thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1083 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Posts: 2908
Location: San Jose, CA
Tasurinchi wrote:
Found in Ebay an offering for an Sandisk 64GB: (click). Does anyone knows the performance compared to his smaller brother Sandisk SDU5B? I've only found benchmarks for the latter here in the forum.

Thanks in advance!

Performance of 32GB and 64GB versions hould be about the same.

_________________
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:47 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1724
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
sjthinkpader wrote:
Performance of 32GB and 64GB versions hould be about the same.
Thanks for the info! I was thinking the same but I was unsure since I thought I read some comments about the 64GB Kingspecs being faster than the 32GB Kingspecs, but was too lazy to check all the pages of this thread again :|

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/4*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/7*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:17 am
Posts: 7
Location: Brighton, MA
I got a 64gb Kingspec SSD that I'm trying to clonezilla my old 40 gb image onto.

I saved the 40gb ISO image with no problem to a USB drive. The first time I tried to write the ISO image to the SSD it seeed to write with no problems but then at the end of the process I got lots and lots of scrolling errors similar to below (the numbers are not exact but the messages next to them are verbatim).

[ 385.379709] ata1.00 status{DRDY ERR}
[ 385.379810] error { UNC}
[ 385.379876] exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x0
[ 385.379923] BDMA stat 0x24
[ 385.379975] failed command: WRITE DMA

Whenever I try again to write the 40gb iso onto the SSD I keep getting scrolling messages of doom.

Can you provide any help?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:17 am
Posts: 7
Location: Brighton, MA
Additional info:

Clonezilla sees that the SSD has a 105 mb partition and a 39.9 gb partition which suggests to me that the initial writing of the iso image was partially successful.

I'm currently using KILLDISK to reformat the SSD so maybe I can totally start over and it is telling me that there are errors writing to every single sector.

Also, during the first writing of the ISO image I let the scrolling errors messages go for 3+ hours. They seemed to have no end, so I pushed and held the power button to force the system off.

Did I corrupt the SSD?
Wouldn't KILLDISK put the SSD back the way it was when I got it?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:19 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 3:50 am
Posts: 485
Location: Austria, EU
I can't directly help, but I would recommend you to post your problem incl. error log to the CloneZilla mailing list.
Developers there are very responsive there.
HTH

_________________
Lophiomys
Thinkpads with 15inch 4:3 UXGA 133DPI IPS/Flexview: 2x T43p SATA Mod., 3x T42p (dying by Flexing), 2x T60p (1xATI, 1xIntel/new BoeHydis);
R51 SXGA+; X31; X41T; X41 Sata Mod; all Made in China; 570E, 701C; MBP15c3UB non-glossy mid09 / formerly 600X, 760E


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:17 am
Posts: 7
Location: Brighton, MA
I've tried everything with this drive and have concluded that the controller is trash (I'm a Mech Engineer by trade so if I say something wrong you must forgive).

The laundry list of things I've tried:
- Killdisk (Write Command Error)
- XFdisk (I/O Error)
- Writing image with clonezilla (scrolling errors related to writing to the drive)
- Installing Ubuntu 10.10 (will attempt install after repeated commands to retry installation but stalled at ~35% for 1.5 hours assumedly because of write errors)

I think the controller worked for a little bit then totally borked itself. This thing is garbage and I'm returning it today to the ebay seller that told me that writing an ISO image to the kingspec SSD is "Not Recommended" (I call total BS on that!).

There are a few people on ebay selling OEM lenovo SSD's for comparable prices and in one case $150 for 60gb.
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Lenovo-60GB-SSD ... _500wt_939

I just bought that and I won't have to flash my bios to get rid of the 2010 error. Also if I understand correctly the OEM lenovo drives are debranded Samsungs which gives me confidence in their quality.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:21 am
Posts: 17
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I've had a Kingspec SSD in my X40 for about a year now, and thought I'd share my experiences. I don't use the X40 much, it's mainly for when I travel. A few months ago I started the X40, but there wasn't enough power in the battery, so it died half way through booting. The result was that I lost the contents of the SSD, and my only option was to reinstall Windows 7. Once I got it running again, I noticed that it started taking a long time to shut down. The next thing I noticed was that saving files takes a very long time. I've had to turn off autorecover in Excel, because the X40 would just hang for about 10 seconds each time it saved. Although read speeds are still good, it seems that without TRIM or garbage collection, writing to these drives slows down considerably. It is becoming almost unusable. Has anyone else encountered this problem, and is there a solution?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:40 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Posts: 2908
Location: San Jose, CA
I posted a manual method to do garbage collection Oct 17th '09 in this thread. Look for that post.

