thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 1:03 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:34 am
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
T60-1952AP2

Bluscreen 0xC0000005

when booting from the install dvd, it bsod's when loading windows right after the animated graphics.

I upgraded the processor to a T7200 and verified it has the 64bit instruction set, what other hardware in this particular model could be causing this, graphics? 32 bit windows 7 installer works just fine, tried several known good x64 dvd's just be sure.

3gig ram

TIA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 1:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 1:17 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Sata setting set to AHCI or compatibility? I got BSOD's with the AHCI setting on mine. Running on compatibility works just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 1:29 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:34 am
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
ah, it is set to ahci, thanks, will try that.

wonder why 64bit does not like ahci? or is the sata controller?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 1:34 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 5:20 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Kent, WA
Mine works fine on ACHI (Windows Server 2008 R2 - should have same problem if that's the case). There are some CPU options in the BIOS that you might need to enable, but I don't remember what they are off the top of my head.

_________________
EasyMac308
MCITP: EDA, MCSE NT, MCSE 2000, A+
Work: Thinkpad T410 / i5-650 / 8GB / 500GB / Win7 Ent x64
Personal: T60 (4:3) / T7200 / 4GB / 500GB / Ubuntu 12.04 <scrap built>
Retired: 570E, T20, T21, T23, T30, T40, T42, T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 4:27 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:34 am
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
Still no luck with 64 bit, 32bit had issues with bootmanager until i disabled some legacy hardware in the bios, parallel port infrared, etc.

Tried everything with 64 bit

stop c0000145 Application error
the application unable to start correctly click to close app (now thats funny seeing that on a blue screen!)
0x0000005

I must have some flaky hardware 64bit does not like.

tried cpu settings also, nada.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 5:19 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:34 am
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
Looks like a recent processor upgrade is the cause, got a bad T7200, dang. At least I know what it is now, thanks for all your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 5:33 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 5:20 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Kent, WA
Perhaps an outdated BIOS version? I'm running 2.27 Embedded controller version 1.07. CPU is a T7200@2GHz. Machine is (mostly) a 1951-43U.

Under Config:
CPU:
- Core Multi-Processing - Enabled
- Intel Virtualization Technology - Enabled (although it runs fine disabled, too).

SATA:
- SATA Controller Mode Option - AHCI

I can't think of anything else off-hand that would cause you that problem. On my machine I have IR and Serial disabled, but everything else is enabled. Maybe run the hard drive diagnostic and memtest86+ next.

_________________
EasyMac308
MCITP: EDA, MCSE NT, MCSE 2000, A+
Work: Thinkpad T410 / i5-650 / 8GB / 500GB / Win7 Ent x64
Personal: T60 (4:3) / T7200 / 4GB / 500GB / Ubuntu 12.04 <scrap built>
Retired: 570E, T20, T21, T23, T30, T40, T42, T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 5:46 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:34 am
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
No, I have 2.27

graphics started going nuts after I got 32bit W7 installed, swapped the T2400 back in and all is ok, returning the processor tomorrow


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 5:54 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 5:20 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Kent, WA
Good luck!

_________________
EasyMac308
MCITP: EDA, MCSE NT, MCSE 2000, A+
Work: Thinkpad T410 / i5-650 / 8GB / 500GB / Win7 Ent x64
Personal: T60 (4:3) / T7200 / 4GB / 500GB / Ubuntu 12.04 <scrap built>
Retired: 570E, T20, T21, T23, T30, T40, T42, T43


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group