thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
Now that some 8G memory sticks are trickling out(Kingston has some), has anyone tried getting one or two of these to work in a W700? Or, for that matter, a W701 or W5x0?

For the W700, with two slots, that would mean maxing out the box at 16G. For the W701, which has four slots, the max would be 32G. Don't know offhand about maxes for the W500 & W510.

I don't know of any reason these boxes wouldn't take a higher capacity stick, but then, I'm no memory expert either...

Comments/speculation?????


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 8:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
yips.......... for a while now , 32GB on 2x W701 & 3x W501s
Costs juz about as much as laptops itself !

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:20 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Sydney Australia
AMATX wrote:
Now that some 8G memory sticks are trickling out(Kingston has some), has anyone tried getting one or two of these to work in a W700? Or, for that matter, a W701 or W5x0?
Comments/speculation?????



Besides the odd forum post, I have been unable to find any official info about these 8GB sticks. Could you please provide a link?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:30 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Sydney Australia
ausmike wrote:
yips.......... for a while now , 32GB on 2x W701 & 3x W501s
Costs juz about as much as laptops itself !


Do I understand you correctly that you are using 32GB in your computers? Where did you find these modules and how much did they cost?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:02 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
jketzetera wrote:
Besides the odd forum post, I have been unable to find any official info about these 8GB sticks. Could you please provide a link?



http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... K:MEWAX:IT

I was poking around on ebay, found the above, which looks close to what my W700 might use. I'm not up on current memory specs to know exactly what to look for(been a while since I've dealt w/pc memory), but this looked close. I then went out to Kingston's website and saw that they had a variety of 8G chips.

I'm looking to expand > 8G (2x4 chips) that I have on my W700, and have been waiting/wondering about the 8G (1x8) sticks. Looks like they're finally here(may have been for a while, but new to me).

When I get some $play$, I may buy one and see if it'll work in a W700. Other poster here tried them in a W701 successfully, so odds appear decent for a W700...but, one never knows until one tries...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
[quote=....
Do I understand you correctly that you are using 32GB in your computers? Where did you find these modules and how much did they cost?[/quote]

used on TP's with ,,,,,,,
CUSTOM BIOS ; CUSTOM built RAMs etc ...FOR CUSTOMER >special needs

Most (not all) supplied for testing via SPECIAL PROGRAMS and not sure 'most normal consumers' would want to pay the price for these SPECIAL ITEMS > eg 8GB DDR3x1333 = $1300- 1500US each stick !! 1TB SSD's are like $2100-4500US.....

err ..maybe if there was more 'demand' am sure RAM&SSD makers would love to make lots of these - thus reducing the price!!


edited > edited some comments due to 'proprietary' info !

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
Interesting setup on ^

Haven't checked a lot on 1333 pricing, as my W700 uses 1066, but did find this one on ebay for ~$880:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-8GB-DDR3-SDRAM- ... ltDomain_0

'course, pricing will vary, depending upon which type of memory, manufacturer, alignment of the stars & planets, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:30 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Sydney Australia
AMATX wrote:
Interesting setup on ^

Haven't checked a lot on 1333 pricing, as my W700 uses 1066, but did find this one on ebay for ~$880:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-8GB-DDR3-SDRAM- ... ltDomain_0

'course, pricing will vary, depending upon which type of memory, manufacturer, alignment of the stars & planets, etc.


AMATX,

Both your eBay links are to desktp/server memory modules, which have had 8GB sticks for some time. However, I have never even seen a 8GB SODIMM modules anywhere else than in forum posts by people saying that they have seeen them or that they are coming.

