thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:17 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Xenomorph wrote:
how many people have actually installed this?


Hard to say, but I've tried it and have it for 3 days now. Everything works perfectly. No 2010 error with Samsung HM160HC hard drive, which is officialy unsupported drive. From the screenshots on MDL forum is apparent, that TTav134 only bypassed code generating the error. So the HDD checking mechanism is still inside but there is no code to generate error, delay and 2x beep :wink:
Have to say also, that possible data corruption possibility might still exists using non-approved HDD but I don't know anybody who experienced this problem during that 5 years... Altough there was notification from IBM, main thing is that IBM/Lenovo cannot guarantee 100% reliability if some parts are not coming from IBM. Then you can't plead in a court with them if their machine will impact your business. And that's all from this secret.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 5:12 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Tallinn, Estonia, EU
Installed over 12h ago, during this time I've done some restarts- no 2010 or any other errors occured. Everything seems functioning.

Type 1871, Samsung HM160HC

_________________
6474AH5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:07 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Posts: 770
Location: Tartu, Estonia
With the removal of the SATA-PATA bridge chip you will be eliminating the reason why IBM implemented the HDD compatibility check at first place.
And get to use better/newer/faster/bigger/cheaper HDD's.

_________________
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:27 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Raceboy: yes, and this was reason why IBM didn't want to risk a reliability issues by using an HDD without IBM's firmware. Big business risk for IBM. I'm planning to remove bridge chip soon to install Hitachi 7k500 (500GB 7200rpm drive) into main HDD bay, but I don't know about any local company with appropriate equipment. I've some soldering tools at home but the bridge chip's connection to planar is very small. I'm affraid I can't solder SATA wires correctly with my equipment. :(

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:07 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Nice, T43p (type 2668), Samsung HM120HC (120Gb) SATA experienced full brilliance: D

No one Error 2010 and an ugly sound beep-beep.
Simply rising faster Win7 system and got a significant speed compared to the original Travelestar 80Gb Hitachi (IBM original parts)

I will definitely keep Hitachi fail Samsung

_________________
T43p - 2,13Ghz, 2GB x 1, 80GB Hitachi, Win7 Pro
T41 -1,6Ghz, 512MB x 2, 40GB Hitachi, Win XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:14 am
Posts: 23
Location: orleans, france
UPDATE

Link to MDL at first post
================================================== =========================
ThinkPad T43, T43p (2668, 2669, 2678, 2679, 2686, 2687 Machine types only)
Version: 1.29 (1YET65WW)
Release Date: 2006/09/06
SLIC2.1 Lenovo TP7U

T43-SLIC2.1_7U_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zip

================================================== =========================
- ThinkPad R52 (1858, 1859, 1860, 1861, 1862, 1863, 1958 Machine types only)
- ThinkPad T43 (1871, 1872, 1873, 1874, 1875, 1876 Machine types only)

Version: 1.29
Release Date: 2007/06/05
SLIC2.1 DELL M09

R52-T43-76UJ29US_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zi p

================================================== =========================
- ThinkPad R52 (Machine Type 1846, 1847, 1848, 1849, 1850, 1870, 1957)
Version: 1.29
Release Date: 2007/02/07
SLIC2.1 DELL M09

R52-76UJ28US_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zi p

================================================== =========================
ThinkPad X41
Version: 2.09 (74ET64WW)
Release Date: 2006/12/25
SLIC2.1 DELL M09

X41-74uj15us_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zi p

================================================== =========================[url][/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:56 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
This is really good news... I'm just having two candidates for testing :wink:

Edit: Had no problems downloading it, no pop ups or anything of that kind (using Portable Chrome)

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/5*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/9*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 8:34 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Bucks., UK
Brilliant; well done.

Works a treat with my WD3200BEVE on the T43 :D

Thank you, TTav134, for finding the solution.

Nick

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:48 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Posts: 770
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Tested on my X41, absolutely no problems.

Thank you!

