thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
hi, hope I can get this resolved quickly, need laptop for a trip.
did a clean XP Pro install. Downloaded all drivers, but when I try to install the driver for the ethernet controller, select the correct folder, next, I get
'the hardware was not installed because the wizard cannot find the necessary software'

can anyone shed some light on this? I have the correct driver pkg....used IBM's update tool to download.
my only web access for this unit is through a cardbus at the moment.

any help greatly appreciated


Last edited by T43pSSD on Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:49 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12701
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Two quick questions...

a) Full 7-character model number ?

b) When you open the BIOS page, is there a MAC address ?

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
thanks for the reply, George

model# R40 2682LAU BIOS 1.27 (Phoenix First Bios Pro version 2.0) date 6/29/06

Yes, bios page shows a MAC address.

Internal Network devices are enabled

Device Mgr shows network adapters are working, the only question mark is the ethernet controller.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
:wink:


Last edited by T43pSSD on Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:20 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12701
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Well, I'd be willing to bet that if you were to plug the cable in R40's LAN port, you'd find it working...

Here's what's causing the confusion:

ThinkPad R40 (2682-LAU)
P4-M 2.2GHz, 256MB RAM, 40GB HDD, 15.0 SXGA+(1400x1050)TFT LCD, 32MB ATI RADEON 7500, 16x10x24x/8x CDRW/DVD, 802.11a/b Wireless(MPCI), Modem(CDC), Ethernet(LOM), IEEE 1394, Secure Chip(TCPA), Li-Ion battery, WinXP Pro

That is an Atheros-chipped wireless card, and unlike other wireless cards that identify themselves as "network controllers" this brand claims that it's an "Ethernet controller"...

The correct driver for that card would be this one:

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloa ... MIGR-67214

After the download, you should go into C>Drivers>Win>Wlanath and run the setup file from there.

Let us know if this worked for you.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
wow, you are a genius, my friend, that did it! Hard to imagine that IBM directs one to the wrong driver.
THANKS SO MUCH!

Do you think this would work for another R40 w/Vista, by any chance?
I'll try and see, but that one doesn't matter so much.

very grateful to you, George, cheers!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:31 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12701
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
There are no drivers for Vista when it comes to R40, since it's not supported.

That being said, some can be tweaked...

What's the 7-character model number of that R40 and which are the missing drivers?

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
it's R40, 2724XX4. The Intel Pro/100 VE Network connection shows working in device mgr, but in network connections, it says a cable is unplugged. I know the cable is good.
This used to work, then at some point I had the problem in XP as well. Changed to Vista and the issue persists. I can use either a wireless or wired cardbus, it's not a major thing....am just very curious why this stopped functioning.


Last edited by T43pSSD on Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:54 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12701
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
That's pretty much as beastly as these babies came...

ThinkPad R40 (2724-XX4)
Based on 2723-DU1: P M 1.5GHz, 1GB RAM, 40GB HDD, 15 SXGA+(1400x1050) TFT LCD, 32MB ATI Radeon 7500, 24x10x24x/8x CD-RW/DVD, 802.11b wireless(MPCI), Modem(CDC), Ethernet(LOM), Secure Chip(TCPA), IEEE 1394, 8 cell battery, WinXP Pro


Let me throw in this suggestion...download and burn a "live" CD (ISO file format) from here:

http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=67

Boot from it with the LAN cable plugged in and check whether you have connection, then report back and we'll take it from there...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
OK, I had a Lucid Lynx live CD and tried it. Booting w/LAN plugged in, no connection.
Switch cable to cardbus- connected, no problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:27 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12701
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
I'd presume that the LAN port itself is damaged, or disconnected...that's the best I have.

You may want to look over all the pins with a magnifying glass, and open up the machine to try and trace any unsoldered bits, but that's pretty much a hunt for a needle in the haystack...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
thanks, when I replace the bios battery I'll check it out.

thanks so much for the help, George.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:54 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12701
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
You're very welcome - happy to help when I can.

Do yourself a favour and replace the CMOS/BIOS battery with the "proper" one for R40, since theirs is different from most other ThinkPads as far as I can recall...reverse polarity or something like that, it's been a while, but I remember it's not exactly the same as A3x or T4x...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group