Ausmike,

Where would I turn if I wanted to buy two 8GB SODIMM sticks?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
^ Ok; sorry, didn't realize these were desktop sticks. As mentioned above, it's been a while(read years) since I've dealt much w/memory specs...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:01 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Sydney Australia
ausmike wrote:
yips.......... for a while now , 32GB on 2x W701 & 3x W501s
Costs juz about as much as laptops itself !



ausmike,

Can you share more info on how to purchase these beasts? Or are they in fact mythical beasts, like the unicorns?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 6:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
[


ausmike,

Can you share more info on how to purchase these beasts? Or are they in fact mythical beasts, like the unicorns?[/quote]


READ ABOVE <~in short - not for PUBLIC RELEASE> not yet mate

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:05 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 118
Ok, here is that classified info "somebody" can not talk about.
To be found on the internet:

http://www.samsung.com/global/business/ ... omponent02

I guess you have to contact them for availability.

Have not checked the other usual suspects ...


Wolfgang

_________________
W520, 2820QM, Full HD, 16GB RAM, Intel S320 300GBytes, Windows 7 64 Enterprise


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:01 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
only PLACE I KNOW = ONE retailer in UK

that has been selling a few of these to General PUBLIC !


Wolf*
so be keen to find who has them for retail....

let me know as I be in Stud. < Vaihingen > soon

thanks

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:38 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:41 pm
Posts: 713
Location: Southern California
Umm...that chip on ebay says it has ECC technology. I don't think ThinkPad's support that...?

_________________
15-inch Core 2 Duo ThinkPad T60p | Ivy-Bridge (Late-2012) Mac mini w/ quad Core i7-3615QM 2.3GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz RAM, 240GB+180GB Intel 520 Series SATA III SSD's, 5x3TB Drobo 5D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 12:37 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Los Angeles, California
yes the mobile i7 processors does not support ECC. and yes the 8gb sticks are not 204pin and are for desktops processors.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 7:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
:D
viewtopic.php?f=58&t=90865
:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:47 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Sydney Australia
Yes, now there is a 32GB option when you spec out an Dell Precision M6500. Cost of upgrade is $9,194 ..... pheeew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
Hmmm. Dell's U.S. website has 4x8G sticks buried in the specs for this laptop, but the configurator is hopelessly out of date. Doesn't even allow me to choose a 64 bit OpSys, much less choose 32G of memory.

Guess I'll try it later and see if they've updated it a bit.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WHOA! I take the above back. Tried this url and got into a configurator that worked:

http://www.dell.com/content/products/pr ... l=en&s=biz

And, indeed, $9000+ for JUST the 32G of memory by itself (OUCH!) Spec'd out a laptop with minimum of what I'd want(fastest cpu, etc) and it came to $13,576 BEFORE taxes & shipping :shock:

I don't follow Dell stuff much, and was somewhat surprised how overpriced some of the items were, in addition to the memory.

Wayyyyy tooo much for these 8G sticks...be interesting to see what the REAL price of these is when they hit the street for general consumption.


Last edited by AMATX on Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 12:37 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Los Angeles, California
lol nice... but I want those 1600Mhz memory, but only 8gb configuration for those :p Although I have 16gb on this and it's overkill as it is. Always have 13gigs available and 11gigs free :p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
playersnoopy wrote:
lol nice... but I want those 1600Mhz memory, but only 8gb configuration for those :p Although I have 16gb on this and it's overkill as it is. Always have 13gigs available and 11gigs free :p


Don't think Lenovo's quite to the point of being able to use 1600Mhz sticks in their laptops...sounds nice, tho :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 12:37 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Los Angeles, California
ya, still questionable how that works, since i7 940xm and QMs specify 1066/1333 Mhz memory... wonder if it just clocks down for a whopping $9k upgrade :))


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 3:23 pm 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Posts: 3410
Location: United States
with that processor they would downclock to 1333MHz.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:28 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 2975
Location: Munich, Germany
erik wrote:
with that processor they would downclock to 1333MHz.
Unless one is into overclocking, I guess, but then again OC is not the purpose of a laptop at any rate...

BTW, haven´t seen you around for a while :)

_________________
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:34 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Posts: 3410
Location: United States
yeah, the obsession with overclocking is one i'll never understand, especially on a notebook.   then again, i'm not one to stay at home and run benchmarks all day.   lol :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group