thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
Hello, I have been searching for the FHD panel offered as an upgrade on the t510/w510 model laptops.
From searching around it seems the Lenovo part number is 42T0765, and it appears they use the AUO B156HW01 V4 for this part. The real problem it seems, it is not just the increased resolution (1366x768 => 1920x1080) that I am looking to accomplish but also the 95% color gamut and increased 270nit (cd/m2?) brightness. Every single shop I have found to stock either model/part number, either ships a "compatible" replacement, or does not have it in stock. I have gone as far ask emailing ones who stock compatible versions and asking if they can order or point me in the right direction, with no success. Also asked several ebay sellers, including expanding my search to ask sellers in hongkong and the UK (even ones listing "EXACT" next to the model name.. again, no luck. So here I am, hopefully someone will be able to tell me where I can find one. Thanks guys

P.S. I have also considered the compatible replacements, but half the time the sellers refuse to even say which compatible replacement I will receive, and the other half do not have technical specifics on the panels (or a model I can research on my own) so there is no way I can find a compatible replacement with the specs (or better) that I'm looking to upgrade to. Also any suggestions outside the OEM Lenovo upgrade are also welcome.

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
How about this seller? Ask them if it's an AUO B156HW01 V4
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-AU-OPTRONICS-15 ... 3f069cd1f7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
That -is- the UK based seller I mentioned in my initial post. You see what I'm going through? =) I appreciate the help


Quote:
From: magiclag
To: bumblesale
Subject: Details about the item: magiclag sent a message about New A1 grade 15.6" B156HW01 V.4 (EXACT) FHD LED Screen #280527131839
Sent Date: 28-Feb-11 17:29:30 GMT

Dear bumblesale,

Hello, I am trying to find an exact lcd, not a compatible replacement. I'm looking to upgrade my Lenovo T510 from it's existing led 1366x768 panel to the Lenovo upgrade option ( B156HW01 v4 / 1920x1080 / 270nit / 95% rgb color gamut ) (Lenovo part: 42T0765 ). I have searched over 10 dealers and websites, and no one seems to have this exact panel -- only a compatible replacement (or they are out of stock). It is the enhanced color/contrast as well as increased resolution that I am interested in, not just resolution (reason it must be this exact panel and not a compatible replacement). I noticed your auction ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0527131839 ) mentions "exact" in the title, and I'm wanting to verify if this is the exact panel I'm looking for? Thank you very much for your time, and I apologize in advance for the lengthy message.
- Ryan T.

- magiclag

Quote:
From: bumblesale
To: magiclag
Subject: Re: Details about item: magiclag sent a message about New A1 grade 15.6" B156HW01 V.4 (EXACT) FHD LED Screen #280527131839
Sent Date: Mar-01-11 01:05:27 PST

Dear magiclag,

Hello

We do not have that exact part number in stock and the only way you can upgrade the screen, is to change the video cable and either the system board or mother board. We will not sell if we know its for an upgrade as we have had too many returns.

Kind Regards
Tracy

- bumblesale

Quote:
From: magiclag
To: bumblesale
Subject: Re: Details about the item: magiclag sent a message about New A1 grade 15.6" B156HW01 V.4 (EXACT) FHD LED Screen #280527131839
Sent Date: 01-Mar-11 15:20:13 GMT

Dear bumblesale,

I'm assuming you mean to upgrade from a regular CCFL screen to a LED screen? I currently have a LED LCD in my laptop, so I should not have to change anything but the led-lcd panel itself. Assuming the part was correct, I don't see any reason it would not work, this is a upgrade option when building the laptop, with the same hardware config. my laptop currently has, so compatibility should not be an issue (I should be able to use the LED inverter from my current panel). You do not have the part in stock but you have an auction for it? I'm not sure I understand.. Can you get these screens? Thanks

- magiclag

Quote:
Re: Details about item: magiclag sent a message about New A1 grade 15.6" B156HW01 V.4 (EXACT) FHD LED Screen #280527131839
To: magiclag
From: bumblesale
Sent: Mar-01-11 07:29 AM

Dear magiclag,
Hello

I am afraid we are unable to help you as we do not have the screen you need and not sure if we will be getting any more in.