_________________
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:21 am
Posts: 17
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thanks for your reply. I downloaded Eraser, but unfortunately the user interface has totally changed, and it doesn't seem like I can enter any of the options you have suggested.

I tried running AS-Clean after consolidating free space, but this has had no effect. I believe that this should work similar to Eraser.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 1:40 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Posts: 2908
Location: San Jose, CA
The essence of my method is to write data pattern "1111" to all free locations. You can probably do that with other software too. Try finding an older version of Eraser.

_________________
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:17 am
Posts: 7
Location: Brighton, MA
BTW I returned my KingSpec SSD and got a Lenovo 60gb SSD for cheaper on ebay.

for those who are interested:
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Lenovo-60GB-SSD-X41-X40-41W0736-FREE-US-SHIPPING-/280614763700?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4155f17cb4#ht_500wt_1129
http://cgi.ebay.com/Lenovo-60GB-SSD-X41-X40-41W0736-41W0737-/370474784924?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item564204989c#shId

No flashing the bios to avoid 2010 error FTW!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:14 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Canada
I'm currently interested in getting a 16gb SSD for my X40, the 20gb hdd seems to be working fine, I'm mainly just thinking it might speed it up a bit.

I have been looking at a KingSpec 16GB MLC for about 60 dollars shipped, I was just wondering if anyone has had any experience with these drives? Price is sure right, I am going to look for a local reseller though just in case I have a problem with the drive and I can return it easily.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/KingSpec-1-8-inch-ID ... 1c1861b74f

_________________
Thinkpad T410 - Core i5 M540 / 4GB / 160GB Intel 320 / Linux Mint 14 MATE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:47 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1724
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Brian10161 wrote:
I have been looking at a KingSpec 16GB MLC for about 60 dollars shipped
There are these Sandisk SSDs for around $60 here in Ebay, it's without shipment but on the other side it's a 32GB Model. I have one of those in my X41T and so far it's working fine.

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/4*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/7*X2xx/2*X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:27 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Canada
That's pretty cool, I just don't know about the zif adapter. I'd rather use the native plug though.

_________________
Thinkpad T410 - Core i5 M540 / 4GB / 160GB Intel 320 / Linux Mint 14 MATE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:03 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Posts: 2908
Location: San Jose, CA
The Lenovo 1.8in PATA SSDs use these ZIF adapters.

_________________
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:30 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:22 pm
Posts: 118
Location: paris, france
Hi,

I tried to plug a 4GB CFCard and the laptop never see the 'drive', sometimes the ide led starts blinking in crazy patterns , do you know what it means ? ide chipset failing or connector desoldered.

I don't have any other ide hdd to test, the cfcard works ok (tested on the cfcard reader of an x32)

And btw, there's no asymetrical filled pin to find which orientation to plug the card in .. i tried both , maybe I shouldn't.

_________________

X60s 1702-YAB `L2400 | T61 7659-12U `T7300
X32 2672-KJG `750 | X31 2672-CBG `705 |X41 | X41t 1867-A44 `758
[fs] x61s 3GB, 100GB, Batt+AC ... dead mobo & lcd
[sold] x60 T2400 1Gb wlan|eth


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:34 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Austin, TX
I went through many of these pages and searched, but I have a fairly simple question.

Is the 60gb Lenovo SSD upgrade a simple process, and pretty much un-buggy? I'll likely be installing Win7 for a Car PC project running data acquisition for SCCA SOLO and PRO-SOLO racing (USB touchscreen in the Dash run by the X41).

Just like to know before I drop the dough. I value simplicity and reliability over saving a few bucks. If the Lenovo SSD is the simplest and most seamless, then that is what I'd like to go with.

_________________
X61T - 4gb, 1.6, 1400x1050, 250gb 7200, Win7
X41 - 2.5bg, 1.5, 40gb, XP Home


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:27 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 1:33 am
Posts: 457
Location: Boston, MA
rkawakami,
Two great finds. Of course, I was up all night doing research and grabbed a few hours of sleep and slept right through the end of both auctions. They were complete units with all the fixings. I don't see any as good as those on ebay now.

I have AC power adapters for my X31 and T41. I thought an AC/DC adapter would be a good back up for an everyday AC adapter with the added benefit of being able to use it in the car.

I don't have any power adapter for my X60s. I see some 20V AC/DC adapters on ebay now but many are missing the cigarette lighter cord.

I just ordered a 90W 20V scratch and dent from Lenovo.

_________________
770E (relic not in use
3000 N100 T2080 1.73GHz
R61 773-1GU
T41 2373 7FU Pentium-M 1.6GHz Banias
X31 2672 XXM Pentium-M 1.3GHz
X60s 1702-68U L2400 1.66GHz Core Duo
Compaq Portable (suitcase size, gone)
Mac Portable (first laptop in world, Stored
Mac Laptop (Stored
Toshiba Tecra (Stored


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:08 pm
Posts: 22
murphyslaww wrote:
I went through many of these pages and searched, but I have a fairly simple question.

