thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:29 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:48 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Raleigh, NC
I have an x200 that I absolutely love, but has since kicked the bucket :( Everything is in great shape, it just won't power on anymore and I assume the mobo has died. Now, I could try to buy another x200 mobo to repair it, but if the chassis is compatible with the x201, I'd really like the upgrade to an i7 cpu. I'm looking at replacing it with the 63Y2067 or 63Y2066 motherboard with the i7-620m cpu (I can't really tell the difference between the two) for $400 on ebay.

Is this something that's pretty straightforward? Just pop one out and insert the other? The diagrams in the service manual look very similar, but still slightly off. I was curious if anyone has tried it or otherwise has first hand knowledge.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 3:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Paris, France
I haven't done this with x200/x201 but I did exactly same thing with x31 and x32 MB. It was pretty straightforward replacement. So if the chassis are the same then go for it. By the way there was no need to remove LCD in order to fit MB. And of cource you will need to do a fresh install of the OS.

_________________
X31, X32, T420,
Takumars 20/4.5, S-M-C 24/3.5, S-M-C 28/3.5, S-M-C 35/2, S-M-C 35/3.5, SMC 50/1.4, 55/1.8, S-M-C 85/1.8, 85/1.9, S-M-C 135/2.5


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:07 am
Posts: 7
http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo- ... ost7298706


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:48 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Raleigh, NC
Well, I completed the upgrade. The motherboard fit perfectly, although I think there are a couple less screw holes in the x201 mobo. I had to buy a new wifi card because the x200 wifi card wasn't on the x201 whitelist. I also found the perfect, new HV121WX4-120 IPS panel for it. The screen now looks absolutely beautiful. If only I could use the other mini PCIe slot for an SSD like you can with the x220, this would then be perfect. The only original parts left are just the frame of the laptop now :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:18 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 691
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Nice stuff. I was going to do the same thing, until i got to use my friend's X201 with the i5 CPU, it ran pretty hot under load.

_________________
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:28 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2364
Location: near RTP, NC
lead_org wrote:
Nice stuff. I was going to do the same thing, until i got to use my friend's X201 with the i5 CPU, it ran pretty hot under load.


Yeah, the first-gen mobile Core i chips are a bit power-hungry compared to Sandy Bridge. Too bad the X220's got a different planar design...

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X1 Carbon 3
Current workstation: none


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:01 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:24 pm
Posts: 273
Location: Monterey, CA.
Its mainly too bad x200 machines don't have any digitalvideo out.

_________________
Me - X61s w/ UL, Wife - Z61t, Dad - Z61t, Mom - T61 4:3
Lenovo service parts index: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=TPAD-FRU#x


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:04 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 691
Location: Melbourne, Australia
The x200 ultrabase has a displayport out.

_________________
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 17
Location: Sengkang, Singapore
Good feedback~ :D I thinks this is also applicable to x200s to x201s i7 board

I mean this one.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-LENOVO-X201 ... 20bc37cfa3

_________________
ThinkPad X301, Intel X-18M SSD 160G + Hitachi 500GB Z5K500 (bay mod), SU 9600, 8GB Elpida, Win-7 Ultimate x64
ThinkPad X61T, Intel X-25V SSD 40G, L7500, 3GB Win-7 Ultimate x86
ThinkPad X60, Kingston SSD 64G,T2100, 3GB Win-7 Ultimate x86


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:37 am
Posts: 2
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Hi there,

sorry for bumping such an old Thread, I just wanted to know if some kind of retrofitting is possible for the x200 Tablet (x200t)?

I allready found Mainboard 63Y2074 but the ports doesn't seem to fit in the basecovery (one USB to much no hole for it).

Is there something I can do about this, or is there another Mainboard with a faster CPU than the SU6900?

Thanks a lot.

Merry Christmas ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 7:11 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 16832
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Welcome to the forum.
AFAIK the 63Y2074 motherboard is from a regular non-tablet X201s.
The regular X200/X201 mobos do NOT fit in tablet chassis and v.v.
I suggest you download the X200/X201 and X200T/X201T manuals from the HMM link at the top of this page.
The X20x series have absolutely oodles of motherboards between them.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
And don't forget the Motherboards!
Refreshing is advised!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 12:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:37 am
Posts: 2
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Thank you for your fast reply, record speed during holidays :D

After looking in the manual for x201 and x200t I found the mainboard 63Y2086 which does not have the additional USB next to the VGA. Would this board fit into the housing?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:12 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 16832
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Like I said before, a tablet mobo will only fit in a tablet chassis and a non-tablet mobo will only fit in a non-tablet chassis.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dogeitrade, mvan, nitrocaster, theterminator93 and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited