thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I have a Thinkpad E420
I can't play OpenGL games and programs with the AMD 6630M because it only detects I have an Intel card.
I have selected the program and changed it to high performance in the switchable graphics menu.

How to fix? Is it a driver problem?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:59 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 976
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~
E420 with 'sw graphics"??? humnnn..

Check your DRIVERS are correctly installed from LENOVO; I have a E420 (USA MODEL) which i cannt find a SW GRAPHICS card !!!

_________________
Work: [b]None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
ausmike wrote:
E420 with 'sw graphics"??? humnnn..

Check your DRIVERS are correctly installed from LENOVO; I have a E420 (USA MODEL) which i cannt find a SW GRAPHICS card !!!


What do you mean you "can't find a Switchable graphics card".
There is 2 graphics cards on the E420 (the model with discrete graphics); The Intel 3000 (bad) and the AMD 6630M (good).
Switchable graphics means you switch between them depending on what your doing (the Intel card saves more power).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Anyone know how to fix this problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Anyone????


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Anyone at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:38 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
It's a driver problem. Lenovo is the only source of a fix via release of new switchable graphics drivers. I'll post the issue on the tech forum there at forums.lenovo.com and see what happens. If anyone responds I'll post back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Harryc wrote:
It's a driver problem. Lenovo is the only source of a fix via release of new switchable graphics drivers. I'll post the issue on the tech forum there at forums.lenovo.com and see what happens. If anyone responds I'll post back.


Can you post the link to your topic at the Lenovo Forums?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:33 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Anno8 wrote:
Can you post the link to your topic at the Lenovo Forums?

No I cannot. It's a hidden section of the web forum there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Any news?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:45 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
One of the Lenovo employees said they'd look into it. No reply yet. Have patience young Skywalker ;).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Ok


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:30 am
Posts: 9
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Any reply?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group