Is the 60gb Lenovo SSD upgrade a simple process, and pretty much un-buggy? I'll likely be installing Win7 for a Car PC project running data acquisition for SCCA SOLO and PRO-SOLO racing (USB touchscreen in the Dash run by the X41).

Just like to know before I drop the dough. I value simplicity and reliability over saving a few bucks. If the Lenovo SSD is the simplest and most seamless, then that is what I'd like to go with.


Yes. I just replaced the old drive with the Lenovo SSD and booted with an XP cd. Zero problems.

_________________
X41
1.6Ghz
60GB ssd
XP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:28 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Barcelona, Spain
I recently bought a 16GB Runcore Pro IV SSD from MemoryC (paid around 80 euros)and I'm incredibly happy with it. I didn't want to bother with clonezilla so I just aligned partitions and reinstalled arch linux. The speed gains are amazing (my X40 now feels faster than my T400), and having a silent laptop is bliss.

These 1.8in SSDs may not have as massive R/W times as the new breeds of 2.5in drives but their seek times are equally low, which is what results in the perceived speed increase. The kingspec horror stories are what pushed me to go for runcore over kingspec, and for now I've had no problems which leads me to believe I made the right decision.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:19 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Oulu, Finland
Hi!
I'm about to buy a SSD to my X40 because Win XP takes a couple of minutes to start up.
It seems that there's two sub-100€ brands, Kingspec and Runcore. 16GB is enough for me, so is the Runcore one worth 1.7x more price (Kingspec ~40€, Runcore ~67€, both shipped)
My top priority is reliability, anything faster than stock HDD is all better ;)

edit: Judging from the second last post the Kingspec is inferior in terms of reliability, so I'll go with Runcore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Hi,

Sorry to revive the topic, yet again.

Could someone clarify, how exactly compactflash via pc card adapter works? As far as I know, its a simple mechanical adapter, rewiring of the pins.
Yet there are numerous reports that simple PC Card adapter cripple the cards to a crawl.

I want to use a 16 GB, kingston 266x ultimate flashcard with some generic adapter like this one.

My lappy has a 32bit cardbus slot based on Ricoh R5C843 chip. The card is, based on reviews (and a CF-to-SATA adapter) working at up to 40 MBps. Will my setup achieve those speeds? Or do I need a CardBus (with the grounding strip?) adapter? Even a PCMCIA Card, working in 16 bit mode technically should achieve theoretical 64 megs of throughput (16bit * 33Mhz / 8 / 1024 / 1024). Can a PC Card (not cardbus) adapter work in 32 bit mode? Are there any CardBus CF adapters (for type I CF cards)? Maybe you can hack those adapters to force the into 32bit cardbus mode (is it a pin issue?)?

I apologize for those questions but there are tons of specs, different standards, possible solutions yet not enough solid information.

Oh, and the idea is to add some decent boot drive serving linux to my old lappy that works great as ultra portable but is limited by a 1.8 inch, 4200rpm drive that struggles to get 18MBps of read, and 20ms of seek times.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:42 am
Posts: 1
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Hi everybody!
I just installed XP on noname CF 4 gb card with nonmae ide to cf adapter. Boots up in 30 seconds with tuning of course (EWF,WSP, minlogon ) etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:29 am
Posts: 588
Location: Valparaiso, FL
well I have a MTRON 8gb card and followed the ZIF adapter mods, plugged it up and the X41 doesn't see it. Got a regular 40gig drive coming but this is bugging me. Do I need to format the card in order for windows setup to see it?

_________________
T60, T60p, T60wide, R60 (x2), R61, X60s, X60t, X41, z60t, and 7 Chromebooks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 5:06 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Saanich B.C. Canada
A later version of Windows is very desirable - especially v7 - for compatibility with websites (can run MSIE9), better compatibility mode(s), and better security.

Whether or not an x41 has the horsepower to run v7 is a question, an x40 being even less so of course.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 6:57 am
Posts: 4
Location: Magnitogorsk, Russia
I successfully installed the SATA SSD OCZ 32GB - OCZSSD1-1ONX32G in the native SATA mode.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: WARNING!!!???
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
been following this for some time, wishing to do this mod.

this pic looked to have more detail, so i d/l it, then it crashed the SD I had saved it to, while requiring a reboot of the system.

I am glad this x41 has no HD, yet so the CD re-boot to Linux Mint was an easy save.

