thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:23 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:48 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Raleigh, NC
I have an x200 that I absolutely love, but has since kicked the bucket :( Everything is in great shape, it just won't power on anymore and I assume the mobo has died. Now, I could try to buy another x200 mobo to repair it, but if the chassis is compatible with the x201, I'd really like the upgrade to an i7 cpu. I'm looking at replacing it with the 63Y2067 or 63Y2066 motherboard with the i7-620m cpu (I can't really tell the difference between the two) for $400 on ebay.

Is this something that's pretty straightforward? Just pop one out and insert the other? The diagrams in the service manual look very similar, but still slightly off. I was curious if anyone has tried it or otherwise has first hand knowledge.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 3:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Paris, France
I haven't done this with x200/x201 but I did exactly same thing with x31 and x32 MB. It was pretty straightforward replacement. So if the chassis are the same then go for it. By the way there was no need to remove LCD in order to fit MB. And of cource you will need to do a fresh install of the OS.

_________________
X31, X32, T420,
Takumars 20/4.5, S-M-C 24/3.5, S-M-C 28/3.5, S-M-C 35/2, S-M-C 35/3.5, SMC 50/1.4, 55/1.8, S-M-C 85/1.8, 85/1.9, S-M-C 135/2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:07 am
Posts: 7
http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo- ... ost7298706


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:48 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Raleigh, NC
Well, I completed the upgrade. The motherboard fit perfectly, although I think there are a couple less screw holes in the x201 mobo. I had to buy a new wifi card because the x200 wifi card wasn't on the x201 whitelist. I also found the perfect, new HV121WX4-120 IPS panel for it. The screen now looks absolutely beautiful. If only I could use the other mini PCIe slot for an SSD like you can with the x220, this would then be perfect. The only original parts left are just the frame of the laptop now :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:18 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 583
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Nice stuff. I was going to do the same thing, until i got to use my friend's X201 with the i5 CPU, it ran pretty hot under load.

_________________
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:28 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2348
Location: near RTP, NC
lead_org wrote:
Nice stuff. I was going to do the same thing, until i got to use my friend's X201 with the i5 CPU, it ran pretty hot under load.


Yeah, the first-gen mobile Core i chips are a bit power-hungry compared to Sandy Bridge. Too bad the X220's got a different planar design...

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:01 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:24 pm
Posts: 273
Location: Monterey, CA.
Its mainly too bad x200 machines don't have any digitalvideo out.

_________________
Me - X61s w/ UL, Wife - Z61t, Dad - Z61t, Mom - T61 4:3
Lenovo service parts index: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=TPAD-FRU#x


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:04 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 583
Location: Melbourne, Australia
The x200 ultrabase has a displayport out.

_________________
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 17
Location: Sengkang, Singapore
Good feedback~ :D I thinks this is also applicable to x200s to x201s i7 board

I mean this one.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-LENOVO-X201 ... 20bc37cfa3

_________________
ThinkPad X301, Intel X-18M SSD 160G + Hitachi 500GB Z5K500 (bay mod), SU 9600, 8GB Elpida, Win-7 Ultimate x64
ThinkPad X61T, Intel X-25V SSD 40G, L7500, 3GB Win-7 Ultimate x86
ThinkPad X60, Kingston SSD 64G,T2100, 3GB Win-7 Ultimate x86


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group