Kind Regards
Tracy
- bumblesale

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
I just ordered one. The seller confirmed it is an AU Optronics B156HW01 V.4.
http://cgi.ebay.com/AUO-B156HW01-V-4-15 ... 3a6326ad12


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
I don't understand why I have such bad luck. I asked that same seller about an auction that claimed to be the B156HW01 V.4 not too long ago, and he replied telling me it was a compatible model, not the exact one. Have you received the panel yet? Can you verify that it is the exact model? I'll try asking him again, maybe there was some kind of misunderstanding? Sometimes I think maybe I'm being -too- specific? Maybe non-native english speakers get confused and say no because they think I'm asking for something beyond the exact screen model. I'll try to be more clear, but you telling me the screen is the right model would be a big relief. I appreciate the help. Thanks (and I hope the panel you get is the one we both want =)

P.S. Wow I just noticed the one you bought from him is the exact auction I asked about too.

Quote:
Re: Details about item: magiclag sent a message about AUO B156HW01 V.4 15.6" LED WUXGA SCREEN FOR LENOVO W510 #250771582226
To: magiclag

From: e-city2008
Sent: Mar-01-11 06:42 PM
Dear magiclag,

Dear friend,
Thanks for your message. Very sorry our item will compatible with the B156HW01 V.4, it is not exact B156HW01 V.4, very sorry for that.If you have any question, pls feel free to tell us.
Thanks and best regards

- e-city2008

Quote:
From: magiclag
To: e-city2008
Subject: 有關物品的細節: magiclag 就 AUO B156HW01 V.4 15.6" LED WUXGA SCREEN FOR LENOVO W510,編號為250771582226 的物品寄出訊息
Sent Date: 2011-03-01 01小時21分33秒

e-city2008,您好!

Hello, I am looking for an exact model, not a compatible replacement. Can you please verify that the (AUO B156HW01 v.4)(http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... p:en#rpdId) is infact the exact model, and not a "compatible" version. It is not just the resolution that I am looking to accomplish, but also the enhanced color/contrast/brightness that comes with the B156HW01 v4 (95% color gamut, 270nit/cdm2...etc). Thank you

- magiclag

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Quote:
e-city2008,您好!

Is this an actual AUO B156HW01 V.4 or is it a compatible LCD? Is there a label on the back from the AU Optronics manufacturer stating it is an AUO B156HW01 V.4? Is there a Lenovo FRU# on the back sticker as well?


Quote:
Dear friend,
Thanks for your message. Yes, it is B156HW01 V.4, not compatible one.The FRU number is 42T0765 .
If you have any question, pls feel free to tell us.
Thanks and best regards


I'll let you know, but I have to say with all this documentation this seller is going to have problems with EBay if this item is not what he claims it to be.

Edit: I sent another email to the seller pointing him to this thread for comment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:34 am
Posts: 2
Location: London, Canada
Awesome, I registered just last night and was about to make a post to see if anyone knew the model number of the 15.6" e-IPS 1080p panel Lenovo uses and here I find it a thread on it already.

I'm curious to know if the you receive the actual panel as well, I'm wanting to replace my 1600x900 TN panel with a better quality one.

_________________
Thinkpad T510 4314-2PU 15.6" 1600x900 (TN) Core i5 540M 4GB PC38500 (2x2GB) 500GB 7K2RPM Centrino 6200-N


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
TypeS wrote:
I'm wanting to replace my 1600x900 TN panel with a better quality one.

I am not aware of a 'better quality' WXGA+ panel. The ones we're discussing in this thread are WUXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:09 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
TypeS wrote:
15.6" e-IPS 1080p panel

I'm pretty sure the 15.6" FHD panel is TN.

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:34 am
Posts: 2
Location: London, Canada
Harryc wrote:
I am not aware of a 'better quality' WXGA+ panel. The ones we're discussing in this thread are WUXGA


Looking for a WUXGA upgrade, not a upgrade with the same resolution.

Colonel O'Neill wrote:
I'm pretty sure the 15.6" FHD panel is TN.


Well, point to an TN+Film panel that can achieve 95% of the colour gamut. It is one of the pitfalls of TN along with poor viewing angles. If you look on Lenovo's site when configuring a T510 or W510, the FHD makes note of the 95% colour gamut while the WXGA and WXGA+ don't. Also explains the difference of $20 from WXGA+ to WUXGA.

_________________
Thinkpad T510 4314-2PU 15.6" 1600x900 (TN) Core i5 540M 4GB PC38500 (2x2GB) 500GB 7K2RPM Centrino 6200-N


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
It means 95% of the NTSC gamut. And no documentation I've seen points to it being anything but TN.