_________________
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:14 am
Posts: 23
Location: orleans, france
hi gents,

does somebody can confirm if SLIC table for X41 Tablet is valid, i have a doubt.

regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:09 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Works on my WD 320GB without no issues! Thanks :bow:

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/5*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/9*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:15 pm 
Online
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 401
Location: Centennial, CO
@TTav134
The T43 26xx BIOS is the only one of the four that uses a Lenovo SLIC. The other three use a Dell SLIC because the Lenovo will not fit (too large). The Lenovo BIOS with the Dell SLIC has been used for more than a year (but with no 2010 removal) and continues to pass validation.

_________________
X301 -- X201s -- X201 -- T400 -- T61 -- T60p -- T42p -- T30


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:34 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Thank you TTav34.

I just flashed my x41 with your modified BIOS using phlash16.exe from bootable USB thumbdrive. Works without a hitch except the checksum warning before flashing process starts. Now I don't have to wait due to 2010 error and the boot is blazing fast with Kingspec 64GB SSD. (7 seconds from splash screen to X)

I tried using IBM BIOS upgrade utility (DOS CD image written to thumbdrive) to write my own bootsplash image into your modified ROM file (simply renaming the file to whatever was the filename of original IBM BIOS image), but it did't work much like I expected. IBM flash utility complains about corrupt BIOS and refuses to continue. Maybe again the due to checksum?

Any ideas how I could replace the default bootsplash bitmap in your BIOS image?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:14 am
Posts: 23
Location: orleans, france
ladoga wrote:
Thank you TTav34.

I just flashed my x41 with your modified BIOS using phlash16.exe from bootable USB thumbdrive. Works without a hitch except the checksum warning before flashing process starts. Now I don't have to wait due to 2010 error and the boot is blazing fast with Kingspec 64GB SSD. (7 seconds from splash screen to X)

I tried using IBM BIOS upgrade utility (DOS CD image written to thumbdrive) to write my own bootsplash image into your modified ROM file (simply renaming the file to whatever was the filename of original IBM BIOS image), but it did't work much like I expected. IBM flash utility complains about corrupt BIOS and refuses to continue. Maybe again the due to checksum?

Any ideas how I could replace the default bootsplash bitmap in your BIOS image?


Recalculate Phoenix BIOS checksum: phnxcksm.exe http://www.endeer.cz/bios.tools/
Useless when flashing from windows with WinPhlash

("Flags" Tab):
[ ] Verify BIOS part number
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is different
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is newer
[ ] Verify BIOS image size
[ ] Verify BIOS checksum
[ ] Zero block before erasing
[x] Verify block after programming
[x] Disable Axx swaping automatic detection (if present)
[ ] Clear CMOS Checksum

("DMI" tab)
"Update": Select "Update the BIOS and not DMI"

For BMP replacement there is all necessary tools in original IBM bios package. (CHKBMP.EXE, logo.bat, logo.scr ... and readme.txt for the "how to") and once the checksum will be fixed you will have better success.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:26 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2384
Location: Glendora, CA
Just installed on my T43 2668-YHS. Works like a charm. The annoying beep for unsupported hard disk has been removed. Thanks.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T410, i5 M520, 8GB DDR3, 1440x900 LCD, 128GB SSD, DVD-RW, Bluetooth, fingerprint, webcam. 2522-26U

Old:
Dell Latitude E6500, E6520, Precision M4400 (Still in use), D630
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:32 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Hi! I know it's a T4 thread, but I tried today to patch my X41T and it's not working. Win7 keeps saying it can't load the driver PHLASHNT.sys and to check that I have administrator privileges. But I am running the program with an administrator user. Did someone have similar problems?

Edit: Solved! I had to deactivate the UAC settings and reboot the machine! (Note to self: think before posting :oops: )

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/5*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/9*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:37 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13738
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Next time you try something like that, get a bootable CD, rather than updating from within Windows. Much saver!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:09 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Yeah I know, but I was lazy again :oops: . I don't have a dock or external optical drive for the X41T. I should have checked if I have a small USB stick lying somewhere and make it bootable. Still have to patch my X41, allthough I have a X4 dock with drive for it.

