thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:37 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Bucks., UK
Two beeps on startup:
I haven't seen it mentioned here, but one way to stop the two beeps is to use a batch file/ macro to run at shutdown and start up. Shutting down sets sound off, and booting up turns sound back on again.

Any thoughts? I am not sure how one would integrate it into the various methods of shutdown.

===========================
EDIT: Almost working but not quite yet (something to do with my settings of gpedit.msc)

a) Group Policy gpedit.msc allows startup and shutdown routines to be called.

b) a small exe (24k) called nircmd.exe, which I have put in C:\nircmd.exe has controls of :
Mute the system volume nircmd.exe mutesysvolume 1
Unmute the system volume nircmd.exe mutesysvolume 0
Switch the system volume between the mute and normal state. nircmd.exe mutesysvolume 2

nircmd works with XP, but not 7 I gather, but there are other ways of turning sound on and off.

With sound muted, I do not get the two beeps starting up with my new hd.

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:37 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13612
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
That's definitely a very neat option, at least for normal switch On/off.
Get nircmd.exe here: http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html

System Requirements:
This utility can work in all 32-bit Windows operating systems: Windows 9x/ME, Windows NT, Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, and Windows Vista. However, some of NirCmd commands works only on Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista.

One piece of advice though:
since this utility is fairly well known, the bad guys also know it, and could create all sorts of havoc.
So rename it into something inconspicuous like wtf.exe 8)

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:23 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Bucks., UK
RealBlackStuff wrote:
...One piece of advice though:
since this utility is fairly well known, the bad guys also know it, and could create all sorts of havoc.
So rename it into something inconspicuous like wtf.exe 8)
Many thanks. I was totally unaware of the potential problem.

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:02 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Bucks., UK
Thinking about the start up beeps a lot more (why can something so simple be so difficult to implement?) and I found a way towards a solution. As this works on hibernate and sleep, but not restart or shutdown, yet..., and possibly not with Vista or 7, I have posted it as a new topic in the Thinkpad hardware/ Thinkpad Utility forum under the subject: Resolving T43 with New HD and Two Beeps
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=84593&start=0

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:21 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
Thanks Nick..... >..... few casual tid bits - various things on this subject matter and my T43 experiances ....I pinned this thread just to see what people have got as far as solutions etc ... for THE FAMOUS BEEP!!!....

... / FYI > I have a T43 that has a SSD , and a WD 320GB secondary drive with Win7 ulti ..... and weirdest thing > I cant make it do those "beeps" ....dont get the famous """2xxx" error""!!! (i thought it was due tofact I have a "Custom Bios"but than it only incoperate the code ..... like your last post ...blah blah ....
SO being that curious guy I am ...yip I tinker with TPs a lot !! .. I pulled it APART ... and somewhat to my suprise i found some instresting things . ... weird system board ...Intel Proc= 2.2mhtz and to my suprise , that Fingureprint Reader and WAN card all from a T60/61 models .......

Not that I am complaining ,,,,,,,,,,,,so I am looking at some things to figure what is...........

ALSO :: as i see you have a T61 ...there are few things in common with T6x to W5xx .. eg batery fit nicely etc etc ....Bios from T41xT51x is under test now on my t6x and T4x....same as a few other pple are doing also...

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:03 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Milano-Lombardia-ITALIA
ausmike wrote:
I cant make it do those "beeps" ....dont get the famous """2xxx" error""!!! (i thought it was due tofact I have a "Custom Bios"but than it only incoperate the code ..... like your last post ...blah blah ....
SO being that curious guy I am ...yip I tinker with TPs a lot !! .. I pulled it APART ... and somewhat to my suprise i found some instresting things . ... weird system board ...Intel Proc= 2.2mhtz and to my suprise , that Fingureprint Reader and WAN card all from a T60/61 models .......

Not that I am complaining ,,,,,,,,,,,,so I am looking at some things to figure what is...........

ALSO :: as i see you have a T61 ...there are few things in common with T6x to W5xx .. eg batery fit nicely etc etc ....Bios from T41xT51x is under test now on my t6x and T4x....same as a few other pple are doing also...