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
As much as I wish there was a compatible 15.6" IPS, I have not found one. (or any superior to the one I have been looking for - B156HW01 V4)

You can use this database as a reference. I believe the V7 is used in the dell of similar specs, only real difference is the glossy screen -- Even if I could find this panel, I would seriously consider it, as it does not appear I will be able to find the Lenovo version. *Though it's not likely I will give up trying!*
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/articles/la ... _parts.htm

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Ry_an , here's an EBay message the seller sent me today. They certainly sound adamant about the LCD's authenticity, we'll see ...

Dear friend,
Thanks for your purchasing. Now we have confirmed our screen is same with your original screen, so we have shipped out today, this is the tracking number:xxxxxxxxxxxx it will take 12-18 business working days (not including Sat and Sun) to arrive you, Pls wait patiently If you have any question, pls feel free to tell us.
Thanks and best regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
I really hope it's the right one, for both of us. If you don't mind, keep me updated =)

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:09 am
Posts: 2
Location: London, UK
Hi guys,

I've been watching this forum for a while and am also a member on the 'Notebook reviews' forum. Thought it was about time I posted.

There is a really good screen supplier based in the UK who everyone is talking about at the moment on Notebook Reviews (I'm not sure what the ratio is on this forum of people from US/EU/ROW) but I know they ship worldwide and if any EU/UK members are looking for screens (genuine rare AUO screens in particular), I can confirm that you should speak to these guys and they are genuine and don't sell compatible/generic models. Their website is www.Kuzotronic.com

FYI, I was looking for the B156HW01 V4 screen for my wife's Dell XPS15 but it was a little more complicated than just buying the screen as I also needed to get hold of a full-HD cable as the standard one Dell fits won't display full-HD. These guys managed to source both for me and their customer service was awesome. I'm thinking of upgrading the screen in my Thinkpad T510 too, hence the reason I was checking to see what was popular on this forum.

Just thought it was worth a mention. Cheers guys and keep up the good work.

Steve, London UK


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
northerngift wrote:


I could be wrong, but it seems the domain to this site with a long history of great service was registered 20 days ago? Forgive my suspicion, but desperate customers seems to bring out the predatory scammers. Also, the paypal verified seal is nothing more than an image hosted on the domain, not the code provided by paypal that doubles as link to authenticate the domain/seller. Can anyone else attest to the credit of this site?

- I must admit the links to the LCD specifications via scribd is a nice touch. If this site is legit, it would make my day.
whois wrote:
Domain name: kuzotronic.com

Registrant Contact:
Kuzotronic
Lee Barlow ()

Fax:
Apartment 187 - VIE
185 Water Street
Manchester, Lancashire M3 4JU
GB

Name Servers:
ns1.bigcommerce.com
ns2.bigcommerce.com

Creation date: 01 Mar 2011 21:22:00
Expiration date: 01 Mar 2012 16:22:00

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:57 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
ry_an wrote:
I really hope it's the right one, for both of us. If you don't mind, keep me updated =)

Ryan, after installing this LCD I'd have to say it is the right one. It was stamped AUO on the metal frame and B156HW01 v4 on the back sticker. Visually it appears to have the right qualities. My recommendation is to go for it if the seller has any left.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:09 am
Posts: 2
Location: London, UK
ry_an,

I've been in conversation with Lee at Kuzotronic.com, as I was concerned after reading your post. Although my goods arrived safely and as described, I thought it would be worthwile to find out a bit more about this business.

He only started the site 3 weeks ago and was previously selling screens via PM/email at NotebookReview.com. This checks out...there are quite a lot of posts on there with satisfied customers. His profile name is 'barlow00' by the way if you want to check it out yourself. This is how I first got in touch with him incidentally.

It's a bedroom business that he has started with his wife and he's a bit of an HTML amateur (admitted by himself). He's using BigCommerce (shopping cart software) as i think he just wanted to have a real net presence rather than keep contacting people via the forum.

He seems really genuine and I am pretty certain the customer feedback on the site is genuine too....I recognise one of the names from the NotebookReview forum.

Anyway, I mentioned this forum but he wasn't aware of it so maybe he will join us soon. If you want to get in touch with him, his direct email address is lee <at> kuzotronic <dot> com (he responds really fast too, which I always like).

