thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 12:48 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:55 pm
Posts: 399
...

_________________
Die Hard OS/2


Last edited by Batuta on Thu May 12, 2005 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:38 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 279
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Not specific to OS/2, but I have seen this every so often upon a warm restart/reboot with numerous systems. Seems like the keyboard and mouse do not get "reset" or "rescanned" upon boot, and the system is fine other than no ability to operate it. ;-(

How about VNC or the like as a service so that if access directly is not possible, you might readh it from the network and issue a proper shut down? Not sure if there is a VNC thing to accomplish this....

_________________
Bob
701C, 600X, T22, G4 Powerbook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:38 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:55 pm
Posts: 399
...

_________________
Die Hard OS/2


Last edited by Batuta on Thu May 12, 2005 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:40 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 279
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Gotcha on the "no standby system."

When you boot to OS/2, is it a full power off and fresh start or is it a reboot from Windows? I recall that happened often to me back in the day of a P60 with Warp 3.0. But I digress.

I cannot offer any help with the boot command or batches, other than suggesting looking at a newer BIOS if it is available....

_________________
Bob
701C, 600X, T22, G4 Powerbook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:23 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:55 pm
Posts: 399
...

_________________
Die Hard OS/2


Last edited by Batuta on Thu May 12, 2005 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:52 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 279
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
I ask, as I recall Windows is not often "polite" about releasing hardware and reinitializing it on a warm boot. Just something to think about, however the geniuses here prolly know better than me. I am offering my thoughts based upon personal experience...

_________________
Bob
701C, 600X, T22, G4 Powerbook


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group