thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 634
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I bought one of those CF to Toshiba 1.8-inch IDE Hard Drive Converter since IDE Hard Drives are becoming harder to find now.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:30 pm
Posts: 17
Location: St.Louis, Mo.
ThinkPad560X wrote:
My 560X is currently using a EIDE CF adapter and its okay but may need a bit more boost. its a 16GB CF I heard there are some diffrent CF speed types of these cards. Also is there a 40GB CF not going to put much on my 240, just XP updates and lenovo updates, as its just used as a netbook type now and just using for internet.


Would you care to tell us how you set up your CF card and adapter? Maybe as a step by step? For me the card and adapter are not being recognized and I suspect that there is some basic step in setting it up that I'm missing. I'm working on a 240 Type 2609 that will likely get some version of Puppy Linux for an OS. I have a wireless card ( Intel 2915ABG Mini Pci ) for it and am waiting on a 128MB RAM card to come in before I install anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 2:23 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2236
Location: Glendora, CA
Thanks to this thread I have learned about a new (to me) portable from IBM that I had never heard of before. The Workpad Z50.

Looks like an X styled Windows CE device and after reading a few articles on it and checking e-bay pricing it seems to be a good machine to get my feet wet with as far as Windows CE goes. I've never used that OS before but I never had a need to either. While I still do not have a need to run it now, my inner geek demands that I purchase the device and play with it.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T410 i5 2.4GHz Nvidia 3100 256MB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1440x900 LCD

Old:
Dell Latitude E6500, D630, E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 1:32 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:15 am
Posts: 496
Location: Sacramento, California
Temetka wrote:
Thanks to this thread I have learned about a new (to me) portable from IBM that I had never heard of before. The Workpad Z50.

Looks like an X styled Windows CE device and after reading a few articles on it and checking e-bay pricing it seems to be a good machine to get my feet wet with as far as Windows CE goes. I've never used that OS before but I never had a need to either. While I still do not have a need to run it now, my inner geek demands that I purchase the device and play with it.

Ah, yes. The Z50. I have a couple of them. They are excellent in many ways, probably could be thought of as the 1st Netbook. Windows CE is quite limited, but it has a suite of scaled down productivity applications (like Word) that are very useful. You can use a CF card (actually, 2 of them if you use a PCMCIA to CF adapter) and save your files there. Excellent (really I can't overemphasize this) keyboard, and the familiar trackpoint.

The screen is not TFT, but the passive LCD technology, and you can't compare it to TFT. I think the reason they used that technology is to improve on battery life, which is spectacular (the extended battery runs for 16 hours,) and there is an adapter which takes 8 alcaline AA batteries also (which means that you can have a "netbook" running on AA batteries.)

Another point where the Z50 excels is at sound recording. It's not high fidelity recording, but more of a note-taking quality, but the microphone picks up very well, which makes it an excellent choice for taking notes or recording during meetings. You can record to CF card to capacity, and using different encodings and bit rates (almost unlimited space.)

I'm in the process of installing NetBSD on one of mine as we speak, because I'm thinking of selling it in eBay, and hopefully that will increase its value somewhat. :wink:

But yes, I think you will enjoy tinkering with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:00 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 399
Location: Cave Junction, Oregon
I have a Z50, and I really like it, especially the "instant-on" ROM based OS. As far as I can tell, the 240 and Z50 are exactly the same size, except for the battery bulge that props the Z50 up at a slight angle, (slants about 1/4" from back to front) and have the same keyboard. The 240 is more powerful, but disk based, with much shorter battery time, and it must boot. If you want your data handy anywhere any time instantly, the Z50 is perfect.

********************************************************************

What kind of RAM does the 240 take? I have a 256Mb PC100 SDRAM SODIMM that is not low density (I ordered it for the 770Z :oops: ). Will it work?

_________________
Read the Bible!

www.onlinebible.net www.answersingenisis.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:37 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:15 am
Posts: 496
Location: Sacramento, California
Bookworm wrote:
I have a Z50, and I really like it, especially the "instant-on" ROM based OS. As far as I can tell, the 240 and Z50 are exactly the same size, except for the battery bulge that props the Z50 up at a slight angle, (slants about 1/4" from back to front) and have the same keyboard. The 240 is more powerful, but disk based, with much shorter battery time, and it must boot. If you want your data handy anywhere any time instantly, the Z50 is perfect.

