thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
I have a T60P (2007-YS3) with the SXGA LP150E05-A2K panel installed. I bought the HV150UX1-101 UXGA panel to replace it. The seller assured me that this panel would work no problem.
So I installed it today and no picture after I installed it. I put the old one back in and now it is not displaying correctly. There is a picture that looks strange and all the text is garbled unreadable.
I smelled electrical smell. WHat has happened? Is this panel supposed to work? What did I screw up on the computer?

This is the panel I bought off Ebay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/280770292021


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:18 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Posts: 1709
Location: Hockessin, Delaware
Actually you bought a generic replacement, not a real HV150UX1-101, that's why it says "compatible" on it.

The electrical smell indicates something was fried, hopefully just your inverter, but it sounds like this cheap generic panel shorted it out. I considered getting one of them myself, but when the seller couldn't/wouldn't tell me who manufactured it, I decided not to risk it.

My guess is the seller will probably cheerfully offer you a replacement screen, with no regard for the fact that you may have a fried inverter or perhaps even system board, but I hope you find some satisfaction in this somewhere.

Good luck.

Quote:
Edit: I may have spoke to soon, something looked familiar with that name and I believe that ebay seller is a member here. I'd contact him directly and see what he can do to help you.

If it's the person I think it is, those screens have been used by others without issue, so see what he can do for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
I think this is the real panel. It has Viewwiz on it and BOE. In his listing he means that the -101 is compatible with the -100.
I have bought panels from him in the past.

I'm just wondering what I did wrong?

Is garbled illegible text the symptoms of a fried inverter or something else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:32 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Garbled illegible text is a GPU gone south.

Agreed, a lot of people on this forum have bought screens from the aforementioned seller and gave him raving reviews.

No clue on what actually happened, but if you end up needing a replacement board, feel free to drop me a PM.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:51 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Posts: 770
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Quote:
Is garbled illegible text the symptoms of a fried inverter or something else?


Did you try it after that again with your old SXGA+ panel and/or external monitor? If the image is OK with previous panel, it's not system board failure.

_________________
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
When I put the new panel on there was no picture. I put the original panel back on and that is when I got the strange looking garbled text. There is still a picture but it doesn't look right.

What would be the symptoms of a bad inverter? I don't know if I should try to replace it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:49 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Bad inverter - b uzzing sound, no picture.

Bad cable - picture broken but clear, or no picture at all.

Garbled image is *always* GPU-related.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
ajkula66 wrote:
Bad inverter - b uzzing sound, no picture.

Bad cable - picture broken but clear, or no picture at all.

Garbled image is *always* GPU-related.

Good luck.


So I guess I just scrap it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:38 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13485
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
It might be the mobo, rather than the LCD!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
It doesn't make sense. It was working fine until I tried replacing the LCD screen. Why would that cause the GPU or the mobo to fry?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:36 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Something made a connection to another part that should've never been there. Short. Ground. Whatever. Pooof.

That's where the smell came from.

Once again, no clue on what actually happened - I wasn't there with you.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
Is there anyway to check the new lcd to see if it is bad?

Could a LCD cause the GPU or Mobo to get fried?

I guess I can sell this on Ebay as non-working but not sure about the new LCD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:57 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
A defective or incompatible LCD could blow a fuse on the board.

