thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:36 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Canada
I just won an auction for 2 X31 laptops (Can't be certain if they have the wifi cards still in them, they do have the Centrino logo on the palmrest, but they doesn't mean everything) and was wondering if the wifi card in my X40 could be put into the X31 motherboard.

It would more or less be to test and make sure it works as these computers are for work (at least atm, I might like them too much for that :P).

I also need batteries, but that's another topic :)

_________________
Thinkpad T410 - Core i5 M540 / 4GB / 160GB Intel 320 / Linux Mint 14 MATE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 9:30 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13393
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Any MiniPCI (not MiniPCIe) wifi card will work, provided the machine has antenna cables.
You'll see them (or not) when removing the wifi cover from the bottom.
If one or both has an 802.11B card, replace it/them with 802.11B/G, such as Intel 2200BG.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 9:35 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Canada
I have a feeling it will just be the Intel Wireless B card. According to the ThinkWiki, the only Intel card offered was B capable. I gather it would have to be an Intel card to get the Centrino badge.

Glad to hear any MiniPCI card will work. If it is the Intel card, I'll get the IBM A/B/G card if I can get my hands on them.

Thanks for the reply.

_________________
Thinkpad T410 - Core i5 M540 / 4GB / 160GB Intel 320 / Linux Mint 14 MATE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:20 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13393
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
If you use a non-IBM card, you may get the 1802 (unauthorized card) error.
This can be easily remedied by applying the NO-1802 BIOS hack.
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_w ... twork_card
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_w ... et_devices
Download the Live CD .ISO file from the second link, look for:
Code:
NOTICE: The Live CD Version 2 is released now. Download it via Rapidshare here. (~ 4 MB).
Download links appear to break regularly but will be fixed whenever necessity arises.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:29 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12443
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
X31 shipped with a variety of cards: Intel, Cisco, IBM-Atheros.

Centrino logo may indicate an Intel 2100B, but later machines had 2200BG as well as 2915ABG.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 7:39 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1511
Location: RTP, North Carolina
Just a further note, only the IBM Intel card will allow the Fn keys to turn on/turn off the wireless cards consistently. I have had 1 Regular Intel card work, but by and large, stick with the IBM cards to be fully compatible.

Just to confuse the issue further, the Atheros based cards have ALWAYS done a better job for me. RBS is partial to Intel and others like other brands. YMMV.
Any of the Intel cards will activate the Centinos which does give better battery life.

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Canada
The computers still haven't arrived. I have a feeling that if they do still have cards in them and they work, I'll just leave them be.

As long as I can connect to my WPA protected network, I'll be happy. Failing that, I will search for cards :)

Thanks for all the replies guys!

_________________
Thinkpad T410 - Core i5 M540 / 4GB / 160GB Intel 320 / Linux Mint 14 MATE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:59 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13393
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
jronald wrote:
RBS is partial to Intel and others like other brands. YMMV.

I'm not partial to any particular brand.
Only back in my T23 days I preferred Broadcom wifi cards, because they worked, were cheap and readily available.
Nowadays I use X6x and T6x machines, as it happens all with Intel wifi.
I only ever had one Atheros-based card, and was not impressed with it.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:22 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1511
Location: RTP, North Carolina
I stand corrected, somewhere in the back of my brain, I remember the Broadcom days also!

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 8:30 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Posts: 2908
Location: San Jose, CA
RealBlackStuff wrote:
...I only ever had one Atheros-based card, and was not impressed with it.

During the A3x/T2x time, I had quite a few Atheros cards. They were first with OFDM used in A and G. Then intel caught up. Today Atheros is part of Qualcomm. Founder of Atheros was a woman professor at Stanford. She went back to Stanford to teach.

_________________
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:55 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Canada
Computers came in the other day and they both have Intel Wireless B cards (uber slow lol)

They work however, support WPA and that so I may stick with them for a while. Depending on how it goes, might grab a G card later.

