thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:20 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:29 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Atlanta, GA
I worked the whole day trying to make this kingspec pata ssd work on my old T43. But my T43 just doesn't recognize it, when sliding into the PATA slot. In bios->startup->boot HHD0 has no information ( when the old disk plugged in, it shows the disk name.). The SSD should be a good one since if I connect it to a IDE->USB adapter, my desktop can recognize it. Someone said the controller of this SSD is not good. By the way, I updated the bios to 1.29, still didn't work.

Has anyone successfully put a PATA SSD in your T43? Any input is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:49 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12382
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Welcome to the forum!

Is the drive properly positioned in the caddy, facing down, secured with all four screws and HD cover,?

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:29 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Atlanta, GA
I think so. I even took out the caddy and just plugged the ssd into the slot. I felt the pins of ssd was well contacted with the holes on the laptop.

When I was in the bios, the blank for HHD0 had nothing there. It's quite possible that the contact was sort of loose.

I just contacted the seller. and the seller contacted the manufacturer. It's said that T43 might have two versions of motherboard chip. One supports ssd the other doesn't. However, this is just a guess. they are not sure either.

What Can I do? My purpose of doing this is to gain some speed because my laptop has a 5400RPM hard disk which is 6 years old. Would a PATA 7200RPM hard disk give the similar performance as this SSD?

How about this one?
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-2-5-Hitachi-60G ... 3362d66a80


thanks a lot!

ajkula66 wrote:
Welcome to the forum!

Is the drive properly positioned in the caddy, facing down, secured with all four screws and HD cover,?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12382
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
You either have a bad connection or a bad SSD.

Any T43 will support a SSD, even machines much older than it have no problems with them...

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:29 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Atlanta, GA
I don't know where the bad connection could be.

Bad ssd? not likely since it can be recognized when I put it into a hard disk enclosure.

ajkula66 wrote:
You either have a bad connection or a bad SSD.

Any T43 will support a SSD, even machines much older than it have no problems with them...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:58 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2342
Location: near RTP, NC
Quote:
Bad ssd? not likely since it can be recognized when I put it into a hard disk enclosure.


That doesn't rule out a bad SSD. I have a 2 GB DoC SSD that absolutely refuses to work in an external enclosure but works just great when plugged directly in. The fun part about flaky hardware is that it can basically be black magic as to why/how it fails... :roll:

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:43 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12382
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
The "bad connection" I was referring to is most likely between the drive itself and machine.

If you're not seeing a "2010 error" on boot, the machine is not recognizing the drive, which may be caused by one of three reasons:

a) Drive not inserted properly/fully.

b) Drive defective.

c) Soutbridge chip on the board failing - but this would prevent the machine from recognizing *any* drive, not just the SSD.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:29 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Atlanta, GA
a) is most likely. Let me give another try and report back.

thanks

ajkula66 wrote:
The "bad connection" I was referring to is most likely between the drive itself and machine.

If you're not seeing a "2010 error" on boot, the machine is not recognizing the drive, which may be caused by one of three reasons:

a) Drive not inserted properly/fully.

b) Drive defective.

c) Soutbridge chip on the board failing - but this would prevent the machine from recognizing *any* drive, not just the SSD.

Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:50 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 144
Location: Heckmondwike
i have a similar problem with my T43. Not using an SSD though, just an ordinary 'IBM approved' drive. Some HDD will work fine, others have to be propped up so that a connection is made with the interface. Of course with an HDD you can hear it spin up, an SSD as we all know is trickier.

_________________
TP 380Z (2635-JGU), TP 240 (2609-21G), TP 240X (2609-62G), TP X61t (7762-B6G), TP 770 (9548-30U), TP770ED (9549-5AU), TP 770X (9549-720), TP 701C (2630-TF4), TP Z61P (0674-KSG), TP 750 (9545), Transnote (2675)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Does anyone have any experience reloading the IBM recovery disc set FRESH onto the Kingspec SSD in T43?

I do have the 2010 error passage saying my HDD is not approved by IBM and may have compatibility issues. But the BIOS recognizes the SSD.

However, after loading the whole set of recovery discs, total 8, after reboot and continue, I got a message saying it cannot recovery the system and stopped, giving no error code or hint of what might be wrong. I had loaded these things 2 to 3 times already, nothing changed.

My questions are
1. Do I have to format the drive first? It doesn't seem that's necessary as that should have been accounted for. Or it should have tell me during the process.
2. Is there a way to see what is in the SSD?
3. I am hitting a wall, any suggestion to work around this?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:40 pm
Posts: 827
Location: Howell, New Jersey
Have you tried switching the mode in bios config from Compatibility to ACHI (or from ACHI to Compatibility)?