Maybe that i understood bad...but so have solved the problem of two beeps and 2010 error allert with a custom bios or what?
which custom bios?
thankyou

_________________
PROUD OWNER OF IBM :
TP 340, 365, 750CS, 390 half destr.ed, 390E, 390Xrep.ing, A21E selling, A31 2,4gb upg, R50Erep.ing, R51p, T20 rep.ing, T21 rep.ing, T22, T23, T43 14"&15", X21 rep.ing, X22, X24, X30, X31, X41, X60
PS1, APTIVA, OPEN GL300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:34 am
Posts: 2
Location: London, UK
hi all,
to solve the problem of the IBM T43 HDD ERROR 2010 first you need to download the firmware update package from lenovo.com then

- Burn Image
- Restart, and exit update tool via ctrl c
- Typed : 1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 -pm OA79H SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 -pm IA79H SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS
- reboot -> no 2010

your HDD will appear as its lost an aproximate of 24gb worth of space then you need to install partition magic to allocate the missing HDD space.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:24 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Bucks., UK
m_a_itani wrote:
hi all,
to solve the problem of the IBM T43 HDD ERROR 2010 first you need to download the firmware update package from lenovo.com then....


For any make of hard disc?

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:34 am
Posts: 2
Location: London, UK
i've tested it on HDD Hitachi 160gb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Hi All,

First : What a great forum! :bow:

Just bought a used but almost new T43 2668-F5G for a real bargain...because it had ´a´ error.. Its the 2010 post error.
Want to make this T43 ready for my girlfriend who is still using a older R31 now.

Have done bios update (v1.24 and the other is v1.04) also the firmware update from IBM site.
No succes. Got a message with "your system is locked" so the Hitachi drive FW cannot be updated.

Looking for a easy solution now...i can get a Fujitsu MHV2040AH drive for almost nothing but will that sure solve the 2010?
Only on wiki there is a list of supported drives but without any guarantee that it works 100%
Searched the whole topic here but did´nt find a list of supported drives either.

Just want to swap a 100% supported 40GB or 60GB drive in and never want to see the 2010 again.

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Basically any IBM FRU drive that is less than 100GB will work. With that said, there are specific FRU's I'd look for;
(I made an EBay search with all the below FRU numbers when I was looking for one).

Code:
Hard drive
30GB, 9.5 mm, 4,200 rpm

    * Supported by CTO
    * 2668-CTO
    * 2669-CTO

   Fujitsu    13N6903    1
HGST    13N6883
=========================
Hard drive
40GB, 9.5 mm, 4,200 rpm

    * Supported by CTO
    * 2668-CTO
    * 2669-CTO

   Fujitsu    13N6905    1
HGST    13N6885
=========================
Hard drive
40GB, 9.5 mm, 5,400 rpm

    * 1871-CTO, 11x, 12x, 13x, 14x, 15x, 16x, 17x, 18x, 1Gx, 1Hx, 22x, 23x, 24x, 48x, 4Ax, 4Bx, 4Cx, 86x, C1x, F1x, F4x
    * 1872-CTO, 12x, 4Ax, C1x
    * 1873-4Ax
    * 1874-4Ax
    * 1875-CTO, D1x, D2x, D3x, D6x, D9x, DAx, DCx, DKx, F1x, F4x
    * 1876-CTO, DBx
    * 2668-CTO, 1Bx, 1Cx, 1Dx, 1Fx, 21x, 28x, 29x, 3Fx, 3Gx, 3Hx, 3Jx, 3Nx, 41x, 42x, 43x, 44x, 45x, 46x, 47x, 49x, 4Dx, 4Ex, 4Jx, 56x, 57x, 61x, 67x, 68x, 69x, 6Ax, 6Bx, 6Dx, 6Ex, 6Jx, 81x, 82x, 83x, 84x, 85x, 87x, 88x, 8Dx, K3x, K4x, K5x, K6x, K7x
    * 2669-CTO, 42x, 43x, 44x, 46x, 4Dx, 61x, 68x, 6Ax, 6Ex, 83x, 84x, C7x, C9x, CQx, CSx, K6x, K7x
    * 2678-42x
    * 2679-42x
    * 2687-D4x, D7x, DEx