********************************************************************

What kind of RAM does the 240 take? I have a 256Mb PC100 SDRAM SODIMM that is not low density (I ordered it for the 770Z :oops: ). Will it work?

It's very funny that you would mention the Z50 and 240. As I was reading this post I am in bed with a 240X (the one I'm typing in right now) and a Z50 to my right (I had it here because I was installing NetBSD on it earlier.) I just put the Z50 on top of the 240X, and they are almost exactly the same width and depth (the Z50 seems just a couple of millimeters smaller in each dimension.) The battery style is the same (the bulging kind,) but the battery in my 240X is more bulky than the one in the Z50.

The keyboard on the Z50 seems to me better than the one in the 240X, and the one in the 240X is excellent. The keyboard in the Z50 feels very solid, and the key action is simply the best I have ever experienced (I haven't used any clicky keyboards though.) That shows you that the Z50 was no joke, IBM really put a lot of thought into them.

As for the memory, I'm sorry but the PC100 SDRAM won't work. The only memory expansion possible on the Z50 is a 32Mb EDO RAM which brings the total to 48Mb of RAM (counting the builtin 16Mb.)

The instant on feature on the Z50 is nice. My favorite feature is the incredibly good battery runtime though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 11:03 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 399
Location: Cave Junction, Oregon
> As for the memory, I'm sorry but the PC100 SDRAM won't work. The only memory
> expansion possible on the Z50 is a 32Mb EDO RAM which brings the total to 48Mb of RAM
> (counting the builtin 16Mb.)

I was asking about the PC100 SDRAM in the 240, not the Z50, but I finally found it in another thread. The 240 also requires low density RAM. :banghead: Is the Z50 RAM standard EDO? there is a rumor that it's proprietary.

You probably have the extended battery in your 240X. There is a standard battery that does not stick out. With it, I think the 240 lays flat like a 600.

IBM made two mini PCI modem cards with Wifi. Will one of these work in the 240?

_________________
Read the Bible!

www.onlinebible.net www.answersingenisis.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:55 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:49 am
Posts: 127
Location: Berlin, Germany
Medessec wrote:
The Thinkpads, out of the box, can handle up to 192 MB, but with a BIOS update can handle up to 320, no more. This goes for all 240s, as I recall.

That's not quite true.
The 240X and 240Z have a different chipset from the 240. This chipset supports faster RAM (PC100 as opposed to PC66 on the 240), but on the downside it only supports up to 256 MB of RAM.
As the 240X (and 240Z, to my knowledge) have 64 MB soldered to the mainboard, you could only go to 192 MB normally.

There where two options to get more RAM into your 240X:
- buy one of the really rare 192 MB memory modules (never seen one myself, but supposedly you can find one of them every once in a while on asian versions of eBay)
- unsolder the RAM from the mainboard and use a 256 MB memory module

_________________
IBM ThinkPad R61 | IBM ThinkPad X60 | IBM ThinkPad X32 | IBM ThinkPad T23


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:28 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:15 am
Posts: 496
Location: Sacramento, California
Bookworm wrote:
>
I was asking about the PC100 SDRAM in the 240, not the Z50, but I finally found it in another thread. The 240 also requires low density RAM. :banghead: Is the Z50 RAM standard EDO? there is a rumor that it's proprietary.

You probably have the extended battery in your 240X. There is a standard battery that does not stick out. With it, I think the 240 lays flat like a 600.

IBM made two mini PCI modem cards with Wifi. Will one of these work in the 240?

I am pretty sure the Z50 RAM is proprietary, and only 32Mb modules are available.

Yes, I think I have the extended battery in my 240X. The Z50 doesn't have the extended battery on (although the battery still bulges.) I also have a Z50 standard battery, but I just don't use it.

