thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:16 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:03 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Can someone point me to a thread that has a step by step on how to create the bootup disk and flash the bios on a T43

Thanks in advance
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:12 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York, NY
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11059&start=600

Looking into this myself .. and got this useful (long) thread active again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:15 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Well it seems like all you have to do is burn the .iso to a cd and boot from it and follow the prompts. Do you have to have the bios up to 1.29 version before applying the patch?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:00 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York, NY
Not sure, but, personally, I would start by flashing the 1.29 version regardless. The no-2010-error patch I think is a modification of 1.29, with just the error language removed from the code. And, if the mod-patch doesn't work, or, if you change your mind, I understand that you can re-patch the original 1.29 again. I'm myself looking for the answers .. so, I suggest you brief through the threads or wait for more qualified answers. Best, CBA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
Thx for the thread plz..
I have just replaced HDD on my T43 T/P and apparently got the 2010 error indicating the Toshiba MK8025 is NOT supported..
However the WIN 7 or VISTA progression bar will go to a point and return a prompt Installation can not be completed in SAFE MODE....?
Repeated attempts return similar results regardless of OS or select menu to install like Safe Mode/with network/last known good confug..?
BIOS on the T/P is 1.24 version 1YET59WW (1.24)
Any meaningful INPUT and direction to available RESOURCE will be greatly apptreciated Thanks ahead..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:19 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York, NY
Vijay,

Again, I'm no expert at all .. so, you should look at other threads to get more info. But, I, personally, would start by flashing the latest 1.29 BIOS, found here (read the .txt file to get all the information needed):

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... uj29us.exe <-- BIOS
http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... uj29us.txt <-- Readme

Note that a by-pass for the 2010 issue was introduced already with BIOS 1.22. Thus, you could check if that works in your case. For details, see below:

<1.22> (70ET62WW)
Note:
This BIOS version will only work with Embedded Controller Program
Version 1.01 or 1.03.

- (New) A new option to allow the system to boot without pressing the
Esc key in the BIOS Setup when the 2010 error (An unsupported
hard disk is used or the firmware of IBM/Lenovo hard disk is
old) is displayed.
To change the setting, go to 'BIOS Setup menu', 'Startup' and
then 'Boot after message for HDD...'.
(Note) Use the supported hard disk or update the firmware of
IBM/Lenovo hard disk for safe.
- (Fix) The computer may not boot.

Best, CBA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:06 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Original BIOS 1.29 --> Modded BIOS 1.29 works like a charm. Tested on my both ThinkPads in my signature.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
@..Ceebee
@..Lukee.zip
Thanks for prompt feedback/input my friend..
OK having a chance to look in to the read me txt with the link provided in your submission (Ceebee) I find compatibility info conflict plz not to undermine the meaningful help here..
I don't see the T43 I have ie Model 2668 89U with Controller version 1.03 and BIOS 1.24 while T52 n T43 other series are listed for this UPDATE release?
Apparently I'm not much of a tech sevy and trying learn the trade out of neccesity..?
Also additional reserach has indicated there are MODIFIED versions of IDENTICAL BIOS that over-ride the dreaded ERROR 2010 prompt?
That one is T43_slice_2.1_7U_no_1802_no_2010-by_TTAV 134 zip
I assume you have heard of that?
ALSO as indicated this T43 2668 89U machine don't have ANY installed OS onjust installed new Toshiba HDD MK8025GAS 80GB (tried WIN7 n VISTA but no sucess) the OS was NEVER installed completely cuz it won't go any further than some progessive stage of install?
In fact the VISTA install went all well and crashed(suspended) after copying files/installing windows/installing features and the at UPDATES are initiated BUT at this point it will CRASH n NOT coplete prompt follow?
Sorry if I have extended my explanation to my deliema BUT guess I can rely n solicit meaningful input from fellow members here and that is much appreciated..
So bottom line kindly guide me a little more and how to update the BIOS WITHOUT working OS..i tend to go usb route?
Oh the HDD does show on the system profile
Additonally there are TWO WIN7 OS showing on the advanced menu selection BUT neither one is fully functional while the machine will boot in to VISTA /OS that again is not working (were never finished full install)
OK friends look forward to your additional INPUT or I go with your earlier submission so plz guide me to install BIOS update without OS..?
Thanks ahead sorry for long explanation again..regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:00 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12770
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Your T43's inability to accept an OS has nothing to do with the error.

Wipe the drive and start fresh.

If you want, update the BIOS to a standard 1.29 first and choose the option for the machine to continue booting once the error has been displayed.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:12 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York, NY
lukee,

Your "works like a charm" messages (they are all over the place) are nice, but, the links you provide end up as 404 errors or take you to a site where a .zip (not .iso) file can be downloaded. And, how does one know that this is a good file anyway?

I was looking for a no-2010 error modified .iso file to download and I found one here: http://www.4shared.com/file/P5A3kl_N/T4 ... no_180.htm

And, how do I know that this is a good file? Well, here is web site that is all about hashes: https://www.virustotal.com/file/4a38429 ... 321973573/

I checked the hash listed on the above web-site against the hash generated by the .iso file I downloaded, and, they tallied. So, I think I'm all set .. once I decide to use the .iso file to modify my T43 BIOS.