Hope this helps out?
Thanks
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:00 am
Posts: 2
Location: Manchester, UK
ry_an wrote:

I could be wrong, but it seems the domain to this site with a long history of great service was registered 20 days ago? Forgive my suspicion, but desperate customers seems to bring out the predatory scammers. Also, the paypal verified seal is nothing more than an image hosted on the domain, not the code provided by paypal that doubles as link to authenticate the domain/seller. Can anyone else attest to the credit of this site?

- I must admit the links to the LCD specifications via scribd is a nice touch. If this site is legit, it would make my day.

Domain name: kuzotronic.com

Registrant Contact:
Kuzotronic
Lee Barlow ()

Fax:
Apartment 187 - VIE
185 Water Street
Manchester, Lancashire M3 4JU
GB

Name Servers:
ns1.bigcommerce.com
ns2.bigcommerce.com

Creation date: 01 Mar 2011 21:22:00
Expiration date: 01 Mar 2012 16:22:00


Hi Ryan/Steve,

I notice I am causing a commotion...I do apologise for any confusion caused with regards the site.

As we have already discussed Steve, I only went live with the site on 13th, March (registering the name 2 weeks before this). Before this I supplied dozens of screens via Notebook Reviews (including yours).

This is a new business for me and I am a small fish in a pretty big pond. We are 100% genuine and I like to think we provide an extremely personal service and we have a lot of happy customers.

If you want to have a chat, feel free to say hi on Skype (username: kuzotronic) or email me (lee <at> kuzotronic <dot> com)

Please note: This is not a commercial posting, I am purely responding to the (justified) concerns of some members.

Thanks and hopefully speak to you all soon.
Lee


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: mamaroneck, ny
Excellent news. I'm glad to hear it, and I appreciate you two taking the time to vet the legitimacy of kuzotronic.com for us. As far as I am concerned, I'm sold -- If I do order the AUO B156HW01 V4, I see no reason it shouldn't be from kuzotronic.

On a related matter ( and another question for any of you guys who may know the answer? ) the only reason there is now an "if" as to my need for the lcd... For several weeks now I have been using my T510 as a workstation, closed display output over displayport to my u2410. While I most definitely still want the upgrade for when i'm on the train between my home and work (every month or so), there is now a question if I want to grab a W520 to replace my T510. Now here is the question..
On the custom order of the Thinkpad W520 I have noticed the upgrade options for the lcd include a FHD 1920x1080 panel, but it makes absolutely no mention of additional specs, only the resolution. What I'm wondering is, have they dropped the AUO B156HW01 V.4? Are they using another panel as a replacement? Or have they just failed to include the additional specs? -- If the B156HW01 V4 is no longer included, does anyone know what panel they are using in it's place? --- Thanks again.

_________________
secondary workstation: r400 ( c2d p8600, 4gb ddr3, 500gb 7200rpm ) win7pro
primary workstation: t510 ( i5 520m, 8gb mushkin ddr3, 120gb vertex 2, 1366x768 lcd ) ubuntu 10.10 DP => u2410


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:00 am
Posts: 2
Location: Manchester, UK
ry_an wrote:
Excellent news. I'm glad to hear it, and I appreciate you two taking the time to vet the legitimacy of kuzotronic.com for us. As far as I am concerned, I'm sold -- If I do order the AUO B156HW01 V4, I see no reason it shouldn't be from kuzotronic.

On a related matter ( and another question for any of you guys who may know the answer? ) the only reason there is now an "if" as to my need for the lcd... For several weeks now I have been using my T510 as a workstation, closed display output over displayport to my u2410. While I most definitely still want the upgrade for when i'm on the train between my home and work (every month or so), there is now a question if I want to grab a W520 to replace my T510. Now here is the question..
On the custom order of the Thinkpad W520 I have noticed the upgrade options for the lcd include a FHD 1920x1080 panel, but it makes absolutely no mention of additional specs, only the resolution. What I'm wondering is, have they dropped the AUO B156HW01 V.4? Are they using another panel as a replacement? Or have they just failed to include the additional specs? -- If the B156HW01 V4 is no longer included, does anyone know what panel they are using in it's place? --- Thanks again.


I can't comment on this....but I have heard through the grapevine that AUO have stopped manufacturing the B156HW01 V4 screen, so maybe production has switched to a more readily available model???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 9:17 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Hello-

I have several questions about replacing the lcd panel on my T510 if y'all would be so kind. If the answer to the first question is "no," ignore the remaining questions.

