thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 12:00 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Toronto, Canada
As the title says I can't get the internal LCD on my T61 lappy with SXGA+ (1450x1024) to work in 10.6. It's when OSX is loading at the Grey screen with the spinning circle, once it goes to switch to the desktop it blacks out the internal LCD. So I have to use the External.
I installed 10.6.3 and everything was detected including the X3100 graphics with QE enabled too. X3100, Athero's card, Bluetooth, all worked OOB (minus the audio). The only way I can get a picture is using the VGA out to an external 17" LCD which works great.
I have tried "Graphics Mode"="1024x768....& 1450x1024 etc... tried different refresh rates @50, @60...etc.. I have googled around and come up empty handed, I tried every apple key combo to try and switch monitors or detect. I'm totally stumped now, especially since the X3100 works great on the external LCD with QE. Any ideas???


Last edited by dave343 on Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:42 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5319
Location: Israel
Do you get picture on the internal LCD during boot / at BIOS?

Is the LCD backlight on but no image?

Or is there a (dark) image, but no backlight? If that's the case, you should be able to see the image if you illuminate the screen with a flashlight.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Toronto, Canada
Sorry, I should have add, yes, the internal LCD works great in Windows, BIOS, etc... It's when OSX is loading at the Grey screen with the spinning circle, once it goes to switch to the desktop it blacks out the internal LCD. So I have to use the External. It would seem like a refresh rate issue..possibly? but I've tried all different refresh rates, resolutions, boot flags...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:53 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5319
Location: Israel
FWIW, SXGA+ is 1440x1050, not 1450x1024 or anything else... Have you tried this exact number in graphics mode?

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Toronto, Canada
No, but thank's for pointing that out, my bad. I will try that resolution. It does seem like a resolution/refresh rate problem, but I did try 1024x768x32... and I thought for sure that would have worked. Could it also be a buffer problem within the Intel drivers, something I need to edit in there?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Toronto, Canada
FIXED! Seems like after installing Chimera Bootloader from MultiBeast, and then going to the Lion Installer, it now works on the Internal LCD!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:26 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1498
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
Interesting conundrum :)

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group