Try returning the LCD to the seller for a refund/replacement.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:36 am
Posts: 10
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Dear My friend..
Thanks for all members for help me to answer this problem ,I am sorry to late bcz just a chinese new year vacation now ..
For this problem no picture ..
1. the HV150UX1-101 is "real" not false ,so don't worry !!
2. member:ajkula66 have provide some rule to check lcd cable and inverter pls check them first ,the lcd already be used on many member's thinkpad machine and ialso retest it before i send it to you so i think the problem may be not on lcd ...
3. i can send a software for you to check to EDID workable on your T60p or not ,pls send your email to me
Finally don't worry ,i have very postive feeback on the forum and ebay and i am very firendly to help members to solve any problem regarding my goods also ,but help me to dobule check all test before return it ,thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
cgsplcd wrote:
Dear My friend..
Thanks for all members for help me to answer this problem ,I am sorry to late bcz just a chinese new year vacation now ..
For this problem no picture ..
1. the HV150UX1-101 is "real" not false ,so don't worry !!
2. member:ajkula66 have provide some rule to check lcd cable and inverter pls check them first ,the lcd already be used on many member's thinkpad machine and ialso retest it before i send it to you so i think the problem may be not on lcd ...
3. i can send a software for you to check to EDID workable on your T60p or not ,pls send your email to me
Finally don't worry ,i have very postive feeback on the forum and ebay and i am very firendly to help members to solve any problem regarding my goods also ,but help me to dobule check all test before return it ,thanks


Sent you PM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:33 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Stuff happens...

I just had IBM in my house with a *brand new* (likely NOS) Hydis panel which blew the board on my X61T.... :eek:

If you guys need any help sorting this one out, feel free to drop me a line...I probably have every and any T60/p part imaginable that one would require to properly troubleshoot the problem at hand...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
Im just afraid to try it on my other T60P and take the chance of burning it up too.
I really do not know how to check the LCD to see if it is bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:31 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Posting a link to the picture of what you referred to as "garbled LCD" with the old screen would help with some diagnostics, and then we can take it from there...

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
I'm not sure if you will be able to see if from these pictures. My camera does not take close shots.

Image

Image

Image


Last edited by jet757f on Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:07 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:58 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13485
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Please change those pictures to LINKS, they are way too big as per forum rules!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 7:45 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
I honestly can't make heads or tails from these shots. That said, it doesn't look like a "conventional" garbled screen, not from what I can see anyway...

Would love to see detail...I mean, you're looking into a planar swap if the GPU went south, or scrapping the machine altogether which includes the option of selling it for parts...can you borrow a decent camera somewhere?

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
I may just sell it on Ebay as is. I'm not sure what to do with the LCD since I don't know if it is good or bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:00 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
If you have a price in your head for the machine, feel free to PM it to me...

As for the LCD, I'm certain that the seller will work with you...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
When I uninstall the ATI 5250 drivers and the display goes to a lower resolution the text is fine.
As soon as I go back to the higher resolution the text gets garbled.

Is this a hardware problem or software problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:52 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
That's a GPU gone south.

I just don't understand why.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
Everything was fine with this computer until I installed the new LCD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:38 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12553
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Well, while I don't doubt your statement, a blown GPU is really difficult to fathom as a result of installing a defective LCD...that's why there are fuses on the motherboard, which would normally be the first thing to go...

Presuming the seller issues you a refund for the LCD, you shouldn't be in too much of a hole if you part the machine out. You could also pick up a replacement board and go back where you started from...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:37 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Posts: 1709
Location: Hockessin, Delaware
In most electrical circuits the fuse will protect from a short to ground, but with something as complex as a video output, if the screen was shorted across other pins (not ground), I could see it frying a board like this. Definitely not a common issue, but it's not without reason.

The good news is you can be pretty sure your original screen is still good, although I imagine if it was in really good shape, you never would have purchased the replacement.

ps. If you want to confirm it's a hardware problem you can boot from a linux liveCD environment. Assuming the distribution has the ati drivers, it should display the same errors, but the burning smell tells us it's hardware, you can't smell a damaged software file.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Huntingdon, UK
Whilst it will be of little consolation to you, I bought a -101 panel from that buyer on eBay and it installed fine on my T60 (albeit annoyingly there was a single stuck-on white pixel - an exchange was offered but in the end I decided it was too much trouble to swap).

Rocking screen if you want to try again once repaired.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:07 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Orange County CA
He has offered me a refund but it will cost me too much to ship it back to Taiwan. I'm not sure what to do with the screen or the laptop at this point. I wish there was an easy way for me to check the LCD to see if it is bad. It would be risky to try it in my good T60p.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group