thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:27 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13254
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Bibin wrote:
I had applied this to my T43p, and then applied the SATA mod. Did anyone do the mod with the stock bios? I have a theory that the 2010 error would not show up in that situation but I can not test it myself unless there is an easy way to restore my original T43p bios.

I had a problem recently, trying to update the ECP from V2.04 to V3.04 on a T42.
Every time it just 'hung' halfway through. The BIOS was already at the latest with V3.23.
I then downgraded the BIOS with an older version (V3.20) that would still be compatible with the (new) ECP 3.04.
The BIOS program warns you that you put in an older version, but does so without any problem.
Once BIOS 3.20 was installed, ECP update to 3.04 functioned perfectly, and I then updated the BIOS 'back' up to 3.23

I'm sure the above will also work on other Thinkpad models.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:29 am
Posts: 1
Location: Singapore
hi guys..

wanted to ask how should i flash the bios without entering into windows but i manage to do it..

thanks allot :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 4:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Doesn't the T43 come with Windows XP? Does it have a SLIC 2.1 BIOS by default? If not, this BIOS mod allows you to pirate Windows 7 and very strange to see something like that on this forum.

_________________
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 6:04 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13254
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Nothing to do with piracy.
T43 BIOS doesn't have SLIC tables by default, you need external mods for that.
Having SLIC tables in your BIOS does not necessarily allow you to pirate W7 either...

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 7:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
T43 probably only has the SLP string for XP, putting in the SLIC 2.1 (especially the DELL ones listed, does indeed allow piracy VERY easily... just install the CD/DVD that has that manufacturers oem files in it that matches the SLIC and boom... it is pre activated.

Modding a BIOS with SLP & either SLIC 2.0(Vista) or SLIC 2.1(Win 7) has becomethe DEFACTO way to "crack" windows... hang out in the very place these mods come from mydigitallife.com forums.

Just modding the bits for the hard drive/wireless checks is all that is needed, adding the SLIC table is purely for piracy.

_________________
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 9:01 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12303
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Huh...if one *really* wants to go the piracy route, a modded BIOS with SLIC tables is really NOT needed...

Let's keep the discussion within the parameters of the original issue, otherwise I could see this thread getting locked before you could say "Vista"... :roll:

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: various FrankenPads


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 2:07 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Next time you try something like that, get a bootable CD, rather than updating from within Windows. Much saver!


I've just tried updating my bios using the iso image linked on the mdl forum burned to a CD-RW...

the BIOS programming utility got stuck at 'Erasing block FFFF0000' (after erasing and flashing many blocks successfully). Nothing happened.. it just froze!

I thought I'd bricked my T43 for sure...
so, I powered down and up again, and it seems to start Vista just fine. how do I know the flash was successful? I'm really afraid that I'm missing some less essential part of the bios !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 2:13 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: Europe
FrankL wrote:
I've just tried updating my bios using the iso image linked on the mdl forum burned to a CD-RW...

the BIOS programming utility got stuck at 'Erasing block FFFF0000' (after erasing and flashing many blocks successfully). Nothing happened.. it just froze!

I thought I'd bricked my T43 for sure...
so, I powered down and up again, and it seems to start Vista just fine. how do I know the flash was successful? I'm really afraid that I'm missing some less essential part of the bios !


Have you started the application by right click and selected 'Run as Administrator'? If not, do so.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 2:28 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
lukee wrote:
Have you started the application by right click and selected 'Run as Administrator'? If not, do so.


I've burned the ISO file, which contains a bootable CD image, to a CDRW and booted from it. The flash utility it contained produced the error (runs in DOS). There's no 'administrator' or 'Windows' involved


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 12:35 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: Europe
Hmm, it seems the modder changed format with the hacked BIOS from ROM+flash utility to ISO - I was flashing it inside Windows.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 3:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:55 am
Posts: 1
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
I spent a lot of time to solve 2010 error, but only this solution with modificated bios works. Thanks a lot. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:33 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 1589
Location: Durham, NC
I followed the instructions on this guy's blog, but I was unable to run the MFUI15 utility on the FWHD56 disc. I downloaded the FWHD50 disc, and the utility workd fine. Now my HTS721010G9AT00 is reported by XP's device manager as "0G9AT00___MCZIA5CA." This was a long time coming (no bleeding edge hacking req'd), and I'm glad to be able to use my biggest, fastest HDD (bought way back 5 years ago) as the system drive. Keeping the old one (and backups) around for a while juuuust in case.