Perhaps an opr can check it for an imbedded virus.

thanks for all the input, folks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:00 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Mesa, AZ
I've just got an SSD going in my X41 as well. Using a 128gb Lenovo/Samsung SSD they have for the T410 et al.

Partno: MMCRE28G8MXP-0VB

Ebay for about $110
Was able to reflash the firmware on the drive to support TRIM and did a fresh install of Win 7. Everything seems to be working, though the graphics driver was tricky. There is no Win7 driver, but by futzing with it I somehow managed to get the Win2k driver to work.

Not quite as clean as some others I've seen, but it works:
Image

Edit: CrystalDiskMark results
Image

--Dan


Last edited by houlster on Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
houlster,

Could you please share details on where did you get a TRIM-enabled firmware for this drive and how did you remove SATA-PATA bridge chip?
Do you have a X41 or X41t?

Thanks,
-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:00 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Mesa, AZ
albertr wrote:
houlster,

Could you please share details on where did you get a TRIM-enabled firmware for this drive and how did you remove SATA-PATA bridge chip?
Do you have a X41 or X41t?


For enabling TRIM, this thread here, specifically, the post by Blue_Frog on 02-08-2011 04:20 PM
TRIM firmware for the 128 GB Samsung SSD??

Quote:
Ok everyone, here is how to flash for those that cannot be done with hotplug, as the serial number is always read correctly.

THIS REQUIRES THAT HOTPLUGGING YOUR DRIVE DOES NOT CAUSE YOUR MACHINE TO REBOOT!

Ok, let me repeat, if you boot your machine from USB with your SSD out of the machine and plug in your hard drive and your machine does an automatic reboot, do not proceed, you will brick your drive until you get another machine to fix this. If your machine does not automatically reboot when plugging in the SSD at a DOS prompt, then you can proceed.

1. Boot to your usb with the drive in the laptop. (all other drives out and Compatibility set in bios)
2. Run maindiag.exe, you will see the model/serial/firmware populated. (this is ok this time)
3. Choose Initialize Firmware (2) then Main Firmware (1), then (Q) to quit. (These steps will fail and that is ok, you just mismatched your drive and confused it which is what we want)
4. Attempt reboot - your machine should not boot, not even from the thumb drive. You will get a LOCK symbol in the upper left asking for a password. If you get this, fantastic, that is what you want! Do not try to type passwords there to unlock it, I don't know how many attempts you get until it locks up.
5. Turn off laptop and pull SSD hard drive out of laptop.
6. Reboot to USB drive (with no hard drive installed)
7. After you get to DOS prompt, hotplug in your SSD hard drive.
8. Run maindiag (model/serial/firmware will be blank this time) and choose (2), (1), (4), (Q)
9. Reboot to USB with SSD drive in and run maindiag, should see model/serial/firmware populated correctly. (VBM19C1Q)
10. Power off, change bios back to AHCI, restore system


Some notes:
- The X41 doesn't have an 'AHCI' option in the BIOS. You can skip that part.
- I didn't physically remove / attach the drive where that's required. I just pulled one of the power wires for the drive out so it wasn't powered, and plugged it back in when needed.
- Other than that, it worked just has he describes in the post.

The firmware:
I am not sure what firmware the SSD had on it. What I put on that supported trim is 'VBM19C1Q'. From that same thread, the post by 'JayBeeCZech' on 02-09-2012 10:18 PM has a link to a zip file with the firmware and the USB boot utility.
Quote:


You create a bootable USB stick using the util, then add the firmware files & 'maindiag.exe' to the USB afterwards. Again, it went pretty smoothly.

That got the drive to support TRIM. From there, I just googled and followed one of the many links to turning TRIM on in win7.


Removing the PATA bridge was a mess. I do not have the proper tools at all. My X41 was almost disposable, so I gave it a go. Soldering iron doesn't work. Heating the chip directly did not work for me either. I tried cutting the pins, but after a few swipes, things get mashed together and it's tough to see if it's even working.

After I thoroughly fu'd my mobo up, I ripped the chip off forcibly after cutting through all the pins as best I could. Started prying with a screw driver and it came off in pieces. Figured I had nothing to loose. Surprisingly, after getting the chip out of the way, i could pretty easily remove legs and center piece of the chip pretty easily with an iron and thing's cleaned up fairly well. I would *not* recommend this method, but somehow it worked for me.

Mine is an x41. non-tablet. the case is noticibly narrower on the side where the wires have to connect to the drive. I took an mSATA cable and cut it down entirely to just the small piece of connector that goes into the drive and the pins. I bent the pins into a 'U' shape to reverse them and there was just enough room to clear the side of the case. Can kinda see it here:

Image

I also had to trim 1 corner of the SSD case to clear a screw boss in the case. Not a big deal. It did not go into the board inside the SSD, just the case.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1083 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group