_________________
Thinkpad T410 - Core i5 M540 / 4GB / 160GB Intel 320 / Linux Mint 14 MATE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1511
Location: RTP, North Carolina
A couple of my secondary "not quite right" machines only have "B's" in them. My WAP RE-Under is a "B" only Access point.

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 8:09 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Posts: 1469
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Were there any official IBM b/g wifi cards based on Broadcom BCM4308 chip for X31 ? I bought a so called "IBM remarketed" wifi card based on it but there are no IBM stickers. It does not work at all. No beep, display stays turned off in POST. I guess this particular card is broken and I can ask for replacement.

Before I ask for another one I'd like to know whether the Broadcom BCM4308 based card could be an authorized IBM wifi card or the "IBM remarketed" claim is false anyway ? I don't want to take a risk of modifying BIOS to prevent the 1802 error.

_________________
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 8:41 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12443
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
No.

Broadcom wireless cards were never used in any ThinkPad of that era.

Return it and get an Intel or an Atheros-chipped IBM - the latter would be my preference.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:09 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Posts: 1469
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Would Intel 2200BG wifi card from R51 work ? It is not listed here http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Category:X31 (2100 only)

_________________
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:57 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12443
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Yes it will work just fine.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:28 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Posts: 1469
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
I was lucky to get Atheros based card part no: 91P7301

_________________
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:53 pm
Posts: 38
Location: West Dunbartonshire - Scotland - UK
Sorry to bring an old (ish) post back from the dead ladies and gents, BUT, i've just picked up a little X31 (2672) which has no wifi card in place, so i was wanting to know the best one to put in my new project.

ALSO

Any other upgrade info would be greatly appreciated. As it stands it has no power brick as yet but it has power in the battery so i know it is working.

Kind regards

Mac :mrgreen:

_________________
T61 (7661) Middleton BIOS - w14.1 WXGA+1440x900 LCD - Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T9500 @ 2.60GHz × 2 - 8GB RAM - Intel X3100 - Intel Ultimate N6300 - Samsung SSD 830 256GB - Ultrabay Samsung Spinpoint M8 HDD 1TB - DVD-Rec - 9cell in Green - Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64

X31 (2672N7G) Project


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 7:32 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1511
Location: RTP, North Carolina
Use the 1802 hack, and put any card you want in it.
Max out the Ram
Then add a 7200 rpm HDD and that is as good as it gets.
DO NOT attempt anything after XP from Microslough, it will run several flavors of Linux very well.

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:53 pm
Posts: 38
Location: West Dunbartonshire - Scotland - UK
Thanks, i want to put an SSD in it, that is possible right ?

_________________
T61 (7661) Middleton BIOS - w14.1 WXGA+1440x900 LCD - Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T9500 @ 2.60GHz × 2 - 8GB RAM - Intel X3100 - Intel Ultimate N6300 - Samsung SSD 830 256GB - Ultrabay Samsung Spinpoint M8 HDD 1TB - DVD-Rec - 9cell in Green - Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64

X31 (2672N7G) Project


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 7:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:53 pm
Posts: 38
Location: West Dunbartonshire - Scotland - UK
So i burned this ISO, http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_w ... et_devices

Is it the correct one ?

Waiting on a new power brick being delivered before i attempt the flash.

Kind regards

Mac

_________________
T61 (7661) Middleton BIOS - w14.1 WXGA+1440x900 LCD - Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T9500 @ 2.60GHz × 2 - 8GB RAM - Intel X3100 - Intel Ultimate N6300 - Samsung SSD 830 256GB - Ultrabay Samsung Spinpoint M8 HDD 1TB - DVD-Rec - 9cell in Green - Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64

X31 (2672N7G) Project


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2014 9:29 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1511
Location: RTP, North Carolina
SSD is possible but not really needed. A 7200 rpm HDD will make it fly.
And yes, that is the hack we mentioned.

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group