_________________
2668-75U T43, 2GB RAM, 2nd hand NMB kybd, Dock II, spare Mini-Dock, and spare Port Replicators. Wacom BT tablet. Ultrabay 2nd HDD.
2672-KBU X32, 1.5GB RAM, 7200 rpm TravelStar HDD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:41 am
Posts: 5
Location: Viljandi, Estonia
I got a message that there is no cpu match, what i did wrong ? :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 3:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: ATHENS GREECE
Hi guys,

the download links there http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/5866-LENOVO-%28IBM%29-Bioses-especially-Thinkpad.?p=344779#post344779 don't work...

I try to get the "T43p-1YET65WW_SLIC2.1_no_1802_no_2010.iso" .

(...i have a T43 2668-4DU)

Any help?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:52 am
Posts: 2
Location: Novo mesto, Slovenia
Hi!

Links are down, so I would also be very happy if someone could share file. I bought usb wireless key instead wireless network card few years ago,...but now I can see solution is here!

I need:
- ThinkPad R52 (1858, 1859, 1860, 1861, 1862, 1863, 1958 Machine types only)
- ThinkPad T43 (1871, 1872, 1873, 1874, 1875, 1876 Machine types only)
Version: 1.29
Release Date: 2007/06/05
SLIC2.1 Lenovo TP7U

T43_R52-70ET69WW_SLIC2.1_no_1802_no_2010.iso

matej.jordan(at)gmail.com

Thank you very much!

Matej Jordan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:13 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: Europe
Hi Matej, try to contact TTaV134 member here or on the MDL forums to reupload the ISOs. I can provide permanent hosting for all these ISOs if neccessary.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:24 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:22 pm
Posts: 76
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Hello,

Please re-enable the download links, I really would like to get rid of that anoyng 2010 error, not for the error itself (I really don't care about the error message) but for the boot time it steals!!!!. My machine is a R52 1847. :help:

Best Regards

VonFeffer

_________________
You can´t change the past but you can create a better future if you change the present.

IBM
T41 2373-311 - 2GB Ram, 2Ghz
T43 2668-J29 - 2GB Ram, 2Ghz
T420 4178-ABP - 8GB Ram, i5 2520m
W510 - 16GB Ram, i7 720QM, SSD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:40 pm
Posts: 71
Location: Sydney, Australia
Hi,

<Edit>

Never mind, found them..

_________________
T61p: 15.4" WSXGA+, T7500, 8GB, FX570M, 500GB 7K750, BT, A/B/G/N, FP, Turbo Cache.
X41: 14" XGA, PM 1.6, 1.5GB, 60GB SSD, BT, A/B/G, FP.

Previously: R32, T42, T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:53 am
Posts: 1
Location: England
I've a T43 2668-F5G and a T43P 2668-PEG I've tried the bios fix on, both running Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit.

Both bioses appeared to go on without issue, and both appeared to have the 2010 issue resolved. Though with varying degrees of success.

It seems to have effected the ability to hotswap disks in the Ultrabay for both the T43 and T43P... I can roll back to the 1.29 official bios and pull the ultrabay in and out and have Windows 7 eject and pick up drives without issue... When I try the modified bios any ultrabay drives are successfully ejected, but not recognised when put back in (I found a [workaround] entering Disk Management and choosing 'Action > Rescan Disks' does have Windows 7 re-recognise the drives).

Following the Bios update on the T43 Windows functions without apparent issue, however on the T43P the Event Viewer System Log began to be flooded with error messages, and the T43P was struggling to launch anything. Rolling the Bios back to the official version fixed the problem (and the hard disk beeps during bootup resumed... sigh).

Not sure if it's related but the T43 now has event viewer message 'Warnings' that can probably be ignored related to 'The embedded controller (EC) returned data when none was requested. The BIOS might be trying to access the EC without synchronizing the operating system'

I've decided I will leave the modified BIOS on the T43, but live with the warning on the T43P running the official BIOS. Weirdly the T43P does not have the two beeps as part of the hard disk 2010 warning (it never has) but I suspect this may be that the speaker for the beeps has malfunctioned, though audio on the laptop is fine through the speakers otherwise?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:16 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 183
Location: Houghton MI
Anyone have a current link for T43p type 2668-N15?