As I'm a layman in this area (and with little time for this stuff) .. I'm not going to add much to this thread. Best, CBA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:19 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York, NY
VIJAY,

The links I gave you were for my T43. These should be okay for T43 Type 2668 89U

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... uj18us.exe
http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... uj18us.txt

Or, go visit Lenovo's d/l site: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/default.page? and enter your T43 type numer.

Good luck, CBA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
CeeBee wrote:
VIJAY,

The links I gave you were for my T43. These should be okay for T43 Type 2668 89U

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... uj18us.exe
http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... uj18us.txt

Or, go visit Lenovo's d/l site: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/default.page? and enter your T43 type numer.

Good luck, CBA

Thanks again Ceebee for directing to the resources and I'm working on this .. Hopefully be able to resolve soon..I intend to follow thru n explore the links you have provided..sincerely appreciate your input...
However Since I have put related info here if there is any additional input to address this I sure look forward to that as well...meantime wish me luck? LoL..regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
ajkula66 wrote:
Your T43's inability to accept an OS has nothing to do with the error.

Wipe the drive and start fresh.

If you want, update the BIOS to a standard 1.29 first and choose the option for the machine to continue booting once the error has been displayed.

Good luck.

thanks for the input @ ajkula66 will follow thru on your suggested approach as I struggle to address n hopefully resolve this sticky issue...thx again..
If you may kindly elaborate how do I UPDATE BIOS without OS on the machine?
Any assist is appreciated ahead...apparently I'm not tech savybut sure to follow the lead....thx again .. Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
CeeBee wrote:
lukee,

Your "works like a charm" messages (they are all over the place) are nice, but, the links you provide end up as 404 errors or take you to a site where a .zip (not .iso) file can be downloaded. And, how does one know that this is a good file anyway?

I was looking for a no-2010 error modified .iso file to download and I found one here: http://www.4shared.com/file/P5A3kl_N/T4 ... no_180.htm

And, how do I know that this is a good file? Well, here is web site that is all about hashes: https://www.virustotal.com/file/4a38429 ... 321973573/

I checked the hash listed on the above web-site against the hash generated by the .iso file I downloaded, and, they tallied. So, I think I'm all set .. once I decide to use the .iso file to modify my T43 BIOS.

As I'm a layman in this area (and with little time for this stuff) .. I'm not going to add much to this thread. Best, CBA


Thx for the iOS resource file CeeBee..notice the link and contents are geared to T52. BUT I assume n safe to say that it will work for T43 series as well cuz the error aspect/attributes is same?
As such I tend to think that if need be I can safely use that iso zip .. Apparently it has been used in these situations?
hx again for all the feedback...I'm on it and shall report back ASAP..regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:48 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Vijay, its easy to be scared that the file may be no good not to mention if you go wrong you can brick (kill) your machine. I like to set it to boot on by and not risk my machine. It takes a couple of seconds to boot past and no risk, just a thought.

burns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
burns334 wrote:
Vijay, its easy to be scared that the file may be no good not to mention if you go wrong you can brick (kill) your machine. I like to set it to boot on by and not risk my machine. It takes a couple of seconds to boot past and no risk, just a thought.

burns


Thx Burns...good perspective to be on the caution than sorry...appreciate your input ..wonder what you refer to when you say "set it to boot onby" and not risk "boot past and not risk" ? sorry with my skills i'm confused ..apparently i have no OS installed on this machine to work with or boot to win OS or any for that matter? cuz it never finishes to complete installation?
so the deliema of resolution continues for me ..thx again my friend..any additional input is sincerely appreciated..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:31 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12770
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
VIJAY M wrote:
thanks for the input @ ajkula66 will follow thru on your suggested approach as I struggle to address n hopefully resolve this sticky issue...thx again..
If you may kindly elaborate how do I UPDATE BIOS without OS on the machine?
Any assist is appreciated ahead...apparently I'm not tech savybut sure to follow the lead....thx again .. Regards


Booting from a floppy comes to mind...which is what people have done for years, before one could update the BIOS from within Windows...

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloa ... D=DS013781

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
Booting from a floppy comes to mind...which is what people have done for years, before one could update the BIOS from within Windows...

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloa ... D=DS013781[/quote]

Thanks again ajkula66...appreciate your assist and i guess in the absance of FLOPPY i'm using the disk(CD) to proceed with the resource file..thanks again..appreciate..regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:14 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York, NY
burns,

There seems to be a way to mute the error-beeps if you go the boot bypass route on 2010. Haven't checked it out, but others may point you to the answers: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11059&start=570

Best, CBA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: WINDSOR, ON CANADA
OK ppl...Thx for all feedback/experiece based input and resource links....it's a go n all done ..This T43 is back in business...BTW formated the new HDD that was apparently unsupported (at not listed on supported HDD-Toashiba MK8025GAS-80GB)..
again it's joy to be interacting with such compassionate folks here trying help each other with meaningful assist....thx much appreciated ...regards..hope to be of some assist to fellow TP-community here - some day...lol


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group