thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 3:19 pm
Posts: 42
I have an thinkpad x200. I upgraded it to windows 7 home premium. And I installed the hotkey feature. The on screen volume level works just fine, think light on screen display also works when I activate it. But there is no on screen LCD brightness display. Anyone has the same problem?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 16
Location: New Caney, Texas
I can't get any OSD to come up. No volume, brightness, or Think Light indicators.
I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate x64. I've tried the Beta "hotkey features" and also the Windows 7 "hotkey features."

Not sure what to do here... I really liked those things.

_________________
Thinkpad x200, P8400, 3gb RAM | Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:31 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 542
Location: San Jose, CA
Did you install this:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-74261

_________________
X61SXGA: L7700/3GB RAM/Toshiba mSATA SSD 64GB/Intel Wifi 5300AGN/4-cell battery/Flexview AFFS SXGA+


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 16
Location: New Caney, Texas
No idea where you got that file, but it works! Thank you!

(All of it works, give it a shot OP)

_________________
Thinkpad x200, P8400, 3gb RAM | Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:54 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 542
Location: San Jose, CA
b0yd07 wrote:
No idea where you got that file, but it works! Thank you!

(All of it works, give it a shot OP)


You're welcome. It's from the Lenovo's list of drivers for the X200. Make sure you have all drivers installed for best optimal experience with Win7.

_________________
X61SXGA: L7700/3GB RAM/Toshiba mSATA SSD 64GB/Intel Wifi 5300AGN/4-cell battery/Flexview AFFS SXGA+


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:59 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Baden, Switzerland
AvalonXIII wrote:


Thank you Avalon, I had somehow installed a much older driver. This one works very nicely! :)

_________________
IBM X40, 1.5GB, Samsung HS122JC/M 120GB 5400 RPM 1.8'' ZIF, XP Pro
IBM X60s, 2GB, SATA Hitachi 60GB, XP Pro
Lenovo X200s, 4GB, Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD, Win7 32 bit
Lenovo T61, 14.1'', 3GB, Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD and a WD Scorpio Blue 500GB in the Ultrabay, Win7 32 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 4:30 pm
Posts: 22
Location: McLean, VA
I actually had this problem.. Apparantly you have to use an older hotkey or power mangaement driver. I just reformatted again, but I can't find those drivers that i previously used that worked...
edit: Nevermind the install manager was comparing to the current version that i had installed.. the 50 is infact newer.
Although the linked drivers are for some reason newer(version 6 vs version 5)
"6wvu17ww.exe" than lenovo's current driver listing of "6wvu50ww.exe"
also evident by the new style of display with black borders and a continuous progress bar rather than individual block levels

I still can't get the brightness now
EDIT:

WAIT WAIT WAIt now i remember why it was so confusing... It wasn't so much the version of lenovo's "hotkey features integration" causing the display brightness level to not show up but it's that you need an older version of INTEL's display drivers.. or maybe just not use the window 7 automatically downloaded ones
either way i know for sure

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... d808ww.exe
works

maybe newer intel drivers work if downloaded from lenovo's site but not sure..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Vienna, Austria
@eatbuckshot

THANK YOU A LOT!!!!! did search for hours for the solution and it was indeed the new intel driver from win7 update


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 3:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 3:01 am
Posts: 1
Location: Wigan, UK
Hi,

I've just registered, to post a BIG thanks!!!! I have recently bought a refurbed X200s and this is exactly the problem that I was having and had been searching for quite sometime for solution!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:38 am
Posts: 3
Location: Batangas, Philippines
i also had this problem and i dont want to use the old intel driver because the latest intel driver gives me a high WEI score :)
is there any hotkey fix yet to work with the latest intel driver?

_________________
MABUHAY!
ibm t60 / t7600(2.33ghz) / 4gb / win7 ultimate 32bit
x200 / p8600(2.4ghz) / 8gb / win7 ultimate 64bit


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:57 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:19 pm
Posts: 54
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
I have the same problem but with Windows XP. After running al Windows Update, then running all Thinkpads updates from System Update, the hotkey end up not working.

_________________
http://tinymailto.com/oliversl <-- my email after a captcha


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group