thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:35 am
Posts: 25
Location: paris, france
Hello there,

I've looked everywhere and can't find the x64 driver for the GMA X3100
A lot of forums are claiming that SL 10.6.2 provides it but not in my install.
I also have access to a real mac which is up to date and has only 32 bits
driver.

Could someone point me in the right direction please ? This is the only 64 bit
driver I'm missing on my T61

Thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:14 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
I also noticed something strange about AppleIntelGMA950.kext :

10.6.0/1 : 32 bit
10.6.2 : 32/64 bit
10.6.3 : 32 bit only
(Original Post)

Did you tried to extract the kexts from the 10.6.2 Combo update with Pacifist ?

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:35 am
Posts: 25
Location: paris, france
Thank you for that ! I found the 64 bit drivers in the 10.6.2
I add a 10.6.3 and they were 32. That's crazy

It's running fine now on my T61 but for some reason I don't have QE working
in 64 bit whereas it works fine in 32 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:53 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
ronin wrote:
It's running fine now on my T61 but for some reason I don't have QE working
in 64 bit whereas it works fine in 32 bit


Did you also copy AppleintelIntegretedFrameBuffer.kext (and everything GMA3100 related ?)

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:35 am
Posts: 25
Location: paris, france
Yes
AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin
AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle
AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext

That's strange because in 32 bit I did not patch anything for the graphic
card so it should work the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 12:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:35 am
Posts: 25
Location: paris, france
So after a few experiment

10.6.2 contains 64 bit kexts for X3100
10.6.3 does not

64 bits kexts breaks QE/CI on 32 and 64 boot ?!! so I am back in 32 bit world :-/
From what I've read this the same deal for real mac computers but I'd like confirmation about that


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 1:00 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:08 pm
Posts: 255
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Yes, it seems that Apple has removed 64 bit support for Intel graphics in 10.6.3. Not sure what that means but support for Intel x3100 graphics is not stated in 10.6.3 technical spec from Apple.


Last edited by sanjuro on Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 4:19 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 220
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
So, there is no way to enable QE / CI in 10.6.3 for this AppleIntelGMAX3100FB (32 or 64)?
Downgrading to 10.6.2 is the only way to go?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:05 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:08 pm
Posts: 255
Location: Los Angeles, CA
milstein wrote:
So, there is no way to enable QE / CI in 10.6.3 for this AppleIntelGMAX3100FB (32 or 64)?
Downgrading to 10.6.2 is the only way to go?

yes, right now 10.6.2 seems to be the only way to get QE/CI working with GMAX3100. 64 bit support may come back in 10.6.4 but that remains to be seen.

Either Apple is actively trying to discourage hackintoshing or it is abandoning 10.6 graphics support for Macbooks (plastic) which came with intel x3100 integrated gpu. It could be doing both since nowadays Apple seems to more interested in selling ipads and iphones which have a proportionally larger profit margin than macs.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group