I have no idea about the Wifi cards on the 240, sorry. I use mine with a PCMCIA Wifi card.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:36 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Hi,

- Intel minipci Pro 2200 works OK.

- In 240x you DO NOT need to unsoldere anything. Please see topic "240x and 256M again". A simple and probed software hack is all you need.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 634
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I need the Hard Drive Caddly/Connector, I found that the connector is attached to the caddy. I found one on PCHUB.com but it is out of stock. Part Number: DA0BS1TB8D3
http://www.pchub.com/uph/laptop/38-3637 ... apter.html
I can't find any on ebay.
And the CF Adapter will not read and I don't want to risk bending one of the pins off the 240 and may have to replace the motherboard, So I just want to buy the orginal connector for it.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:40 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:36 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Hi,

The CF adapter you tried is as per: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=73179&start=0

Try other card preformated in your 240.

Works for me!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:22 am
Posts: 31
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Hard drive cover for 240 is available at the website below. Connector and mounting screws are included. IBM Part Number is 10L1950. Shipping cost is about $10 and delivery is very fast.

http://www.indexworldwide.com/10l1950.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 634
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I found a seller that sold me a HDD Cover/Caddy/HDD Connector set for $13.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:28 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 399
Location: Cave Junction, Oregon
Is the 240 CPU upgradable? To what? What kind of board/socket?

_________________
Read the Bible!

www.onlinebible.net www.answersingenisis.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:27 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 4:35 am
Posts: 142
Location: Edam, The Netherlands
Quote:
"In 240x you DO NOT need to unsoldere anything. Please see topic "240x and 256M again". A simple and probed software hack is all you need."

The topic refers to a hack in Win2000.
Has anyone tried this with succes in Win XP?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:00 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:49 am
Posts: 127
Location: Berlin, Germany
Bookworm wrote:
Is the 240 CPU upgradable? To what? What kind of board/socket?

No, the 240 CPU is soldered onto the board.
You could try to find a 240x board (with CPU), those fit into the 240 frame.

_________________
IBM ThinkPad R61 | IBM ThinkPad X60 | IBM ThinkPad X32 | IBM ThinkPad T23


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 634
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
Can my ThinkPad 240 (non X,Z) graphics be upgraded or be ajusted? My 240 has 800X600 witch I think it can handle up to 1024X768 resolution, but it don't fit on the screen. I think the ThinkPad 240Z and the i1124 shows the screen full in that resolution.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:52 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7783
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
ThinkPad560X wrote:
Can my ThinkPad 240 (non X,Z) graphics be upgraded or be ajusted?


You mean you want to upgrade the screen to 1024x768? The 240 definitely can output 1024x768, though I think you would need to replace the ribbon cable to the type found in the 240Z or i1124. The combined cost of this cable and LCD would probably exceed the cost of the i1124 that I just sold.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 634
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
So it deals with the LCD type and cable? And yes on my external LCD it displays the 1024X768. And I can live with 800X600 as theres nothing wrong with my 240 other than I can to upgrade the RAM in it. Its running Windows XP Professional on a 64MB stick, will a 1 stick of 256MB work?

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:09 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7783
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
ThinkPad560X wrote:
will a 1 stick of 256MB work?


The 240 has 64MB of onboard RAM, and you can put a low-density 256MB PC100 module in the upgrade slot for a total of 320MB. Look for "33L3070" on eBay.

I have owned three 240's. Excellent as collector's items, but the 800x600 screen is way too low-res for any real work to be done. The 240X is also only 800x600.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:30 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 399
Location: Cave Junction, Oregon
> but the 800x600 screen is way too low-res for any real work to be done.

What are you doing with it? I do real work on mine all the time, and on the Z50 (640X480) and the Casio E-125. The Casio is only 240X320 (or 320X240 with "landscape" software) and that's a little limited, but not for a *Pocket* PC.

_________________
Read the Bible!

www.onlinebible.net www.answersingenisis.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM ThinkPad 240
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:58 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7783
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Bookworm wrote:
What are you doing with it? I do real work on mine all the time, and on the Z50 (640X480) and the Casio E-125.


We just define "real" differently.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BillMorrow, jflores and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group