thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:46 am
Posts: 46
Location: Wrocław, Poland
I have recently bought T60 equipped with 2 GB of RAM 60 GB HDD Core Duo 2400 on board and old XP OS? I would like to install W7 on my thinkpad but have some doubts as to the amount of RAM it is equipped with and will it be working better than XP?


Last edited by radiator on Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:40 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:52 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Canada
It will work. I ran it on my Thinkpads with only 2GB without problems. The 32-bit version uses about the same amount of RAM that my XP installation does with anti-virus and some of the Lenovo software loaded. On my x60s I thought it ran better than XP. For example it starts up and shuts down faster.

_________________
I'M DONE WITH THINKPADS, JUST DONE!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:18 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
T43p with 2GB of RAM works fine with W7, so the dual-core CPU in T60 will do even better job.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 2:04 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 2:03 am
Posts: 512
Location: The Lion's Den, New York City, NY
Hi, I have found that Windows 7 can function with as little as 512mb RAM when installed and configured correctly despite the 1GB minimum quoted by the Microsoft website here: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... quirements

Therefore 2GB of RAM is plenty on a T60 of any sort. Windows 7 will run beautifully and provide some cool "Aero" effects and other interesting features not found in XP: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... tures/aero and http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... s/features and http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... e?T1=tab20

All Windows 7 versions besides Home Premium (Professional, Ultimate or Enterprise) will allow you to run any Windows XP software you may have in "XP mode": http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... ws-xp-mode

Daniel,
the little YP in NYC.
"We had pizza in the Lion's Den :) "

_________________
240, 380Z, 390X, 570E, 600x, 701C("The ButterFly"), 770, A20...22,31, G40,41,
R32,40,50,51,52, R60,61, SL410/510,T20...23,30,40...43, T60p UXGA,T61,T400,
TransNote, X20..24,31,40,X41T,X60,61,X60/61T, Z61t, W500

No PM's please. MY email [tigerinspring1@aol.com]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:47 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Westminster, California
You really think so? Im running W764 using 4GB of RAM and it seems like its drags along.

_________________
Có một ngày tuyệt vời!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:17 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 2:03 am
Posts: 512
Location: The Lion's Den, New York City, NY
Yep, I *know* so, from several machines I own myself and hundreds I have set up and sold. Check your configuration. Get a good utility/combination anti-virus program such as this one: http://download.cnet.com/Advanced-Syste ... 99324.html

Run that program, go to Toolbox, Optimize, Startup Manager. Disable all non-vital system programs/ tasks from starting automatically upon boot. Common culprits: Itunes, Skype, HP printers- notorious memory hogs- get a different printer, or try to configure the thing differently, Norton, AVG or other resident Antivirus programs- get rid of them, totally unnecessary, use this one instead, has a much smaller footprint, have used once a week, never had a virus for years: http://download.cnet.com/IObit-Malware- ... 67594.html , Get rid of 90 % of Browser Toolbars and add-ons, remove Lenovo "clogware"- the only thing I really install on my laptops is Power Manager, PC Doctor, I.B.M. RecordNow, Bluetooth, audio, ultranav, video, ethernet and Wifi drivers and let Windows manage WIFI !, Yahoo Messenger- this type of program wants to run automatically upon startup so it can pop up in your face so you will use it more often, but it has a setting where you can configure it to only run when you click it on, also get rid of Realplayer- totally unnecessary trash- many other non-invasive video playing, video downloading programs out there that don't hog memory and resources, etc.

These are just a few off the top of my head, but there are many more such programs which people download and install and begin to slow down their system. All I know is that all my laptops boot up and shut down in a jiffy and I don't plan on investing in SSD technology anytime soon as SATA hard drive technology works just fine and is plenty fast for me. I do a lot of MS Word 2007 processing, video and audio editing, video downloading/uploading/archiving, have 15 Firefox windows constantly open (think Internet Explorer is an amateurish joke, tried Google Chrome once- another memory hog I will never use again), stream online videos and play music on my laptop constantly, work on my Christian website, print documents on a laser printer constantly, as well as a bunch of other things and 2GB on several Windows 7 Pro T60's/R60's I have or 3GB memory on my Windows Ultimate T61 and X60 tablet is plenty.

I am constantly amazed when I use some of my friends' laptops how clumsily and inefficiently they are set up. THERE IS AN ART TO SETTING UP A LAPTOP! I have laptops running for years now as smoothly and speedily if not more smoothly than when I first set them up.

People just keep installing and downloading stuff and never bother to do a good registry defrag/ hard drive defrag/ system tune up/ optimization/ virus check/ or CONTROL WHICH PROGRAMS RUN AUTOMATICALLY AT STARTUP! They never bother checking all programs installed to see if something they have downloaded might have installed components they never asked for. Sometimes they clog up their system so badly/ mess up the registry/ have bits and pieces of programs floating around/ that trying to uninstall/ fix up such a mess is futile and it's best to backup up all their data, make a list of NECESSARY programs to reinstall, start all over with a fresh format/ fresh installation and this time do it right.

Daniel.

_________________
240, 380Z, 390X, 570E, 600x, 701C("The ButterFly"), 770, A20...22,31, G40,41,
R32,40,50,51,52, R60,61, SL410/510,T20...23,30,40...43, T60p UXGA,T61,T400,
TransNote, X20..24,31,40,X41T,X60,61,X60/61T, Z61t, W500

No PM's please. MY email [tigerinspring1@aol.com]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:50 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Re: Advanced System Care -Iobit

I feel uncomfortable about this product due to recent events:
http://www.mywot.com/en/forum/4775-iobi ... l-property

Apart from Iobit, I agree with Daniel ,however in my opinion W7 is just too hungry for RAM, if you do have more RAM it works better for sure.

Rgds
Ska


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:52 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Lady Lake, FL
I have found that WIN 7 Pro runs just fine (T42p) with 1GB memory and uses less than my XP Pro did. It's also my understanding that no 32bit OS can use more than about 2.6GB of installed memory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:41 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 am
Posts: 118
Location: San Mateo, CA
The real issue is not will it run, but will it run acceptably with the applications you intend to use. Once you use up the RAM the computer will thrash the page file and your performance starts to stink. I have that problem w an old notebook and winXP. It runs...until I start to use aps, then it pigs down.

I have tried to clean both older XP laptops (T23 w 1GB of RAM, and a Dell C400 w 768MB of RAM) as Daniel mentioned, but they are both still slow when used. So I obviously did not get to the point that Daniel has. And that is a problem, the "art" of streamlining a laptop.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:46 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:34 am
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
You can also trim down non essential Windows 7 Services from starting, here is a good website for this.

http://www.blackviper.com/2010/12/17/bl ... gurations/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group