thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
I just bought it a month ago and was working fine on an unsecured network but I just moved in with a roommate and she has a secured network with WAP. I figured I could just type in her network key and bam, I'm on her network. Am I gonna have to buy a USB or network card to get this thing online? Thank you for any help, been very frustrating.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:50 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2709
Location: Paragould AR USA
Hey, welcome to the forum!

I don't have an answer to your question, but I do have some questions that might lead to an answer:

Which wireless network card does your X32 have?
Are you able to scan for wireless networks?
Does your roommates network show up as an available network?

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
OK, bare with me if I say anything dumb. It's an Intel(R) Pro/Wireless 2915ABG, yes I am able to scan for wireless networks, and yes my roommates network is right there. When I try to connect to it, it try's to connect, stops, try's to connect, stops, over and over but never connects. I've never seen this ever. I've owned like 20 laptops, so I'm just lost. This is even my 3rd thinkpad, just first X32


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
Really? Anyone know what I can do? If I just buy a usb or network adapter will I be fine and not use the internal wireless?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:34 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2709
Location: Paragould AR USA
Well, I can't say with any certainty, because even though I have some ThinkPads with the same adapter, I almost always use it on open networks. I have read to some have better connectivity using Intel drivers instead of the Lenovo/IBM drivers or standard Windows drivers. Don't which driver you are currently using, but that might be something to try and see if it makes the difference.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
Thank you, I can't even get online to download any drivers. Even just hooking it up to the modem doesn't work. I have no clue why the mobile connection to the modem won't even let me connect. Can anyone tell me if I just buy a netgear or linksys adapter can I get online without using windows to configure?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:49 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2709
Location: Paragould AR USA
Looks like you've got some driver issues. Have you checked device manageer? Can you download drivers on another computer and put 'em on a flash drive?

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
Yeah, Device manager says driver is updated. I was in a hotel just yesterday and connected fine. Seriously if I need to buy an adaper I will but I need to know if that's what I need to do. I love this laptop and don't wanna get rid of it cuz of this


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:05 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2709
Location: Paragould AR USA
Do I understand correctly that you can't even get on-line by plugging in an ethernet cable? That is what made me think you were missing the ethernet driver, not the Intel wireless driver. BTW, what driver are you using on the wireless?

If you want to buy a USB adapter, that is fine, but I don't think it's necessary. Why not just stick with what you have until you get it sorted? You know the hardware works, at least on open networks. Encryption issues could well be driver related.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
Yeah I can't get online using an ethernet cable. I know the internet wireless works so I don't know what to do. I suppose I will just have to suffer for a while. Man, this really sucks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:41 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13854
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Go into the BIOS and see if ethernet is perhaps disabled there?
Also, the 2915abg wifi card is one of Intel's worst!
Get one of these p/n 39T0071 [same as 91P7301] Atheros-based Philips cards: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Philips-IBM-Thi ... 0703683596
Drivers here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloa ... D=DS002379

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
I'll check the bios when I get home from work but I wouldn't know how to install the intel wireless so wouldn't it be cheaper to just buy a good usb adapter or card?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
I looked in the bios and the wireless is enabled. I can connect fine to an unsecured network. Seriously, if I just buy a usb adapter like Netgear or Linksys, etc. will I be ok. Does this sound like having the crappy Intel card is just not gonna work?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:52 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2709
Location: Paragould AR USA
Sure...a USB adapter should work. You will, of course, have to install drivers for the USB adapter too, but do you really want a cumbersome dongle sticking out of your X32? I would think a PCI adapter like RBS linked above would be the ideal solution. And probably less money than most USB adapters.
MikeTz28 wrote:
Does this sound like having the crappy Intel card is just not gonna work?
If you have already installed the latest drivers from Intel instead of whatever was previously installed, and you are sure you are entering the encryption key correctly, then, yes I would have to say the 2915ABG card is not going to work.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:23 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lex, KY
Well I'd much rather get a cardbus adapter than a usb adapter. But Thanks sooooo much for the help. Looks like I'll get one of the 3. The cardbus, won't be annoying if I go that route.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group