thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 3:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Paris, France
I want to install a camera on X220 which came without one. It has 2x2 antennas so this should not be a problem.

I saw some Lenovo camera kits on ebay but from the pictures it looks like they come without wires. Seller’s English was not clear enough to understand whether it comes with or without the cables. Anyone had experience with this? Thanks

_________________
X31, X32, T420,
Takumars 20/4.5, S-M-C 24/3.5, S-M-C 28/3.5, S-M-C 35/2, S-M-C 35/3.5, SMC 50/1.4, 55/1.8, S-M-C 85/1.8, 85/1.9, S-M-C 135/2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:52 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:39 am
Posts: 166
Location: Turin (Italy)
X32 wrote:
I want to install a camera on X220 which came without one. It has 2x2 antennas so this should not be a problem.

I saw some Lenovo camera kits on ebay but from the pictures it looks like they come without wires. Seller’s English was not clear enough to understand whether it comes with or without the cables. Anyone had experience with this? Thanks



I dont know the X220 but on the previous models the webcam is connected to the video flat cable, already present on the notebook.

Very likely is the same on the X220 too, just check the HMM to be sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:30 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Port Louis, MU
I did it on my other x220i recently, and yes it is a straightforward conversion for 2x2 antenna models; even if you have the 3x3 antenna wires, it is a breeze as you just have to remove the extra lead (unless you have a wifi card higher than the Intel 6205N) all across the screen cover to make room for the webcam. The screen cover is prewired for a webcam and all you need to do is snap the cam in place and plug it in and change the plate on the bezel. It really is a 15-minute job and at less than $30 a throw, is a good upgrade for the price.

_________________
X230 2320-HQU... i7-3520M | 16GB Vengeance | mSATA Atlas 120GB| 500GB 7200 | IPS | BT4.0 | FPR | USB 3.0 | 720p cam | 9C

What happens when ThinkPads die after years of loyal service, do they go to heaven?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 3:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Paris, France
Thanks! That was very useful.

_________________
X31, X32, T420,
Takumars 20/4.5, S-M-C 24/3.5, S-M-C 28/3.5, S-M-C 35/2, S-M-C 35/3.5, SMC 50/1.4, 55/1.8, S-M-C 85/1.8, 85/1.9, S-M-C 135/2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:11 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Hi, thank you for the tips. I have an x230 with the same 3x3 antenna problem. Assuming the fix is the same, I have a couple of questions:

1. what part do I use? I found several like this one: http://www.compusee.com/hd-camera-fru-04w2668/
but they have a few, so not sure which to get (also, none are as low as $30)

2. Do I actually remove the wires (i.e. disconnect one of the antennae) or just move them out of the way.

Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:11 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Los Angeles, CA
anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:11 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Bump


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:17 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Port Louis, MU
I would check for part numbers and any illustration in the x230 and x220 hardware maintenance manuals and compare whatever is comparable. The x230 is so new I am not sure many of us will have seen one yet, let alone taken one apart.

_________________
X230 2320-HQU... i7-3520M | 16GB Vengeance | mSATA Atlas 120GB| 500GB 7200 | IPS | BT4.0 | FPR | USB 3.0 | 720p cam | 9C

What happens when ThinkPads die after years of loyal service, do they go to heaven?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:11 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I found part numbers but I am not sure that I can get the camera in there with the 3x3 antenna. Cab it be done in an x220 with the 3x3? Do I have to disconnect a lead and just move the wire out of the way? Do i llose some connectivity?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:44 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Port Louis, MU
Well first of all I would check what wifi card it is. If it is a 3x3 then better leave well alone. If however you have a 6205N equivalent or any 802.11n card that only requires 2 antenna wires, then the extra wire round the display frame is just that - extraneous. See my earlier post from January. In the case of that x220, it had the extra wire which was not connected to anything in any case - I removed it off from the screen entirely, but more importantly you need to make room on top for the webcam. That x220 is working brilliantly well and my son has no issue webcamming etc and there is certainly no loss of range.

_________________
X230 2320-HQU... i7-3520M | 16GB Vengeance | mSATA Atlas 120GB| 500GB 7200 | IPS | BT4.0 | FPR | USB 3.0 | 720p cam | 9C

What happens when ThinkPads die after years of loyal service, do they go to heaven?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:11 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Los Angeles, CA
JPH wrote:
Well first of all I would check what wifi card it is. If it is a 3x3 then better leave well alone. If however you have a 6205N equivalent or any 802.11n card that only requires 2 antenna wires, then the extra wire round the display frame is just that - extraneous. See my earlier post from January. In the case of that x220, it had the extra wire which was not connected to anything in any case - I removed it off from the screen entirely, but more importantly you need to make room on top for the webcam. That x220 is working brilliantly well and my son has no issue webcamming etc and there is certainly no loss of range.


I ended up returning the x230 and since it was <30 days out, they reordered me a new one with the webcam built in. I suspect that the 3 wire wifi card I originally had would have made the webcam a deal-breaker. Now that I have the webcam and "lesser" antenna config, I am happy with both wifi signal still and with skype-ability.

Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:43 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:59 am
Posts: 64
Location: United Kingdom, Sheffield
Can't see any problem installing webcam with 3x3 antennas built in.
my X200 has 3x3 and 2x2 antennas and webcam easily.

_________________
24/7 in use : X200.AFFS-120.8GB.Vertex4.Intel6300.NMD.Ultrabase
others : X60 | T43p.UXGA.sata | 600e | X300
ex : Edge.11 | T60.UXGA.T9300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:44 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Port Louis, MU
With the x220, the third wire appeared to be in the way and the cam module would therefore not sit flat, if I remember correctly.

_________________
X230 2320-HQU... i7-3520M | 16GB Vengeance | mSATA Atlas 120GB| 500GB 7200 | IPS | BT4.0 | FPR | USB 3.0 | 720p cam | 9C

What happens when ThinkPads die after years of loyal service, do they go to heaven?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group