_________________
770ED *sold*
A21m 2628-ERU *OK*
A22p 2629-PFU *OK*
A30p 2653-65U *sold*
A31 2653-CU3 *sold*
A31 2652-M6U *sold*
A31p 2653-R8U *needs new screen*
X24 2662-MWU *OK*
X41t 1866-5GU *OK*
T43p 2668-N15 *OK*
T61 6465-CTO *workhorse*


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:57 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13254
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
ThinkPad T43p (2668-N15)
Based on 2668-P1U: P M 750(1.86GHz), 2GB RAM, 100GB 7200rpm HD, 14.1in 1400x1050 LCD, 128MB ATI FireGL V3200, CDRW/DVD, Intel 802.11bg wireless, Bluetooth/Modem, 1Gb Ethernet, UltraNav, Secure chip, 9c Li-Ion batt, WinXP Pro

Drivers etc: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/researc ... MIGR-58597

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:41 am
Posts: 8
Location: A Coruña, Spain
Hi,

I find another links here:

http://handheld.vn/threads/204363-H%C6% ... M-thinkpad

_________________
T43p 2668-H1U
T43p 2668-H2U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle, WA
I recently purchased a T43p IBM Thinkpad that had the annoying "2010 Error" message. I tried a number of things, including purchasing another Western Digital harddrive, but to no avail. I finally got the courage to download the utility application (T43-SLIC2.1_7U) and I installed it. Worked like a charm and no more "2010 Error" message. I can't be happier with the result and I would like to encourage anyone with the same problem to use this utility application.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Just noticed this thread, annoying error after the years finally has gone :bow: Thank you!

_________________
T30(14" XGA, 12V car powered, still alive), A31p(UXGA IPS, secondary HDD and battery, some PC Card add-ons, alive), R50p(UXGA IPS, dead after massive tea spitting), T43(IPS SXGA+, GPU desolder), T43p(UXGA IPS, dock, almost maxed out), T60(SXGA+ IPS) + second T60 IPS+dock and some mods


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:37 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Boothwyn, PA
Hi everyone I have a lenovo x60 tablet (model 6363AE9) and just recently installed a modded bios that did not have the wireless whitelist removed (7JET30WW/1.15, 11/20/08). I need the whitelist removed in order to use my new broadcom crystal hd bcm70015 in the second pci slot instead of the sierra wireless mc5720 mini pci card. I went to a whitelst removal form, they said i need the hardware ids for both, but i cannot find them, so this is my last hope! :bow:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:14 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13254
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
flacer wrote:
Hi everyone I have a lenovo x60 tablet (model 6363AE9) and just recently installed a modded bios that did not have the wireless whitelist removed (7JET30WW/1.15, 11/20/08). I need the whitelist removed in order to use my new broadcom crystal hd bcm70015 in the second pci slot instead of the sierra wireless mc5720 mini pci card. I went to a whitelst removal form, they said i need the hardware ids for both, but i cannot find them, so this is my last hope! :bow:

- Wrong forum
- Unrelated thread
- Double posting

Please stick to one thread in the X6x forum!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:40 am
Posts: 1
Location: Roswell, GA
I know this is an old post BUT I just got a T43 with a bad drive. I thought it would be an easy upgrade until I found out about the 2010 error. I am somewhat computer literate (or so I thought), but not nearly as much as you people. Can someone please post step by step instructions relating to:

What drive (brand/type) I can use (like to have 250 GB if possible)
Where and how to download the bios mod
How to load it onto the T43

I would think that I need to buy and install the new drive, download the new bios to another PC and transfer through jump drive, but that is about all I know. FWIW - I have never made any type modification to a bios.

Thanks for your help. Sorry for being stupid!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:05 am
Posts: 4
Location: Shenyang, China
I currently have BIOS 1.29 and EC 1.06 in my R52 and other than the annoying beeps everything seems to work well.

I downloaded R52-T43-76UJ29US_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zip but before I mess with it I have a question: Does this BIOS do anything to improve performance or does it just enable the computer to boot normally?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:20 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: Europe
Modded BIOS bypasses the HDD check routine so the 2x beep and delay is removed.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:05 am
Posts: 4
Location: Shenyang, China
lukee wrote:
Modded BIOS bypasses the HDD check routine so the 2x beep and delay is removed.


1. Would it harm my computer in any way if I keep the current bios and live with the beeps and delay?

2. If I decide to flash, is it as simple as unzipping, clicking WinPhlash.exe, and then following on-screen directions?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group