   Fujitsu    13N6913    1
39T2549
HGST    39T2521
Toshiba    13N6919
===============================
Hard drive
60GB, 9.5 mm, 5,400 rpm

    * 1871-CTO, 19x
    * 1875-CTO, DLx, DMx
    * 2668-CTO, 1Ax, 3Lx, 3Px, 4Fx, 4Gx, 4Kx, 4Mx, 4Nx, 6Cx, 6Fx, 6Hx, 6Kx, 6Mx, 6Px, 6Qx, 6Ux, 6Vx, 6Wx, 6Yx, 8Ax, 8Bx, 8Ex, C3x, C5x, CKx, CNx, F2x, F5x, F9x, FLx, FNx, K8x, KCx, KDx, KEx, KJx
    * 2669-CTO, C3x, C5x, CKx, CNx
    * 2686-DFx, DHx, F2x, F5x, FLx, FNx, M4x, M5x
    * 2687-D3x, D8x, DCx, DDx

   Fujitsu    13N6915    1
39T2551
HGST    39T2523
================================
Hard drive
60GB, 9.5 mm, 7,200 rpm

    * Supported by CTO
    * 2668-CTO, 78x, 94x, 98x, F8x, G1x, G2x, G3x, G4x, G5x, G6x, G7x, G8x, H1x, H2x, H3x, H4x, H5x, H7x, H8x, HAx, HBx
    * 2669-CTO, H2x
    * 2678-H2x
    * 2679-H2x
    * 2686-DGx, F8x

   HGST    13N6897    1
===============================
Hard drive
80GB, 9.5 mm, 5,400 rpm

    * 1871-CTO, 25x, 26x, 27x
    * 2668-CTO, 1Ex, 2Ax, 3Kx, 3Mx, 4Hx, 4Lx, 4Qx, 58x, 6Gx, 6Lx, 6Nx, 6Xx, 71x, 72x, 73x, 74x, 75x, 76x, 77x, 89x, 8Cx, 91x, 92x, 93x, 95x, 96x, 97x, 99x, 9Ax, C2x, C4x, C6x, CLx, CMx, CPx, F3x, F6x, F7x, FMx, FPx, FQx, G9x, GAx, GBx, H6x, H9x, K9x, KAx, KFx, KHx
    * 2669-CTO, C2x, C4x, C6x, C8x, CAx, CLx, CMx, CPx, CRx, CTx
    * 2686-DJx, F3x, F6x, F7x, FMx, FPx, FQx, M7x
    * 2687-D5x

   Fujitsu    13N6917    1
39T2553
Toshiba    39T2557
HGST    39T2525
================================
Hard drive
80GB, 9.5 mm, 7,200 rpm

    * 2668-FRx, KBx, KKx, J1x, J2x, J4x, J8x, L3x, L5x, P1x, P3x, P4x, PCx, Q1x, Q3x, Q6x, Q7x
    * 2669-P1x, Q1x
    * 2686-FRx

   HGST    39T2583    1
=================================
Hard drive
100GB, 9.5 mm, 5,400 rpm

    * KGx, J3x, J9x, L1x, L2x, L4x, L6x, L7x, L8x, L9x, LAx, P9x, PAx, PBx

   Fujitsu    39T2555    1
Toshiba    39T2559
==================================
Hard drive
100GB, 9.5 mm, 7,200 rpm

    * 2668-P2x, P5x, P6x, P7x, P8x, Q2x, Q4x, Q5x, Q8x

   HGST    39T2585


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:58 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12690
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Fujitsu MHV2040AH, if it doesn't have "PL" after all of the previously stated, and was made after 2004, will likely boot with no "2010 error".

