 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:34 pm
Posts: 85
Location: Montreal, Canada
rob840 wrote:
Therefore, my options are;
1. somehow get rid of the 2010 error and beep
2. disable what ever is producing that horrible loud beep sound
3. obtain a 160Gb/320Gb drive that does not produce the error
4. go buy a Dell because lifes too short



5. Buy a SATA ultrabay HD caddy, and put a 500 GB SATA drive in it.

_________________
T30 (2366-86U): 2.0GHz, 1.25 GB mem, 100 GB HD, DVD RW, Broadcom b/g wifi, Win XP/Ubuntu
T41 (2373-155): upgraded to 1.8GHz, 1.5 GB mem, 100 GB HD, DVD RW, Atheros 108 super G, Win XP/Ubuntu
T60 (2007-68U):2.0GHz, 2.5GB mem, 500 GB HD, DVD RW, intel abg wifi, Win 7/Ubuntu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I've lurked here for quite some time but this is my first post! :mrgreen:

I have just purchased a WD 320GB 5400rpm PATA drive for my T43 (Pentium M 2.0Ghz & 2GB ram) and the speed advantage over the stock Hitachi 80GB 7200rpm is quite noticable. I would go as far as to say daily normal computing experience under Windows 7 the responsiveness is up there with my past X60 equipped with Hitachi 320GB 7200rpm drive (Core Duo 1.83Mhz & 4GB ram).

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad - Designed in USA - Engineered in Japan - Manufactured in China


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:38 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:26 am
Posts: 1431
Location: Hampshire, UK
Welcome to the forum, krayzie.

Do you get the 2010 error with your new drive?

_________________
T540p Win 7 Pro 64

X1 Carbon Win 7 Pro 64 for my wife.

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.

Dogs must be carried on the escalator. Where can I find a dog?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Yes Error 2010 gives 2 beeps and pauses for 3 seconds, but continues to boot on its own. I used hdparm to check the ATA command features on the WD 320GB and it does support IDLE_IMMEDIATE with UNLOAD so APS will work just fine! :mrgreen:

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad - Designed in USA - Engineered in Japan - Manufactured in China


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:20 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Denver, CO
anyone have experience with this drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136159

It's a Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD2500BEVE 250GB. I'm thinking about picking it up for my T43. I already have a working 120GB Scorpio in it (and the 2010 error really doesn't bother me). I just make sure that the BIOS will recognize it.

_________________
many apologies to our benevolent overload, BMurrow ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Dallas, Tx
krayzie wrote:
Yes Error 2010 gives 2 beeps and pauses for 3 seconds, but continues to boot on its own. I used hdparm to check the ATA command features on the WD 320GB and it does support IDLE_IMMEDIATE with UNLOAD so APS will work just fine! :mrgreen:

Is it possible to disable the beep in the bios or something??

D*

_________________
Airstream FM
Classic Easy Listening
Beautiful Music Radio For The Internet Generation


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:08 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12387
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Yes, if you shut the volume off and disable all "beep-related" functions in BIOS, the machine will stay quiet.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Dallas, Tx
ajkula66 wrote:
Yes, if you shut the volume off and disable all "beep-related" functions in BIOS, the machine will stay quiet.

Hmmm...is it possible to disable only that beep? The error beep or something??

_________________
Airstream FM
Classic Easy Listening
Beautiful Music Radio For The Internet Generation


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:04 am
Posts: 565
Location: Vancouver, WA
I have some Hitachi drives with the Compaq firmware (MB2CA56J) and am trying to get rid of the 2010 error for T43s. I've been trying to use the process noted in this post (Ctrl-C, copy, hfui1404 twice) .. Yes I got the correct file info from the FW.PRO file.
Has anyone ever been able to update these non-IBM/OEM firmware drives with the IBM/Lenovo firmware? If not, is there a technical explanation as to why not? I know I saw a post by SteveS that said it wasn't possible ..
I'm inclined to believe that especially since I tried by and now have a dead drive (but I could've made some other mistake) .. Yes, I know this is all for 'power users' anyway .. I used to be :?
Bob

_________________
T520-FHD -- W520 -- X201s
I have a T410s and an X301 to sell - holler if you want one of those


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:29 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Milano-Lombardia-ITALIA
hallo
i have a T43p 2,0ghz 15" with WD Hdd of 320 gb ; when pc boots a 2010 error appears, in order to what i red here just because the new Hdd is not in the bios white list. after bios update it skips automatically!
so my question is, there is a way to cancel or solve this annoying beep/allert ?
some bios update or flashing even not official ones is avaiable? (like for X60/X60s there are few non official bios to let support some miniPCI card like WWan)
thankyou

_________________
PROUD OWNER OF IBM :
TP 340, 365, 750CS, 390 half destr.ed, 390E, 390Xrep.ing, A21E selling, A31 2,4gb upg, R50Erep.ing, R51p, T20 rep.ing, T21 rep.ing, T22, T23, T43 14"&15", X21 rep.ing, X22, X24, X30, X31, X41, X60
PS1, APTIVA, OPEN GL300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:06 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13381
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
The answer is NO.
However you can switch off sound completely with the Mute button on the keyboard.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:25 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Milano-Lombardia-ITALIA
i'd hope to never read this answer! :cry:
just because i knew that for example for X41 model this "issue" can be solved by a downgrade of bios from 2.09 to 1.0...so with this hope more,i tried to see if somebody found the solution for T43 too...

