thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:43 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Underwood, WA
Vista has just got to go ... I'm backed up to an external and my plan is to install a new fresh drive and install Win 7 from scratch. Good plan ? What are the gotcha's ?

I have the OS, a spare caddy and a fresh drive. FWIW - The caddy was previously used a couple of years ago when I movced to a larger HD.

Thanks, Mal


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:31 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7696
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
4mal wrote:
Vista has just got to go ...


Why?

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,2407WFP,sp2309w,ST2210b,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:43 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:17 am
Posts: 440
Location: IN: Indianapolis
Here is the step-by-step progress of my installation of Windows 7.
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=101643

There are two different on-line system update programs...
1) Microsoft System Update, used mainly for keeping Windows 7 current.
2) Lenovo Update, used mainly for keeping Windows 7 hardware device drivers current with T61 hardware.

You may wish to hold on to your old Vista HD (which contains install programs for Lenovo Utilities).
1) My function keys no longer work as before.
2) I still haven't figured out how to install Battery Maximizer.
3) I still haven't installed other Lenovo Utilities such as PC Doctor.

_________________
Tuus-built T61: T8100 2.1 GHz, SXGA+, NVS140M, Patriot 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800, Samsung 840 120GB; Thinkpad T30: P4M 1.8 GHz, HYNIX 512 MB PC2700S DDR, Hitachi Travelstar 7K100 100GB; SilverStone Raven RVS01; 97 Volvo 850-R, 85 Mitsubishi Starion-ES, Keilwerth SX-90R, Ensoniq TS-12, Kawai EP-608


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:07 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
I just spent some time updating my recently acquired T60 with all the Vista updates. It's been running Vista since it was first deployed in 2007, but it didn't even have SP1 yet. :lol:

I have to say, once you get the updates sorted out, it's really not that bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Underwood, WA
[quote="pianowizard" Why?[/quote]
Uh, too much overhead. I'm using Win 7 at work and the quick up and down is very much more fun... My t61 is being dedicated to audio. Stability is a huge deal for me. The T61 will be part of my PA, networked to my audio mixer and allowing a capture during live performnc and iPad remote control of the mixer functions. So, my hope is to configure Win7 in lite and tight mode in the interest of stabilty and throughput.

Robert123, thanks for the link. i'll review that when I'm fresher. Just back in from rehearsal.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:00 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 am
Posts: 117
Location: San Mateo, CA
I did a Win7-64bit clean install.
It worked just fine.
Lenovo has instructions to do the clean install, and that is what I followed. I used their program to install all the drivers in the proper order, so I did not hassle with individual drivers.

In prep for the install I maxed the RAM and upgraded the HD.
- I maxed out the RAM to 8GB, so I would not have to throw away RAM if I later needed to up the RAM. 2GB was too confining. And I wanted to go 64 bit so that removed the 4GB limit for the 32 bit OS.
- I put in a 7k rpm Seagate HD drive. The 7k rpm drives have better performance and surprisingly draw less power than the 5400rpm drives.
You also have to think about how you want the HD partitioned, if at all. I do 2 partitions; C: = system and E: = data (D: is the DVD drive).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:57 am
Posts: 20
Location: New York, NY
ac12 wrote:
I did a Win7-64bit clean install.
It worked just fine.
Lenovo has instructions to do the clean install, and that is what I followed. I used their program to install all the drivers in the proper order, so I did not hassle with individual drivers.

In prep for the install I maxed the RAM and upgraded the HD.
- I maxed out the RAM to 8GB, so I would not have to throw away RAM if I later needed to up the RAM. 2GB was too confining. And I wanted to go 64 bit so that removed the 4GB limit for the 32 bit OS.
- I put in a 7k rpm Seagate HD drive. The 7k rpm drives have better performance and surprisingly draw less power than the 5400rpm drives.
You also have to think about how you want the HD partitioned, if at all. I do 2 partitions; C: = system and E: = data (D: is the DVD drive).


+1 on all of this, esp. on 8GB RAM (I also got 500GB HD). I've done all this last fall. Not a single problem (but I haven't had any with Vista either).

Do clean install, download all drivers that Windows Update offers. I haven't install ANY Lenovo software found by Lenovo update except drivers and utilities for Fn keys etc. None of the WiFi managers, PC Doctors, Power managers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Underwood, WA
did the upgrade find the fingerprint reader and firewire port ? The firewire port is especially important for me in this application as that is how the mixer and laptop will network.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:04 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 am
Posts: 117
Location: San Mateo, CA
I do use the FP reader, so yes it works.
But I don't have a firewire device, so have not tested the FW port. Seeing as how everything else worked, I don't doubt that the FW port also works, but I will have to find a FW device to test it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:57 am
Posts: 20
Location: New York, NY
4mal wrote:
did the upgrade find the fingerprint reader and firewire port ? The firewire port is especially important for me in this application as that is how the mixer and laptop will network.


I don't have either of these 2.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Posts: 715
Location: Houston, TX
4mal wrote:
did the upgrade find the fingerprint reader and firewire port ? The firewire port is especially important for me in this application as that is how the mixer and laptop will network.


FWIW, after installing Windows 7 on my X60 tablet (and maybe after Windows Update), the drivers for both FPR and firewire controller (Ricoh 1394 OHCI Compliant Host Controller) are automatically installed.

_________________
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group