thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:17 am
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando, FL
Just bought a T420s to arrive soon, with i5/2520 processor, integrated graphics, 128GB SSD, and 4GB RAM. I want to add a second stick of 4GB RAM and am looking for advice about the best type to get. I just need something equivalent to what is probably coming in the machine, with a reasonable price. Is something like this suitable:
Patriot Signature 4 GB PC3-10600 (1333 MHz) DDR3 SODIMM Notebook Memory PSD34G13332S
or should I be looking for:
Samsung MV-3T4G4 4GB DDR3 Laptop SDRAM (1333MHz PC3-10600)

Or do you have exact product numbers that are best for the machine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 602
Location: United States
kpevav wrote:
Just bought a T420s to arrive soon, with i5/2520 processor, integrated graphics, 128GB SSD, and 4GB RAM. I want to add a second stick of 4GB RAM and am looking for advice about the best type to get. I just need something equivalent to what is probably coming in the machine, with a reasonable price. Is something like this suitable:
Patriot Signature 4 GB PC3-10600 (1333 MHz) DDR3 SODIMM Notebook Memory PSD34G13332S
or should I be looking for:
Samsung MV-3T4G4 4GB DDR3 Laptop SDRAM (1333MHz PC3-10600)

Or do you have exact product numbers that are best for the machine?


The late model Lenovo's that I have seen come with Elipda memory. I have not been able to see a difference between Kingston, PNY, Corsair, Crucial, or Centon sticks. Every stick that I have tested in all the different brands have given the exact same performance. Go with the 1333MHz memory that has the best price.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:38 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:34 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Citrus Heights, California, USA
It's best to use matching RAM sticks (same make/model) for compatibility. If the sticks have different timings/voltages it will cause instability problems, and an 8GB kit goes for $30-$40. In fact you could get a 16GB kit for around $100.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 602
Location: United States
redhook wrote:
In fact you could get a 16GB kit for around $100.



A 16GB kit for $100 would be a phenomenal deal at this point in time (Feb 2012). Prices are coming down, but the best that I have them at is around $150-160.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:17 am
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando, FL
The computer is supposed to be delivered today. I think I will look at what chip is in it now, and see if I can match it, or whether it is just the same expense to buy a 8GB kit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 602
Location: United States
kpevav wrote:
The computer is supposed to be delivered today. I think I will look at what chip is in it now, and see if I can match it, or whether it is just the same expense to buy a 8GB kit.

You must be pretty excited. I know I would be stoked.

It will be difficult to find an exact match, as manufacturer's will use the same part number for different batches. I have seen 1R modules and 2R modules with the exact same mfg model # and UPC.

If you are really concerned about it, I would go ahead and plan on an 8GB kit.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:17 am
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando, FL
Received the Thinkpad and have it installed now. I'm quite pleased, especially the keyboard, size and weight. The RAM is Samsung and it sells for about $30 for another stick, or I can get some Crucial or PNY or Kingston 2 x 4GB for about $40.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:17 am
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando, FL
So, is it okay to add a second stick of Corsair or Patriot or Crucial to go with this Samsung? I haven't had problems before doing that, but it usually has been on Macs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:16 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Katowice, Poland
kpevav wrote:
So, is it okay to add a second stick of Corsair or Patriot or Crucial to go with this Samsung? I haven't had problems before doing that, but it usually has been on Macs.


I bought my T520 with 8Gb RAM, original factory-supplied samsung 4Gb RAM and patriot 4Gb RAM added by the reseller - works just fine :) I don't think the manufacturer's name makes any difference, as long as the RAM parameters are matching


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM upgrade question
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 6:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:17 am
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando, FL
I went ahead and ordered a matched pair of Crucial memory chips. An additional Samsung chip sells for about $30, and it wasn't too much more to purchase a matched pair of Crucial. Once I see that the RAM is working okay, I will sell the Samsung chip online.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pushpull and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group