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/5*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/9*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:18 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Quote:
Solved! I had to deactivate the UAC settings and reboot the machine!


You don't need to deactivate the UAC. Right click and select 'Run as Administrator' is enough :wink:

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:32 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
lukee wrote:
ou don't need to deactivate the UAC. Right click and select 'Run as Administrator' is enough
I was logged in as Administrator from the beginning. Still did not work until I turned off UAC and rebooted the machine. Really weird...

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/5*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/9*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:34 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Helsinki, Finland
TTav134 wrote:
Recalculate Phoenix BIOS checksum: phnxcksm.exe http://www.endeer.cz/bios.tools/
Useless when flashing from windows with WinPhlash

("Flags" Tab):
[ ] Verify BIOS part number
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is different
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is newer
[ ] Verify BIOS image size
[ ] Verify BIOS checksum
[ ] Zero block before erasing
[x] Verify block after programming
[x] Disable Axx swaping automatic detection (if present)
[ ] Clear CMOS Checksum

("DMI" tab)
"Update": Select "Update the BIOS and not DMI"

For BMP replacement there is all necessary tools in original IBM bios package. (CHKBMP.EXE, logo.bat, logo.scr ... and readme.txt for the "how to") and once the checksum will be fixed you will have better success.


[edit] It worked fine using phnxcksm-0.2.exe. Checksum recalculator couldn't be run in DOS mode so I had to use another machine with windows for it (I'm using linux on the thinkpad). I copied the updated file back to boot media and IBM BIOS update program had no complaints this time.

I lack words, but I wish to thank you for all the work you've done. It has helps many people who wish to upgrade their old trusty thinkpads. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Cheers its work for me t43 2669 work fine with Samsung 160 Gb HD.
Its working one week for now and work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:33 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Here is my experience after two months of intensive using of my T43p/Win7 with this BIOS mod - absolutely no problems, everything works like a charm.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
I want to use an old HDD on my T43, but it won't go past the Error 2010 at all.
I would like to use these files to flash the bios, can someone tell me how I could do it from a CD ?

Thanks ahead!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:26 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Los Angeles, California
Got a T43 (2668 here), I have a few questions
regarding this BIOS mod:

What software do I need to flash the new bios?
How do I back up the old bios in case the new bios does not work?
Would SLIC2.1 affect activation of WinXP Pro in case of
re-installation is required?


Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:47 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 285
Location: Brooklyn, New York
I had applied this to my T43p, and then applied the SATA mod. Did anyone do the mod with the stock bios? I have a theory that the 2010 error would not show up in that situation but I can not test it myself unless there is an easy way to restore my original T43p bios.

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:05 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Bibin wrote:
I had applied this to my T43p, and then applied the SATA mod. Did anyone do the mod with the stock bios? I have a theory that the 2010 error would not show up in that situation but I can not test it myself unless there is an easy way to restore my original T43p bios.


Only HDDs with original IBM firmware will boot without 2010 ERROR together with the stock BIOS, independently if the SATA bridge is on place or not. The chip itself is fully transparent for the BIOS as well as for operating system.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:06 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:32 am
Posts: 257
Location: Twin Cities, MN
nice bios utility!

I got this working on my T43 (2668) and everything looks mighty fine! Only snafu I ran into were the files hosted on the MDL site didn't work, however the files hosted on the boardroom did ??

Anyways - thanks (and good bye error 2010) !

_________________
T42 (type 2373)
T43 (type 2668) x2
T60 (type 2007)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:06 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Tested with an 80gb Western Digital - no problems so far! YES! That beep was SO annoying! Thank you for posting this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:38 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 7:12 am
Posts: 2230
Location: Hallstead PA. USA
Thanks......worked for me with my mint T43 Intel graphics.....excellent...faster boot times also....... :mrgreen:

Ron

_________________
IBM T410 / T61 sxga+ / T61 wide / LG G Pad 8.3 / Lenovo 6000S 10.1 / Microsoft Surface RT 32GB


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group