thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:53 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:10 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
I'm curious to know what type of hard drive the 3000 C200 has because I'm thinking of upgrading. Is it ATA-6?

Many thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
SATA - here's the parts manual for reference.
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-66399


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:48 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
Thanks very much, that's very helpful. Are there any other considerations for choosing an upgraded hard drive? Newegg lists SATA models at 1.5gb/s and 3gb/s. Is that a difference that would affect compatibility?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Not really, SATA and SATAII are downward and upward compatible. I 'think' the C200 is SATA II (3.0Gbps), so get one of those drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:23 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
Many thanks for your help. One last question - I'm helping out a friend and I have no familiarity with this series laptop: does it have the typical Thinkpad-esque recovery partition so I can avoid making recovery CDs to do the reinstall?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:20 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
I'd guess yes, but hold down the blue thinkvantage button on boot and you'll have your answer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 3:43 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
Excellent, thanks so much for the help. I've gotten hold of the computer and now I'm trying to figure out how to create the recovery discs. We've decided to upgrade the 40GB hard drive so I figured I could create recovery discs and restore that way once I have the new drive in. I've gotten into the LenovoCare bootup menu but I can't find any way to create the discs from there and obviously restoring directly from the partition isn't going to work for me. Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Does this machine boot to Windows? In the Thinkvantage Rescue & Recovery section there will be an option to create recovery media, but only if it's never been done. It allows only one copy to be made.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:15 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
It does boot to Windows but the Thinkvantage folder in the start menu is empty. There is still the Thinkvantage folder in the Program Files directory. Is there a particular program that I should be looking for? And do I understand correctly that Lenovo Care is something else that isn't relevant to this problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 5:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Here's what I'd do. Backup important files on the hard drive to external media. Hold the Thinkvantage button down on boot and go into recovery. Select restore hard drive to factory state and follow the prompts. Once it's restored boot into windows and select 'create recovery media'. I don't know why the Thinkvantage folder is empty unless 1.) somebody deleted all of the Thinkvantage pgms. or 2.) it was not a factory build to begin with.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:15 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
Wow, that's a great idea that never would have occurred to me. Thank you! So if I do this and I can get the CDs created after restoring the system the factory specs, I should be able to use the CDs to install the same system setup after I've installed the new HDD, correct?

I think I may have another XP license available for use so I may go that route. I somehow doubt that losing the Lenovo Care functionality would be very significant. And doing a clean XP install might be somewhat leaner.

Thanks so much for your help, that's a great idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Correct, the recovery CD's will install a hard drive image that is exactly like one that just left the factory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:45 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
Well the restore worked like a charm and I'm now able to make the recovery CDs. Any idea offhand how many CDs it'll require?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:04 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Use one CD as the first, then use DVD/s from the second disc forward. If you only have a CD burner then I'd say somewhere between 7 or 8 CD's.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Chicago, IL
Everything went according to plan - I'm stunned. Thank you so much. It would have been a much rockier road without your help.

One more question I have is whether the factory restore actually went ahead and recreated the recovery partition. It sure looks like it. I guess that makes logical sense, I just wasn't expecting it somehow. Pretty good system they've put together.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Yes a factory restore does create a recovery partition. So next time all you have to do is hit the Thinkvantage button on boot to rebuild the system to factory specs...just like you did before.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group