thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 7:08 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:50 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
I get the 161, 163 error on boot on a 701c (cmos and main battery is dead)

When I run the BIOS system check I get the following:

Systemboard: Dev 001 ERR 04 FRU 0014

Any idea what this is?

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:26 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:37 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Augusta, Georgia
You will need to replace the CMOS battery before you can do any other testing. You can run without the main battery with no problem. I'd pull it out of the computer as they commonly leak and damage the computer. The CMOS batteries are available on eBay, or you can have any Batteries Plus store spot weld your old connector and wires to a new cell. Usually around five bucks.

_________________
My ThinkPads: 700C(2+), 701C(2), 380XD, 385XD, 390X, T23, A31(2), T42(3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:12 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
I did remove the main battery, it has some corrosion on the end (hopefully none got onto the main board).

Guess replacing the cmos battery is next, hopefully I don't have to rip the unit apart like I did on my 310ed.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:40 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:37 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Augusta, Georgia
Unfortunately, replacing the backup battery on a 701C is quite difficult. You have to remove the keyboard and top main board to get at it. Getting it back together is harder. You will need to download a copy of the hardware maintenance manual (HMM), and buy T1 and T6 Torx screwdrivers. Ideally, you would have a copy of the IBM service VHS tape, but I don't know where to find one. I just looked at one of my 701C's that is disassembled: the battery looks different than the normal flat cell used in other ThinkPads. Scratch my earlier suggestion on Batteries Plus -- you'll need to order the correct replacement.

_________________
My ThinkPads: 700C(2+), 701C(2), 380XD, 385XD, 390X, T23, A31(2), T42(3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:15 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
I don't have a T1 torx yet so I havn't bothered to open up the unit yet (waiting to finish my 390e before I mess with the 701c). Generally I dump all the parts into a small plastic tub with a lid and label them so I don't mix them up with other projects I am working on.

Already found and downloaded the service manual.

Any idea where to get the tiny M1 screws in front, think I am missing one in the corner.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:00 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:53 am
Posts: 81
Location: Bialystok, Poland
Unknown_K wrote:
Any idea where to get the tiny M1 screws in front, think I am missing one in the corner.



Now that can be a real pain - I was looking for the same thing (plus a T1 screwdriver) for my 701c. I was in EVERY hardware store here in my city (plus a couple of electronic stores and mobile phone repair points) - the smallest Torx screws that I could get were far too big to fit. So I decided to use more drastical methodes - I bought a 2,5 (or 2,2 - can't remember now, as I did it 2 years ago) milimeter drill bit and I decided broaden the screw holes. Then I found some Phillips type screws that could fit the new holes (I salvaged them from a broken wrist watch). 3 out of 4 were a perfect fit.

But if you want to find EXACTLY the same screws than I would recommend buying a couple of broken cell phones - that would be the best place to look for (I did it a couple of times while fixing some laptops - and I always managed to find a tiny screw that would fit).

_________________
Proud owner of:

IBM TP T42, IBM TP 390X, IBM TP 701C, IBM TP 560X, IBM TP 600 plus a ThinkVision L150p 15.0-inch LCD Monitor. Also a DELL AXIM v5 as an iPod (cheaper and has more features than Apple's stuff...).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:39 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13771
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Actually, with a bit of fiddling you can replace the CMOS battery without taking the 701c apart.
Just lift off the cover over the CMOS battery. The battery is sort of semi-glued to the chassis, using a sticky rubber pad.
Pull that loose. Use some tweezers to pull the power connector off.
Inserting is a bit more fiddly, but can be done, again using the tweezers.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:11 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:37 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Augusta, Georgia
I may be getting a couple of junker 701C machines next week. I'll be glad to send you a T1 screw if they come through.

The HMM says to remove the upper system board to replace the CMOS battery. I peeked in the cover and it did not look possible to me to replace the battery that way. Let us know if it works for you. I wonder if there are different size batteries in various models.

_________________
My ThinkPads: 700C(2+), 701C(2), 380XD, 385XD, 390X, T23, A31(2), T42(3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 3:10 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
what model CMOS battery do I need?

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 4:58 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13771
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
http://www.ebatts.com/ibm_thinkpad-701c ... b-422.aspx
You'll hardly find them cheaper elsewhere...

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:39 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:40 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
If it helps you still, I bought my torx tools from this guy:

http://myworld.ebay.com/mjmnational/

He still has a lot of the #6 on, but you can ask him for the #1 WIHA brand torx tool.

BTW, you mentioned that you lost a t1 torx screw? Make sure that the metal piece that sits right above the battery is still there and isn't damaged too much; it's what holds all four screws in place, it could have fallen off or got damaged over time. Sometimes, the hole on the metal thingie sometimes can be closed up for some reason (I found this one two of the 701c/cs that I've owned), you probably have to drill another hole yourself. Plus, even if you can't find that last screw, it's not imperative to the func/form of the 701c; honestly, I think those screws were put in there just to prevent people from opening up the 701c... (Hardware copyright protection? :?: )

Also, if you still need any parts for the 701c, I may have a few scrap parts lying around from my own project; just pm me if you need anything.

Good luck with your laptop =)

- Bovine Mage

_________________
Current Thinkpads:
Nonfunctional:
- 760c
Functional:
- 701c
- 701cs
- 760XD
- T60 (2613-EAU)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:01 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
BovineMage wrote:
If it helps you still, I bought my torx tools from this guy:

http://myworld.ebay.com/mjmnational/

He still has a lot of the #6 on, but you can ask him for the #1 WIHA brand torx tool.

BTW, you mentioned that you lost a t1 torx screw? Make sure that the metal piece that sits right above the battery is still there and isn't damaged too much; it's what holds all four screws in place, it could have fallen off or got damaged over time. Sometimes, the hole on the metal thingie sometimes can be closed up for some reason (I found this one two of the 701c/cs that I've owned), you probably have to drill another hole yourself. Plus, even if you can't find that last screw, it's not imperative to the func/form of the 701c; honestly, I think those screws were put in there just to prevent people from opening up the 701c... (Hardware copyright protection? :?: )

Also, if you still need any parts for the 701c, I may have a few scrap parts lying around from my own project; just pm me if you need anything.

Good luck with your laptop =)

- Bovine Mage


That metal piece is still in there, has 3 of the 4 screws still in it. ordered a T1 Torx from HK, will be here in a month. Will see what else I need when I open it up, thanks for the parts offer.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:18 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
Toolkit came and no Torx-1 bit, so much for that Hong Kong seller. :(

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:24 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
Ok, purchased the correct tool and the laptop is apart. Battery goo leaked into the motherboard area (only onto the modem card which cleaned up ok). So the FRU was for the modem, probably shorting between pins. Cleaned the stuff up.

How common is battery leakage on the 701 series? I bet it killed quite a few machines over time.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error on a 701c
PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:51 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13771
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I only ever had one 701c (from a fellow forum member) go through my hands for repair.
That one had a lot of corrosion, especially on the 4 main battery contacts and around the CMOS connector on the mobo.
Lots of green crystals 'growing' in both areas.
The CMOS connector actually had disintegrated and I replaced it with an identical one from a faulty T23 mobo.
There were also a lot of white crystals 'growing' to the right of the CirrusLogic chip, between R33 and U10. This even went through onto the bottom of that area.
Cleaned it all up with isopropyl alcohol and a very fine blade, then covered the areas in vaseline.
She's running great now (W95).

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group