thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:14 am
Posts: 1
Location: Cockeysville, MD
I'm a little disappointed by the performance of the Nvidia 1000M, it works but frame rates are a little low. Is it possible to upgrade to the 2000M, is it worth it?

Bernie


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
Dunno 'bout upgrades, but if you really get stuck, there's always the ViDock solution. Black box, housing an external video card of your choice, which plugs into the laptop via the ExpressCard slot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:49 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
Maybe the newer NVidia drivers will offer a performance increase?

Then there's always overclocking. :wink:

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 10:22 pm
Posts: 11
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Out of curiosity, what applications are resulting in this subpar performance? Also, gaming or CAD programs? I may be getting a w520 for 3d CAD programs such as Rhino, 3DS Max, etc and want to know it can run these smoothly..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:51 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 90
Location: Prague, Czech rep.
you can't. It is soldered in to the motherboard, and not replaceable.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group