_________________
PROUD OWNER OF IBM :
TP 340, 365, 750CS, 390 half destr.ed, 390E, 390Xrep.ing, A21E selling, A31 2,4gb upg, R50Erep.ing, R51p, T20 rep.ing, T21 rep.ing, T22, T23, T43 14"&15", X21 rep.ing, X22, X24, X30, X31, X41, X60
PS1, APTIVA, OPEN GL300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:04 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
HELLO Everyone ...........

First , I havent read the whole 19 pages of posts on this topic , so am sorry in advance ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,


PROBLEMS::

T4x BIOS = WARN BLEEP

this is is what I did ................

I took a 320GB PATA WD drive , after initinilization , Partition hrive into two > half and half so its like 120GB each partition. AND WAH LAH !!!... no bleep
I used Acronis and PMagic to do most of this on XP, before install windows 7 ulti.

SEAGATE HARDWARE/FIRMWARE::
if under warranty , seagate will 'exchange' it for updated drives in 7200.3 series .... or 5400 series, am not sure of WD models though. HITACHI hardrive company= used to be OLD IBM drive factory , which IBM sold to Hitachi , and untill recently, they made lots of HDs for Ibm/Lenovo as sole OEM supplier for Servers,PC and laptops. Since I knew this , in past i would call Hit Support and get them to 'send upgrade' via email, and it worked on most all THINKPADS, and i never used system update or downloaded drivers from web.

FYI ....
I dont think fireware that IBM/lenovo have on web = is set to do 'secondary drive' UPDATES ...............even if you can , i dont see how you can do it >>>> only way = to BOOT via the secondary drive,,,,,<<and am not sure if T4x , the older T4x series can boot via secondary drives!!>>

USB BOOT:
SO BOOT with USB and install BIOS FIRMWARE UPDATE and it works nicely , even for a SEAGATE , even on those 'so called NOT supported!!
this is what i used ::
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812232002





Hope this helps someone..everyone

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Last edited by ausmike on Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:52 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:50 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13381
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
2x 120GB partition is 240GB in my books. What happened to the rest?
It would be helpful to give complete brand and model number of the hard drive you used.
Are you implicating that this FIREWARE would also work on e.g. WD, Hitachi, Fujitsu drives?
Where do you get that? (link please).
Thanks.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:05 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:09 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Java
Did you use the 320GB as your primary drive ?

What is this FIREWARE actually -- Is it T43 BIOS version 1.0x that doesn't check error 2010 ?

_________________
T60p[2.0/4G/MomentusXT/ABG/UXGA/W7]
Past:701c T23 T4 T6 X3 X4 X6s


Last edited by lexicon on Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:26 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
[quote="....Where do you get that? (link please).
Thanks.[/quote]


Hello Everyone...

Some usefull links....

BIOS
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MOE-3VAM8Y

Driver Matrix (Most All Thinkpads)
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... yle=lenovo



**for Mr Black***
not sure what you mean ?? think you are asking "what happened to rest of drive after 240GB? >> left over (after system reserved amounts) are on NEXT PARTITION <DAH :!: > NO offence but I didnt think pple would worry about 'doing the math' QUESTIONS HERE !!! **

Also ::
here is a paste from that "referance' of FIRMWARE = to me seemed pretty extensive list , but then some pple expect EACH AND EVERY HARD DRIVE ever made to be supported BLAH BLAH ,,,,

>>pasted from driver page ,,,opps here goes my copyright thingie > sorry BILL havent read your forums rules FULLY so here goes....:P

>>....
Notes:
"x" means one or more characters
* means new to this release

IBM
Hitachi DARA-2x
DJSA-2x
IC25NxATDA04
IC25TxATDA05
IC25NxATCS04
IC25TxATCS05
IC25NxATCS05
IC25N0xxATMR04
Hitachi DK23AA-x
DK23BA-x
DK23CA-x
DK23DA-x
DK23EA-x
DK23FB-x
HGST DK1xFA-x
IC25NxATMR04
IC25N0xxATCS05
IC25N0xxATCS04
IC25T060ATCS05
HTC4260xxG7AT00
HTC4260xxG9AT00
HTS4212xxH9AT00
HTS4240xxM9AT00
HTS5410xxG9AT00
HTS5416xxJ9AT00
HTS5480xxM9AT00
HTS7210xxG9AT00
HTS7260xxM9AT00

Toshiba MKx09MAT
MKx19GAX
MKx26GAX
MKxx32GAX
MK4026GAX
MK4019GAX
MK6021GAS
Fujitsu MHN2xxxAT
MHR2xxxAT
MHT2xxxAT
MHT2xxxAH
MHV2xxxAH
MHV2xxxAH PL
MHR2xxxAT *
MHS2xxxAT *
MHT2xxxAT *
MHV2xxxAT *

Seagate ST910021A
ST980825A
ST** <<<But then YOU CANT WIN em ALL !!!

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Last edited by ausmike on Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:21 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13381
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I asked about your FIREWARE, which you mentioned more than once. Could you have meant FIRMWARE? We know all that...
No need to get snotty!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:41 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Bucks., UK
ausmike wrote:
...I took a 320GB PATA WD drive , ...
Please post the drive info, e.g. part number/ manufacturer.

Edit: Msg from Ausmike gives the following:
Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD3200BEVERTL 320GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" ATA-6 Internal Notebook Hard Drive

as posted on http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136379

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Kivik, Sweden
Hi.
Althugh i have used a thinkpad several years this is my first post here.
Seem like a nice forum :)

Sorry I have to start with a request for help:

I have bought me and my wife each one used T43 (type 2668) and after plugging in the larger and faster non-original drives from our elder laptops we get the infamous 2010, like the machine like to celebrate that new year ;)

Trying the hdfw56.iso (latest) it do not find any drives to upgrade, as like all of us here see...

I have tried some other tips around the net but this thread seem most educate, although it seems like nobody know exactly how theese tiools are working - and i blame IBM of course.

My drive is a HTS721060G9AT00 (Hitachi 7k 60.0 GB), curret fw: MC3OA40M
The other drive (which i can not risk damaging yet) is the same but 100 GB.

I tried the instructions quoted below, but i changed the filenames according to what i see in FW.PRO, and i got this:

0) Esc at 2010 error, booting CD hdfw56.iso full up, then Esc and Ctrl-C to get C: prompt

1) COPY MC3IA5DA.BDR MC3OA5DA.BDR
-OK.

2) HFUI15 OASCA MC3IA5DA.BDR /F mpcA5DAb.TBL
-No drive found, update anyway, red message about no firmware written

3) HFUI15 IA5CA MC3OA5DA.BDR /F mpcA5DAb.TBL
-No drive found, update anyway, red message about no firmware written

...and still same message and same firmware when checking it.

No drive found?? - FW.EXE finds it, and with still same firmware.

Any ideas? :roll:

My skill level is half power user on Linux, got more experienced than i wanted on Win2k; jumped to Linux. I run Mandriva, have Linux system tools and running systems, MS Vista (that came with T43) and a half broken XP available. SysRescCD.org CD/USB is my favourite tool system.

Paranoid_TP_User wrote:
OK so here is what I went with:

COPY MCZIA5CA.BDR MCZOA5CA.BDR
HFUI15 OA5CA MCZIA5CA.BDR /F MPCA5CAB.TBL
HFUI15 IA5CA MCZOA5CA.BDR /F MPCA5CAB.TBL

My firmware version was MCZOA51A, and the drive was HTS721010G9AT00.

Interestingly the flashing program said:
"This program is prepared for Model HTS7210xxM9AT00" (M instead of G). Also both instructions said they failed.

No more 2010 error though, so I am going to run with it...

Cheers for pointing me in the right direction.
-To which alyster4k replied:
alyster4k wrote:
Same drive, same errors, worked as well! Thanks guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Kivik, Sweden
Anyhow, is there any problems at all ever observed on a running Linux system?

(I dont mind a beep at boot as i mostly suspend it only. -If i did i could solder a switch to speakers...)

Any corruption? Any speed penalty?

I read at http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-60169 :
"This error is purposely generated to alert the user to potential problems with diagnostic or copy tools. "

I think i did hit a problem when editing using gparted http://www.sysresccd.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2938 but have any problem ever been seen on a running system?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 10:34 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
I've never seen a problem with a running system, Linux or otherwise.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Kivik, Sweden
OK, thanks, I will let it run then - and not forget backups ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:51 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Milano-Lombardia-ITALIA
hallo
i found this article http://hdsurvivor.blogspot.com/2007/08/ ... error.html
and so my questions are..:
is it really possible to swap the pata bridge to a sata bridge? how? which card or subcard i need? (like the x60 has?)
how can flash the firmware of my WD3200BEVE with a working one to aoid 2010 error?
any ideas?
thankyou

_________________
PROUD OWNER OF IBM :
TP 340, 365, 750CS, 390 half destr.ed, 390E, 390Xrep.ing, A21E selling, A31 2,4gb upg, R50Erep.ing, R51p, T20 rep.ing, T21 rep.ing, T22, T23, T43 14"&15", X21 rep.ing, X22, X24, X30, X31, X41, X60
PS1, APTIVA, OPEN GL300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 3:01 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Barcelona, Spain
I need to upgrade my 80GB Seagate HD on my T42. Does this problema also happens on T42 or just T43 Thinkpads?

Thanks :)

PS: This 80GB Seagate HD was already an upgrade from my old 40GB HD. It was OEM, and I never got an 2010 error...

_________________
Thinkpad T42: PM1.7 2048M 14.1in
Thinkpad T23: PIII1.0 640M 14.1in
Thinkpad R61: C2D2.0 2048M 15in


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:02 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 1042
Location: Snellville, GA
Your T42 should take any PATA/IDE drive you can throw at it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group