thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:04 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:39 am
Posts: 1
Location: liverpool.united kingdom
does anyone know about any software to fix the 1802 problem on an thinkpad r32 please :roll: ive tried the no 1802 software but it isnt working . allen

_________________
allen jones


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:09 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13961
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Welcome to the forum!

The issue of "no-1802" not working on R32 machines has been reported by several members here...with no fix in sight.

What card are you trying to use/enable?

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI on The FlexView Farm: A31p, T43p

Abused daily: T50, T601FL

Slaves of my wife & kids: R500F, R60F, T60


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:18 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:34 pm
Posts: 315
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Sent patched BIOS to OP, card reported to work without any side effects.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:29 am
Posts: 2
Location: Naarden, Netherlands
Sorry to kick up this old thread, but seeing that there is a solution offered to the same problem I'm facing, i thought it would be worth a try.

I currently have a almost new R32 (has been catching dust in our storage as spare laptop), and wanted to install a 2200BG Wireless card. Upon booting i was faced with the 1802 error. I did much reading, searched google and found several solutions. The most common is the no-1802 ISO. but that did not work on the IBM R32.

I'm hoping the original poster or zender are still active here and can provide me with a solution to get my wireless card accepted by the R32 and make my daughter a happy girl with a wireless enabled laptop.

Thanks in advance.

Peter


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:58 am 
Offline
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 7001
Location: ThinkPadLand
i THINK that zender has taken his bios to greener climes.. err, well, to a dedicated web site someplace..
others might know more..

welcome to the forum..

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:43 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14416
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Check your PM (new messages at the top of each web page).

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for 15" T60/R60/R61 Frankenpads
- SATA-mods
discontinued as of July 2015
- other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:29 am
Posts: 2
Location: Naarden, Netherlands
If you could see me now... I'm smiling ear to ear!

I just 'altered' the IBM R32 and afterwards inserted the Intel 2200BG. I only needed to install the drivers and now i'm good to go. My R32 is running on wireless now. Did i mention I'm smiling my teeth out? :-) One little lady is going to be happy tonight watching Nick JR streams on her new laptop.

Thank you, RealBlackStuff and awesome community.

Peter


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Hi Guys,

I have the same problem with my old R32 and WiFi card. The original one isn't working and when i put intel 2200BG error 1802 apprear. Help please with modded BIOS?!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:37 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14416
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
The usual..

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for 15" T60/R60/R61 Frankenpads
- SATA-mods
discontinued as of July 2015
- other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Hi ... The usual is?! Can You give me a working link for modded BIOS?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Thanks, i've red the PM!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Seoul, S. Korea
Hi,
I have recently installed a Belkin AP in my house and applied WPA protocol instead of old WEP protocol for security. I felt good by this change, but this created a new problem...my R32 native wireless miniPCI card(an integrated WiFi and Modem, Intel 2100B, I think) did not support WPA, so I bought a new miniPCI card(Atheros AR5213A model) and installed it on R32. On power up, I was faced with "1802" error and R32 refuses to boot up. I looked around and found that there once was a work-around to solve this problem with "Zenders modded Bios" which is no where to be found. I tried "no-1802" util and sure enough, it did not work with my R32. Can anyone hep me with pointing to a right direction where I might find modded Bios for my R32?

_________________
Now : T60p & T42p, 600X
Past : 755CE, 760XD, 770X/Z, 560Z, 570, R32, X20


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:41 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13961
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
dclee391 wrote:
I looked around and found that there once was a work-around to solve this problem with "Zenders modded Bios" which is no where to be found.


Zender's BIOS is not applicable to your machine, but to *60 series only.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI on The FlexView Farm: A31p, T43p

Abused daily: T50, T601FL

Slaves of my wife & kids: R500F, R60F, T60


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:41 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14416
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Objection your Honor.
Zender DID make an R32 BIOS!
OP, YGPM!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for 15" T60/R60/R61 Frankenpads
- SATA-mods
discontinued as of July 2015
- other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:48 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13961
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Objection your Honor.
Zender DID make an R32 BIOS!


I stand corrected, then.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI on The FlexView Farm: A31p, T43p

Abused daily: T50, T601FL

Slaves of my wife & kids: R500F, R60F, T60


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 7:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 7:37 am
Posts: 2
Location: Athens, Greece
Hi guys.
I have the exact same problem with "Beholder101" (R32 and 2200BG) and I would very much appreciate if you awesome RealBlackStuff ,or any other guy here, could provide the solution to me.
Thank you very much.
Regards to all.
Nick
:D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 10:40 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14416
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
How about checking your PM?

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for 15" T60/R60/R61 Frankenpads
- SATA-mods
discontinued as of July 2015
- other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 7:37 am
Posts: 2
Location: Athens, Greece
Thank you very much.
I will submit the outcome in a few days when the wifi card arrives.
Cheers


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited