thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:48 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 3:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 5
Location: Battle Creek, MI
if my new Thinkpad comes with an SSD, does TRIM automatically activate in Windows 7?
For example, if my thinkpad comes preinstalled with Windows 7 Home Premium and I later want to install Windows 7 Professional using the commercial DVD, can I just install Professional with the DVD and TRIM will activate because I have an SSD. Or do I need to activate it manually?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 5:12 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 11:56 pm
Posts: 1134
Location: Central VA
welcome to the forum.

i believe it depends entirely upon whether the ssd supports TRIM, natively. example, i've got win7pro64sp1 installed on my x301 that has a 128gb samsung oem'ed ssd, which uses a proprietary 'garbage collection' routine rather than TRIM. none of the benchmark reporting tools show TRIM as being enabled.

hth.

_________________
Current: X220 / T61p / T60p / X301 / X200T / Yoga 2 Pro
Support: T510 / T420 / T400 / R400 / T61 / T43 / Yoga 13
Hall of Fame: A31p ----- Retired: X61t / T42 / T30 / T22 / 600X / 380XD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 5
Location: Battle Creek, MI
how do I discover if TRIM is enabled or not?

The SSD I have is intel M-G2 and it natively support TRIM.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 8:22 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 6:07 am
Posts: 474
Location: Norway
Your SSD support trim. You can run the following command in command prompt to check if trim commands are enabled or not: "fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify".

DisableDeleteNotify = 1 (Windows TRIM commands are disabled)
DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)

That doesn't necessarily mean that trim is active and working, but show you if enabled or not in Windows. Also you have to use AHCI and not compatibility mode which is a setting in BIOS. You also need drivers that support trim, but both the Microsoft AHCI driver (included with Windows) and the Intel RST support trim. Some older versions of RST did not support trim, but i assume you use 10.x or newer if you use the Intel RST drivers and then trim is supported.

So if you follow these steps and everything is ok then trim is working, but there are no place in Windows where you can check if trim is actually active and working as far as i know. You can also download and install Intel SSD toolbox to run trim manually. Intel SSD toolbox will also change some settings (with your permission) in Windows that Intel recommend to change when using a SSD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 8:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 5
Location: Battle Creek, MI
what are "INTEL RST drivers"? since Windows has AHCI driver natively I don't need RST right? or do i need both?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 2:20 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
RST = Rapid Storage Technology

Basically the difference... it's like any other driver, windows has included versions for a lot of devices, generally better to switch/upgrade to manufacturer drivers, the windows drivers are only current upto the release of the DVD, or when Microsoft gets around to updating them on windows update... the manufacturers drivers are as recent as you can expect and may provide bug fixes or speed improvements.

You don't need both as they do the same job, just one may work better then the other, newer is not always 100% of the time better, just most of the time :P

_________________
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:11 am
Posts: 2
Location: Kampala, Uganda
Thanks for the clarity, ozzymund.

_________________
USB flash drive
Pet insurance


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group