thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:46 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:03 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Mielec, Poland
Hello. I've finally upgraded my 770x to PIII 500mhz.

But... The computer can no longer boot from CD. I don't have any idea how to make it doing this. I've been using HEX Editor and I have disabled 64MB Ram and 127 error.

The second problem is that the CPU temperature is 67 degrees. Is it normal? The Power Leap can't switch on the cooling.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto, Canada
Regarding booting from CD, there were similar reports from some others who ran into problems booting from CD after performing the CPU upgrade:
viewtopic.php?p=13052#p13052

However, my impression was that after applying the BIOS fix to remove the 127 error on boot, most people were then also able to boot from CD.

Are you sure that you have the CD in your Startup boot sequence in your BIOS settings still?

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:23 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Mielec, Poland
I'm really stupid.... The CD drive wasn't pressed to the end. It boots now.

But... what with temperature? now it shows on Everest program 53 but I don't believe it. The desk under the computer is warm.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:22 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 144
Location: Heckmondwike
i'm afraid it will get warm assuming you are using the original heatsink and fan. I seem to recall other having worse problems, ie shutting down etc. Your temperatures sound quite normal. If you spend afew days, (like i did!!!) reading all the posts for the 770 and 600 series, you will see all the problems that have been caused by cpu upgrades. I have just bought a celeron 600 for my 770x, the reason being that it doesn't have speedstep. Will see what temperatures i get next week.
:)

_________________
TP 380Z (2635-JGU), TP 240 (2609-21G), TP 240X (2609-62G), TP X61t (7762-B6G), TP 770 (9548-30U), TP770ED (9549-5AU), TP 770X (9549-720), TP 701C (2630-TF4), TP Z61P (0674-KSG), TP 750 (9545), Transnote (2675)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:20 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Mielec, Poland
and do You still use Your thinkpad ? :) I thought that there is noone who use it nowadays. Let me now how is the temperature with celeron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:27 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 144
Location: Heckmondwike
finally managed to replace my PII 300 with a celeron PII 600 and all went well. Had previously installed WIN 2000 and the difference is most noticable using the internet. With Firefox 3.6 it is great, have Adobe Reader 6 installed and now that works without waiting 2 minutes for a page to open. If i ever find a PIII 850 MMC 2, i am sure i will give it a try.

_________________
TP 380Z (2635-JGU), TP 240 (2609-21G), TP 240X (2609-62G), TP X61t (7762-B6G), TP 770 (9548-30U), TP770ED (9549-5AU), TP 770X (9549-720), TP 701C (2630-TF4), TP Z61P (0674-KSG), TP 750 (9545), Transnote (2675)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:20 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13622
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Stop using the RAM-Hogging Adobe reader. Switch over to Foxit Reader, you'll never go back!
http://www.foxitsoftware.com/downloads/#reader

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:33 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 144
Location: Heckmondwike
will give it a try. :lol:

I have got 192mb of ram in my system (until the new stuff arrives) so need to save whatever ram i can.

_________________
TP 380Z (2635-JGU), TP 240 (2609-21G), TP 240X (2609-62G), TP X61t (7762-B6G), TP 770 (9548-30U), TP770ED (9549-5AU), TP 770X (9549-720), TP 701C (2630-TF4), TP Z61P (0674-KSG), TP 750 (9545), Transnote (2675)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: Paris, France
Hi guys,

I'm writting in this topic cause I recently bought a "brand new" thinkpad 770X equiped with the famous pentium II, 300Mhz. I'd like to upgrade it with something more accurate. Also, could you tell me if this http://www.leboncoin.fr/informatique/30 ... tm?ca=12_s or this http://www.leboncoin.fr/informatique/36 ... tm?ca=12_s could fit in the 770x ? What are the principal specs to verify beside FSB 66 MHz speed ? Thanks a lot

Vincent


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:30 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 144
Location: Heckmondwike
unfortunately, that type of processor is not compatible with the OLD 770X. You will need an MMC 2 type processor. These are available up to 400mhz in pentium 2, or 850 mhz in pentium 3( very rare) If you choose pentium 3 then there are problems with onboard cache compatibilty and you have to disable it in the bios
All of this has been talked about before and is now a 'sticky' on the LEGACY HARDWARE BOARD

_________________
TP 380Z (2635-JGU), TP 240 (2609-21G), TP 240X (2609-62G), TP X61t (7762-B6G), TP 770 (9548-30U), TP770ED (9549-5AU), TP 770X (9549-720), TP 701C (2630-TF4), TP Z61P (0674-KSG), TP 750 (9545), Transnote (2675)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group