thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A31 boot issue
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:03 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 176
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Quick question: Will an A31 boot with no fan installed? Thanks, Keith

_________________
T40p- 60gb ssd, 2gb ram,2.0gHz Dothan, Win XPpro
X41t- 40gb hdd, 2gb ram, 1.6gHz, Android 4.0.3 ICS
L412- i3, 256gb SSD, 8gb ram, Win7 x64
760C - cmos battery code issues


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A31 boot issue
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Well, you're going to get a fan error, which can be bypassed by hitting the esc key. I wouldn't do it for very long (.e.g no longer than 15 seconds) but it can be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A31 boot issue
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:30 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 176
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Thanks Harry. I have an A31 that powers up ie. the 4 led lights illuminate for a few seconds and the they go out except for the one the looks like a canted Z in a circle. On this machine there is ram installed but no hdd or fan.. LCD does nothing.

_________________
T40p- 60gb ssd, 2gb ram,2.0gHz Dothan, Win XPpro
X41t- 40gb hdd, 2gb ram, 1.6gHz, Android 4.0.3 ICS
L412- i3, 256gb SSD, 8gb ram, Win7 x64
760C - cmos battery code issues


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A31 boot issue
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Does it beep if you remove the RAM? If not, it's time to go looking for a new systemboard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A31 boot issue
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 176
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
I'll check that. This machine has been apart in my parts bin for unknown reasons. I thought I would reassemble it and see why it was originally disassembled. I do know this machine had no audio when it was working. I am starting to weed out my incomplete/failed projects and this was first on my list. My interest in this is for a laptop that I could leave in my garage. Again, thanks

_________________
T40p- 60gb ssd, 2gb ram,2.0gHz Dothan, Win XPpro
X41t- 40gb hdd, 2gb ram, 1.6gHz, Android 4.0.3 ICS
L412- i3, 256gb SSD, 8gb ram, Win7 x64
760C - cmos battery code issues


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group