My experiences only, YMMV.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:45 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13612
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I have about 1/2 dozen of those Fujitsu MHV2040AH, all made in 2006 or later.
Every single one gives the 2010 Error in a T43/R52.
But then, none of them have an IBM P/N or FRU (they came from new HP laptops actually).

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Oh great! Thans for the answers.

Searched the list and found just one that match my T43 2668-F5G :

Code:
Hard drive 60GB, 9.5 mm, 5,400 rpm
    * 1871-CTO, 19x
    * 1875-CTO, DLx, DMx
    * 2668-CTO, 1Ax, 3Lx, 3Px, 4Fx, 4Gx, 4Kx, 4Mx, 4Nx, 6Cx, 6Fx, 6Hx, 6Kx, 6Mx, 6Px, 6Qx, 6Ux, 6Vx, 6Wx, 6Yx, 8Ax, 8Bx, 8Ex, C3x, C5x, CKx, CNx, F2x,

 F5x,

F9x, FLx, FNx, K8x, KCx, KDx, KEx, KJx
    * 2669-CTO, C3x, C5x, CKx, CNx
    * 2686-DFx, DHx, F2x, F5x, FLx, FNx, M4x, M5x
    * 2687-D3x, D8x, DCx, DDx

Fujitsu    13N6915    1
39T2551
HGST    39T2523


13N6915 is the Fujitsu number, 39T2551 is the FRU number? And whats means HGST number?


Took the HDD out of the T43 and this is whats on it:
Hitachi Travelstar DK23EB-40

and a black sticker with :
ASM P/N 08K9830
FRU P/N 08K9834

Guess the FRU number on the sticker say its a IBM drive. But its not supported as it gives the 2010.

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
39T2551 IBM 60GB 5400RPM HARD DRIVE
13N6915 IBM 60GB 5400RPM 2.5INCH HARD DRIVE FOR LAPTOP

They are both FRU's for the same part. HGST is an abbreviation for Hitachi Global Storage Technologies.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Many thanks Harryc !

I will look for that type of drive.

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:44 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12690
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
@MTyn:

You should try to upgrade the firmware on the Hitachi drive that you already have, and it will probably work just fine...

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... R-41008#CD

You'll have to burn a bootable CD, and start the machine from it, then update the firmware.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Hi

I did that. But got after boot and start of update a message at right bottom of screen that says something like ´your system is locked´.

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 7:09 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:16 am
Posts: 77
Location: California, USA
Shimodax wrote:
GLR wrote:
1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 OA79H -pm SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 IA79H -pm SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS

For the sake of later googlers I just want to report success with a HTS541680J9AT00 (80G) with existing SB2OA70H firmware to IA79H.

I used the Lenovo ISO files for firmware updates, started from CD (the new drive was already the internal drive, no USB box), pressed Ctrl+Break on exit when it asked to reboot and used the above three commands on the ramdisk I came out at the prompt (C: ).

The drive already had data on it and just booted up again with no 2010. *yay* :banana: The update tool now reports it as SB2IA79H.

+1 GREAT SUCCESS!!!
HTS541680J9AT00 (80G) with existing (different) SB2OA7AH firmware.

_________________
X201s|i7-640LM 2.13GHz|8GB|12.1" WXGA+|320GB|Intel 6200|Chicony KB + GTX460 DIY ViDock
T61|T9300 2.50GHz|4GB|Intel X3100|14.1" SXGA+|160GB|DVD-RAM|Atheros AR5BXB72|NMB KB|Win7 + MacOSX 10.6.8
T43|P-M 2.0GHz|2GB|ATi x300|14.1" SXGA+|80GB|DVD-RAM|IBM a/b/g|NMB KB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:14 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:38 pm
Posts: 191
Location: Waukegan, IL
I have a HP HTS541040G9AT00 drive so the Firmware is CA060 I believe the C meaning Compaq anyone flash one of these with an IBM successfully? I tried it once before and killed the drive gave me some sort of table error.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:25 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Hello, I would like to share with you interesting web page, where an man successfully cut-off SATA->PATA bridge chip from planar and installed SATA connector into T43, so he is able to use SATA drives in primary slot. The page is in Chinesse, you can use i.e. Google Translator to translate the entire page. Need to say, that this method is not eliminating 2010 error but hard drive should works correctly because it is connected directly to chipset via SATA wires then.
See it here: http://www.friendeye.com/?action-viewthread-tid-60630

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:10 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 11:43 pm
Posts: 90
Location: Manila, Philippines
The 2010 error has been fixed as of Nov 2010 via a patched firmware update. I used it on my Thinkpad T43 with a WD Scorpio Blue 320GB. No issues, yet.

