thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:00 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
I recently put a Hybrid SSD in my SL410. It gave me a little increase in performance, although I am looking for more. Which SSD, around 250GB, would be a good one to put in the SL410 that would give it a significant boost in performance? Also, if I put in an SSD, will I have a "TRIM" issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Intel 320, has Trim support. You really need one that large? Open your wallet.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820167056


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:00 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Thank you. Wow!.....I may have to stick with what I have. This one cost more than the SL410 cost me. I have a 500GB Hybrid now, and I'll need at least 250GB if I get an SSD. I'll have to probably wait until the price comes down. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:00 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Harryc wrote:
Intel 320, has Trim support. You really need one that large? Open your wallet.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820167056

Can you help me with some answers about Trim Support? If I purchase the item you listed, you said it has Trim Support. I am running Win 7 Pro 64 bit, and this article says that Win 7 has the Trim command enabled by default:

http://www.intel.com/support/ssdc/hpssd ... 031846.htm

Once I install the drive, what does this mean? What do I have to do to enable Trim? Thanks so much.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:49 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 4180
Location: Minnesota
There certainly are some other large drives that are less expensive than the 320, though they probably don't have the cache that Intel drives. I have Agility 2/Vertex 2 drives in all my PCs as boot drives and have never had a problem with any of them. Given your need for a lot of storage, the XT is probably a good choice for the time being. Windows 7 supports TRIM natively. I don't think you need to do anything.

_________________
Latitude 14


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:00 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Thank you very much. I'll have to decide whether I want to part with the $$ for the drive. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group