I found this about a blue screen when booting a new install of windows, and although it is not the same situation, maybe it applies to your recovery?

"If you load win in compatibility mode it will run with out any sata drivers. Is the performance drastically effected? not sure. There is usually no reason to keep a sata drive running in compat mode though, that is more for diag or legacy type systems or older IDE drives. If you find that you installed xp for example in compat mode then you will need to download your sata drivers and install them then reboot your system. When you reboot you will need to switch your mode back to "AHCI" or you will get the BSOD. I just wanted to make sure you know you dont have to reload your system if you have this problem. Just update the drivers and then change the mode in the bios to "AHCI" then your good to go. I did this on a test machine just to verify before posting.

The moral of this story is "dont load your os in compatiblity mode". Just get your drivers when you do your initial install of xp or use nlite as suggested. The following is straight out of the support doc for the sata drivers:

NOTES A Blue Screen error will come up on the Windows preload when these models boot with "Compatible" mode instead of "AHCI" that is modified from the BIOS Setup/ Config/Serial SATA menu. This is caused by an absence of a compatible driver on the Windows preload. Stay "AHCI" mode when you boot Windows preload
.

_________________
emtee3511
X200-7459-BW3(AFFS-Glossy) + X61-7674-Y23 + X61s-7666-3EU
+ X60s-1702-CTO
+ X100e-3508-CTO + T410i-2516-73U
+ T410-2537-N71+ T410-2537-FP9
+ W510-4391-C52(FHD-Glossy)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:23 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12382
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
T43 and prior PATA-driven models do not have AHCI/Compatibility setting in BIOS.

My guess is that OP has a bad disk in his/hers recovery set.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:40 pm
Posts: 827
Location: Howell, New Jersey
oops :oops:

_________________
emtee3511
X200-7459-BW3(AFFS-Glossy) + X61-7674-Y23 + X61s-7666-3EU
+ X60s-1702-CTO
+ X100e-3508-CTO + T410i-2516-73U
+ T410-2537-N71+ T410-2537-FP9
+ W510-4391-C52(FHD-Glossy)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
No wonder I couldn't find the Compatibility/AHCI mode in my BIOS. Thanks ajikee!

IBM for some reason sent me multiple sets of discs. I hope you are right. I will try a different set and hope the sets are from different batch.

Thanks to both of you!

BTW, how do I check for bad disc? May be pop it into a different machine and see if it reads. But that's all I can do. If the files contain error, I have no way of knowing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:11 am
Posts: 1
Location: Bogatynia, POLAND
kisas wrote:
I worked the whole day trying to make this kingspec pata ssd work on my old T43. But my T43 just doesn't recognize it, when sliding into the PATA slot. In bios->startup->boot HHD0 has no information ( when the old disk plugged in, it shows the disk name.). The SSD should be a good one since if I connect it to a IDE->USB adapter, my desktop can recognize it. Someone said the controller of this SSD is not good. By the way, I updated the bios to 1.29, still didn't work.

Has anyone successfully put a PATA SSD in your T43? Any input is appreciated.


Did you find a resolution of your problem ?
I try to put TRANSCEND 64GB SSD into my T41 with same resultat, BIOS does not recognized the SSD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:02 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I have the same problem with the Transcend 64GB IDE SSD in my X32. If I set the jumpers to Master or Slave, I get the 0200 Fixed Disk Error. If I leave the jumper off (cable select), I show no drive in the BIOS.

Funny thing is, I can boot using a Ubuntu 11.10 USB drive, and successfully installs to the 64GB drive. However, on reboot, it's gone (from a BIOS perspective.... which is usually pretty important :| ).

Most of the threads I read were related to IDE to CF adapters. However, I do not use one of those. I have the TS64GSSD25-M IDE drive. I'd love to hear the fix!

Thanks,
T.J.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 1796
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Folks:

The Transcend-PATA SSD "0200 disk error" seems related to a new (erroneous?) Transcend FW; see the thread T43 Installed Transcend SSD observations **PICTURE LINKS***... in particular this post.

The solution in the Transcend-case?? I am not sure; perhaps try to revert to an earlier Transcend-FW if possible/available? Ask user scr71822 for his advice/suggestions.

I have no idea about why the Kingspec does not work (but I recall having read many users' compalins about Kingspec SSD's...)

Johan

_________________
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:37 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 184
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
I once bought a used Kingspec SSD for my T40, to which I cloned the old HDD after having done a full reinstall first. Pretty much the same happened (in my case "no boot disk") but after much grief, I randomly decided to wipe the disk (with Active Killdisk, there are others), cloned it again and voila!, it worked.