There has been much talk about hacking the motherboard to use SATA drives. Many have ruined their planars trying. I'm glad to hear someone has been able to do it. Bottomline, it might be a better idea just to get a T60, since they're cheap by now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Posts: 770
Location: Tartu, Estonia
I personally don't know a single person who has ruined T43 doing SATA mod and I know at least 6-7 people who have done this.

It is hard to imagine what can you do to ruin it if you have proper tools and read the tutorials with attention.


Maccess wrote:
The 2010 error has been fixed as of Nov 2010 via a patched firmware update. I used it on my Thinkpad T43 with a WD Scorpio Blue 320GB. No issues, yet.

There has been much talk about hacking the motherboard to use SATA drives. Many have ruined their planars trying. I'm glad to hear someone has been able to do it. Bottomline, it might be a better idea just to get a T60, since they're cheap by now.

_________________
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
I am still looking for the original 60GB IDE drive for my T43.. just to let it boot like it should.
Did found one at eBay with FRU numbers mentioned in my previous posts but with a total price of $80 its way overpriced in my opinion.
Second, i cannot get ´no 2010 error guarantee´ so have to take the risk too..

Will this fix work for me too? Im so novice with that kind of updating.. scares me a bit. Or is is just execute, backup & update and run? :oops:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=92115

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:03 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13612
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
There's a reliable BIOS hack out there, which removes the 2010 Error.
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=92115
This means you can run ANY PATA/IDE 2.5" hard disk (just not SATA).
One that comes highly recommended: the 160GB Samsung HM160HC.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
I found that one but i see it have so many setting tabs.. or dont i need that advanced settings?

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Ok, this chicken took deep breath and used that tool with all default settings.. 2010 error is finally gone. Im so happy! :D

_________________
If they don´t have a Thinkpad in heaven...IM NOT GOING!!

IBM T40p, 2x T43, 2xT61p, S50 Thincentre Desktop, A50 Thincentre tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 12:28 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Newport, OR
Maccess wrote:
The 2010 error has been fixed as of Nov 2010 via a patched firmware update. I used it on my Thinkpad T43 with a WD Scorpio Blue 320GB. No issues, yet.


Hello Maccess,

Could I bother you to confirm, please, that:
1) The WD you mentioned above will fit in the internal HDD slot without needing any physical modifications or special adapters
2) That the following is the full P/N Western Digital 320GB SATA Scorpio 5400RPM 8MB 2.5IN WD3200BEVS

We have several T43s that work just fine but that could use larger HDDs. The 160GB Samsung HM160HC HDD that several folks have recommended seems like it would be an equally okay upgrade, but if it's possible to bump everyone up to 320GB that would seem to make the most amount of sense.

Unless I'm missing something?

Many thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:22 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12690
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
blockmental wrote:

Quote:
Unless I'm missing something?


The only thing that you're missing is the fact that you need the PATA version of WD 320GB, and not SATA.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136345

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 12:28 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Newport, OR
Thanks ajkula66,

Another question if you wouldn't mind please.

Will I need to purchase a copy of Windows for the replacement drives or will I be able to use the original IBM recovery disks that I have for each T43? (I also have the original WinXP Pro product key stickers for each T43 that I want to upgrade.)

My guess is that this isn't going to be as straightforward as swapping out the HDDs, putting the recovery disk in, hitting the ON button, and then following the prompts. (I have some experience reinstalling XP on several ThinkPads, but that was always done via the built-in recovery function.)

Many thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dekks and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group