thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: W520 turbo boost issue?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 1:28 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 118
Hi all,

I am playing around with my new machine and wanted to see that the cpu clocks up to 3.4GHz.

I am using prime95 and set the affinity to core1 and core2.
Then I am using Argus Monitor to see the CPU clocks.

All 4 cores are clocked continuously to 3.1 GHz, but the overall CPU utilization is 25%.
The task manager shows core1 and 2 100% and the rest pretty low.

So whats the conclusion here?
For me it seems that turbo boost does not work. I have never seen any clock above 3.2GHz yet.

Any other thoughts here?

Wolfgang

_________________
W520, 2820QM, Full HD, 16GB RAM, Intel S320 300GBytes, Windows 7 64 Enterprise


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 3:03 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 375
Location: Canton, MI
Which CPU did you get?
Did you see the expected behavior with your W510?

_________________
Current Thinkpads:
X31 (PM-1.4), X40 (PM-1.2 LV), X60s (CD-1.66 L2400), X61 (C2D-2.0 T7300), X201 (i7-620M), W520 (i7-2720QM, 2000M, FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ, FHD)
Dells: Latitude XPi, Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, Precision M6500 (WUXGA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 5:49 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 118
Ok, sorry, there is no issue. I tied the task manager and the Argus Monitor also to the first core.
After that I saw the expected 3.4GHz (i7 - 2820QM)

It seems that the slightest utilization on any other core will clock the CPU down.

Overall I am really happy with the performance. That beast is so much faster than my W510, its hard to believe.
My J2EE application starts now in 20 seconds instead of 32 seconds.

Wolfgang

_________________
W520, 2820QM, Full HD, 16GB RAM, Intel S320 300GBytes, Windows 7 64 Enterprise


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 4:09 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:00 pm
Posts: 233
Quote:
It seems that the slightest utilization on any other core will clock the CPU down.


And that, ladies and gentlemen, is the one problem with Turbo Boost.
Windows isn't advanced enough to use it properly- it can't park cores so other cores run faster.

_________________
W520 (i7-2720M, Quadro 1000M), T41, 600E
Just say no to the ThinkBook Pro.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:49 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
freakwave wrote:
Ok, sorry, there is no issue. I tied the task manager and the Argus Monitor also to the first core.
After that I saw the expected 3.4GHz (i7 - 2820QM)
...
Wolfgang


Exactly how did you tie those processes to the first core?

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
W520 4276-2QU i7-2720QM quad core, 4GBx1, FHD(1920x1080), NVIDIA Quadro 2000M, 500GB-7200, 6205WiFi, 720pCamera, Bluetooth, vPro, 57++9cell, 27++9cellSlice, Win7Pro64
IBM R50 WinXP for backup.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 4:29 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 118
You can simply open the task manager, right click on the process and set the affinity.

_________________
W520, 2820QM, Full HD, 16GB RAM, Intel S320 300GBytes, Windows 7 64 Enterprise


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 10:56 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
There's some Core Parking threshold tweaks in the registry that you can use to prevent it from reactivating the other cores too easily.

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 8:00 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Kingston, RI
The CPU tab of Resource Monitor is telling me right now that all the odd-numbered "CPUs" are parked. This is with hyper-threading enabled. Is it actually parking cores or just not hyperthreading? (i7-2820QM, Windows 7 Pro x64)

_________________
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 11:55 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 118
ok, another issue or feature:

Should the processor, when plugged in, always be clocked @2.3Ghz? Its nominal clock?
I understand there are sleep modes, but howto disable then.

I tried "deeper sleep" off in the power manager, but that has no effect.
My cpu clock is always between 800MHz and 3.4GHz.

Wolfgang

_________________
W520, 2820QM, Full HD, 16GB RAM, Intel S320 300GBytes, Windows 7 64 Enterprise


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 2:25 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 375
Location: Canton, MI
As a point of reference, my Thinkpad X201 with Core i7-620M (2.66 GHz base, turbo speeds 3.06/3.33 GHz) rarely runs below 1.33 GHz when idle even on 'max battery' setting (based on CPU-Z reading). It does go to 3.33 with 'always on'.

_________________
Current Thinkpads:
X31 (PM-1.4), X40 (PM-1.2 LV), X60s (CD-1.66 L2400), X61 (C2D-2.0 T7300), X201 (i7-620M), W520 (i7-2720QM, 2000M, FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ, FHD)
Dells: Latitude XPi, Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, Precision M6500 (WUXGA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 11:24 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:25 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Portland, OR
FYI: the latest firmware 1.25 disables turbo boost completely. Reverting to 1.06 restores turbo boost functionality.

Went through most of yesterday wondering why my machine was dog slow never going above 2.2 ghz, and a quick Google search revealed the answer. Oh well, so much for rigorous testing before release....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 9:11 am
Posts: 16
Location: Palmer, MA
Looks like TurboBoost can be enabled on battery for version 1.06 of the BIOS if you start the computer plugged in, put it into Sleep mode, then unplug the laptop and resume your session.

_________________
ThinkPad W520
Core i7 2720QM | 120GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS | (2x2GB) 1333MHz DDR3 RAM | 1600x900 Display | Quadro 1000M | Win 7 Pro | ThinkPad b/g/n | 3 Yr Depot Warranty
ThinkPads and SSDs Part 1: Preparation
ThinkPads and SSDs Part 2: Hard Drive Swapping and Windows 7 Installation


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: richk and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group