Dunno if that would help in this case, but you never know...

Incidentally, I replaced the Kingspec with a Transcend when the Kingspec died on me, which actually did work right away.

_________________
T61 (8895-2FG) T8100/Intel X3100/SXGA+/Intel 320 SSD/4GB/Win7 x64 Pro
T400 (retired)
T40 (semi-retired)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
I gave up f...g around with it, spent close to a week on it all together. Tried everything, low level format, new recovery discs, etc. Returned the sh_t to China. Guess what? It costed me close to 40 bucks for Express International Mail, that's the ONLY way to have tracking period. My drive was the 120g version.

The dealer at first offered to split the shipping cost. But guess what, when I inquired about it, they sent me something short in chinese writing I guess. I don't know what it is, my computer can't display it, but it can't be good.

Lessons learned:
1. Don't buy from dealer overseas
2. Don't buy Kingspec. There were tell tale signs that company is not thorough. They just dumped the QC tag in there, things that need to be labeled, etc. they skipped it.
3. Don't buy products had been proprietized. I guess IBM deliberately locked out other HDDs, they want to limit people calling in for tech support. I can hear them saying, "It is a non approved drive, its your problem."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:38 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12382
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
gg4418 wrote:
I
3. Don't buy products had been proprietized. I guess IBM deliberately locked out other HDDs, they want to limit people calling in for tech support. I can hear them saying, "It is a non approved drive, its your problem."


While I understand your frustration, let's be clear about one thing here: so-called "non-approved" drives work in T43/p units. They throw an error and continue booting. You were dealing with a dud SSD and that issue has absolutely nothing to do with IBM...

This post was brought to you by a SATA-modded T43p running on a non-approved Crucial SSD... :twisted:

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:27 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1713
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
gg4418 wrote:
1. Don't buy from dealer overseas
I wouln't go so extreme, I agree that such a big distance is a risk and may be extra costs if you need to return a product. But I have bought several parts from Ebay (mostly Chinese seller), including ZIF hard drives and about 95% have been good deals.
gg4418 wrote:
2. Don't buy Kingspec
This I agree, but I also have to point out that a little search in this forum would have been useful. Feedback on those drives are "mixed", to put it positively :|
gg4418 wrote:
3. Don't buy products had been proprietized
I agree with Ajkula66 about the "non-approved" drives. I also have a non approved drive in my T43p, and my X41's are also using "non-approved" drives. In all cases the "non approved" work better than with the "approved" :D

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/4*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/7*X2xx/X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:11 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:38 pm
Posts: 191
Location: Waukegan, IL
I just updared my thread about the Transcend line of drives which share the msame controllers as the Kingspec. After a firmware update the drives never worked again and any subsequent updates didn't work either including the new 320 series PATA drive. After 4 returns I gave up and requested a SATA III SSD as replacement. The R&D team is really dropping the ball on the old PATA stuff, and I guess that is to be expected since it is a very small market for them compared to the SATA drives.

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:12 am
Posts: 8
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
I just bought one of these for the family T43p ! expected delivery today.. I had high hopes for a faster drive than the 6 - 7 year old hard drive that died, now I'm really thinking of just sending it back, is there anyone else out there successfully running a kingspec with their T43?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:17 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Posts: 770
Location: Tartu, Estonia
I bought a cheap Sunspeed PATA SSD just for the test from ebay and while it was recognized in Ultrabay adapter, my T42p did not see it. Problem was solved by adding a jumper to the drive in a Master position and it worked tight away.

Some drives need it, the Ultrabay adapter connector accepted the Master/Slave pins and made the adjustment, while T4x PATA connector leaves these pins loose (connector is not long enough).

_________________
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:12 am
Posts: 8
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Thanks for the tip raceboy, will grab a jumper.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:12 am
Posts: 8
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
RoryWW wrote:
Thanks for the tip raceboy, will grab a jumper.


Well add me to the kingspec fails, put drive into bay booted into bios and its not recognised, FWIW bios is on 1.24 and Embedded controller is on 1.04, I've tried to upgrade the bios (I dont have a running hard drive so no windows OS) and have tried windows on a hirens boot disk but keep getting a resource error message..

Is it worth carrying on with it or should I just give up and get a 1.8SSD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:12 am
Posts: 8
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Well I had so much fun with this drive this weekened, talk about a learning curve! turned out the laptop had the incorrect caddy so couldn't get a connection, then it wouldn't load from boot so ended up running a dban and full windows format, as far as I know these are all problems from the person in the chair (i.e. ME) the drive is looking very good and its loading windows fast.. but the system looks like it has other underlining issues...for another thread..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group