1. I would be upgrading from the 1366x768 screen. Would it be possible to upgrade from this screen?

2. I see you tracked down a panel on ebay from the UK. The seller does not currently have any of those panels for sale. I have identified this auction from a different seller:

http://bit.ly/khGxx2

What specific questions should I ask this seller to ensure that the panel is authentic?

3. How difficult is it to perform the replacement? I've changed motherboards, hard drives, disk drives on laptops in the past, but never lcd screens.

Thanks!

David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 5:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
ibsprocket wrote:
1. I would be upgrading from the 1366x768 screen. Would it be possible to upgrade from this screen?
Yes, no problem upgrading to an HD+ or an FHD LCD.

Quote:
2. I see you tracked down a panel on ebay from the UK. The seller does not currently have any of those panels for sale. I have identified this auction from a different seller:

http://bit.ly/khGxx2

What specific questions should I ask this seller to ensure that the panel is authentic?
Forget about that seller. Their comment "We may ship a 100% compatible part." is a dead give-away that you will not get a genuine Lenovo FRU.

Quote:
3. How difficult is it to perform the replacement? I've changed motherboards, hard drives, disk drives on laptops in the past, but never lcd screens.

On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the most difficult laptop repair, I'd give it an 8. Very simple once you know how to do it, but it does take a bit of finesse to do correctly. If you follow the Hardware Maintenance Manual that is a step in the right direction.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 7:19 pm 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Posts: 3410
Location: United States
ibsprocket wrote:
3. How difficult is it to perform the replacement? I've changed motherboards, hard drives, disk drives on laptops in the past, but never lcd screens.

as long as you know how to properly use small tools, it's not that difficult.   just follow the videos: http://www.lenovoservicetraining.com/io ... index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 9:17 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Update -

I bought an FHD screen on ebay:

http://bit.ly/me5piM

Seller was great! Sent it Fedex Express from Taiwan. Arrived in 6 days, and that included a weekend. Stamped AUO on metal frame, sticker on back confirms part number.

Installation was a breeze. Took about 10 minutes. Screen looks amazing. Awesome upgrade for the money!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:12 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Athens, OH
ibsprocket wrote:
Update -

I bought an FHD screen on ebay:

http://bit.ly/me5piM

Seller was great! Sent it Fedex Express from Taiwan. Arrived in 6 days, and that included a weekend. Stamped AUO on metal frame, sticker on back confirms part number.

Installation was a breeze. Took about 10 minutes. Screen looks amazing. Awesome upgrade for the money!

Apologies on necro-ing this thread, but I recently picked up a broken T510 that I'm working on fixing up, and I need a new screen for it. When you replaced your screen, did you need to replace any cables or the inverter board, or JUST the LCD panel?

I'm going to go with the same buyer/panel you bought, since it's what I need for a god price.

_________________
Feedback Thread from NoteBookReview.com's Marketplace: http://forum.notebookreview.com/marketp ... ost8229603


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
The T510 and W510 uses the same inverters and cables for the original, HD+, and the FHD panels.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:12 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Athens, OH
Indeed they do!

Got my panel in the mail, ordered from the same eBay seller that ibsprocket used. Installed with zero problems, took around 30 min, same cable connections. It is quite the display! Very bright, very vivid, great color and clarity. I'd put it better than the panel in my unibody MBP.

_________________
Feedback Thread from NoteBookReview.com's Marketplace: http://forum.notebookreview.com/marketp ... ost8229603


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:07 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:44 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Dinuba CA
So it was worth it? Is there some where else I can get that type of screen for less money? Is it a matte finish or glossy?

_________________
_________________
Lenovo Thinkpad W510

Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Intel i7 720QM @ 1.60 Ghz
16.00 GB DDR3 RAM
750 GB 7200 RPM HD Seagate Momentus XT 8GB SSD NAND
Nvidia FX 880m 1GB GDDR3
15.6 inch 1920x1080 HD LED
CD-RW/DVD-RW Multiburner


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Stamford, CT
Sorry for the repetitive question, but everyone here is alluding to the T510.

Will this panel also work for the T520?

I have a screamer... i7 sandy bridge 4 core with 8GB of ram but the screen resolution is subpar to say the least.

Can I use this panel as well in the T520, plug and voila?

Thanks in advance for your assistance here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group