thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 153 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 12:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 4:47 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Santa Monica, CA
peroxide wrote:
dw-1515 should work with native driver on OSX. However, it is true that 10.7.3 sometimes fails recognize AR9280 (dw1515).
The fix is to remove
Code:
<key>OSBundleRequired</key>
<string>Network-Root</string>

from /System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortAtheros40.kext/Contents/Info.plist, and reinstall IO80211Family.kext

There are other possibilities as well. Knowing the device ID of your dw-1515 card and related boot log (*Atheros*.kext) will be helpful.




"tadhabib"]First, let me thank for such a great tutorial! Bravo! I followed this guide and got almost everything working perfectly - except for WiFi.

I am running 10.7.3. I have X220 i7 with intel WiMax card and bluetooth.

I reflashed 1.28 whitelisted bios and replaced intel wifi module with dell dw-1515, but no wifi icon in the finder. I even tried installing HP aetheros equivalent which worked fine under win7, but again no go under OSX.

Without WiFi module I still get working bluetooth, but it would be nice to figure what's going on. I can see dell dw-1515 as a pci device.

Any ideas?


Peroxide,

Thanks for the solution. I got wifi working, then I decided to upgrade to 10.7.4, and started getting KP. So I ended up reinstalling 10.7, then I tried going to 10.7.2, but Aperture was not compatible with it. Funny, Aperture needed 10.6.8 or 10.7.3 but not 10.7.2! BTW, under 10.7 and 10.7.2 the dell 1515 Wifi is working fine. Also, I found somebody created a patch for this, http://macmanusnl.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/10-7-3-refuses-to-see-the-atheros-ar9280/.

Through all those reinstalls my battery gauge functionality went, and now even with voodoo battery.kext I get no battery detection. Must be some other kext is missing, trying to figure out what. It was working fine before, but I don't remember what I exactly did.

This time I am holding off on 10.7.4 - I don't see a point when everything works smoothly under 10.7.3.

Happy Noob = no DSDT or console required. :)

--X220 i7 dw-1515 wifi 10.7.3 Hackintosh


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:41 am
Posts: 30
Location: St Paul, MN
Cool!
Stay with 10.7.3 is absolutely a good idea.

To get back the battery icon, you probably need to repair disk permissions. 'myfix' will do the full service for you.
I also recommend to apply the updated patched AppleACPIPlatform.kext. It provides faster boot and shutdown on 10.7.3, and may also reduces the possibility that VoodooBattery fails to load.
It is also recommended to install it in /S/L/E (replace Apple's stock one) instead of in /E/E as shown in my very first post.



tadhabib wrote:

Peroxide,

Thanks for the solution. I got wifi working, then I decided to upgrade to 10.7.4, and started getting KP. So I ended up reinstalling 10.7, then I tried going to 10.7.2, but Aperture was not compatible with it. Funny, Aperture needed 10.6.8 or 10.7.3 but not 10.7.2! BTW, under 10.7 and 10.7.2 the dell 1515 Wifi is working fine. Also, I found somebody created a patch for this, http://macmanusnl.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/10-7-3-refuses-to-see-the-atheros-ar9280/.

Through all those reinstalls my battery gauge functionality went, and now even with voodoo battery.kext I get no battery detection. Must be some other kext is missing, trying to figure out what. It was working fine before, but I don't remember what I exactly did.

This time I am holding off on 10.7.4 - I don't see a point when everything works smoothly under 10.7.3.

Happy Noob = no DSDT or console required. :)

--X220 i7 dw-1515 wifi 10.7.3 Hackintosh


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 12:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 3:31 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
got everything working i wil stay put at 10.7.3.

does the swipe gestures work for any of you ?

mine trackpad moves but can't click and no gestures...anybody got an idea ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 3:31 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
tried the new audio solution but too bad after reset (remove voodoo.hda and add the AppleHda to E/E and S/E. restart -> no sound


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 10:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:41 am
Posts: 30
Location: St Paul, MN
Have you enable HDEF in your DSDT ? (see post #2)


lf2 wrote:
tried the new audio solution but too bad after reset (remove voodoo.hda and add the AppleHda to E/E and S/E. restart -> no sound


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 10:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:41 am
Posts: 30
Location: St Paul, MN
If the touchpad works partially now, you need to adjust the settings in "system preferences" -> "Trackpad"


lf2 wrote:
got everything working i wil stay put at 10.7.3.

does the swipe gestures work for any of you ?

mine trackpad moves but can't click and no gestures...anybody got an idea ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 12:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 12:51 am
Posts: 36
Location: Fuveau, France
Hi Everyone,

Very useful post, thank you very much.
I have just installed LION on x220, same hardware as detailed in the first post excepted the proc speed 2,5GHz.

Speedstep worked fine with 10.7 but despite of using all patched AppleIn...CPU... for 10.7.4, the one from the forum or the one from Multibeast 4.5.1, I still get KP.
I also tested with different SSDT.aml, the one from the forum & the one from MultiBeast.
DSDT has been created as specified in the forum.

I don't know what to do !?

Thanks

Fréd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 6:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 3:31 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
peroxide wrote:
If the touchpad works partially now, you need to adjust the settings in "system preferences" -> "Trackpad"



does the swipe gestures work for any of you ?

mine trackpad moves but can't click and no gestures...anybody got an idea ?
[/quote]

got the audio working! much much better now, the problem is how i inserted the kext files...

tip for people use: Kext wizard!

1) did you change any values at VoodooHDA in control panel ?
2) i don't have the options in trackpad for swipe etc... is that normal ? or do i have the wrong drivers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 1:58 pm
Posts: 3
Location: LONDON, ENGLAND
Did somebody try an UEFI install with clover ?????
http://www.osx86.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=2571
http://www.projectosx.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 12:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles, CA
fraisdos125 wrote:
Hi Everyone,

Very useful post, thank you very much.
I have just installed LION on x220, same hardware as detailed in the first post excepted the proc speed 2,5GHz.

Speedstep worked fine with 10.7 but despite of using all patched AppleIn...CPU... for 10.7.4, the one from the forum or the one from Multibeast 4.5.1, I still get KP.
I also tested with different SSDT.aml, the one from the forum & the one from MultiBeast.
DSDT has been created as specified in the forum.

I don't know what to do !?

Thanks

Fréd


Some help on this would be appreciated, my system is running fine on 10.7.0, but when I go to 10.7.4 I get a KP (same as person above stated) (Re-installed 10.7.0 and now sitting and waiting to upgrade with some guidance). To the person who is staying on 10.7.3, what files/kexts did you install after the update?
________________________________________________________________________________________________

Also if any one has the i7 processor and wants to use their USB 3.0 port this kext works-http://www.osx86.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=612 (USB 3.0 Lacie kext (Patched by Modbin!)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 9:47 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
jamesdgb wrote:


Interesting stuff.

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:25 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Sydney, Australia
Thanks for this. I have basically got everything working including sleep and USB 3.0 (but not SD card reader).

One thing I can't do is click using the upper mouse buttons, and then drag with the touchpad. In fact, I can't click and drag using just the touchpad either. I can only do it when using the nib. This is rather frustrating because I'd never realised just how much I use the top mouse buttons to click and drag.

Anyhow, thanks for the up-to-date guide!

_________________
X220 | Core i7 | 8gb | IPS | 256Gb Crucial M4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 12:51 am
Posts: 36
Location: Fuveau, France
For info, I finally get working SpeedStep, no more KP in 10.7.4
For that I use the SSDT.aml from multi beast 4.5.2, the one for overclockeed i5/i7. The one for standard i5/i7 leads to KP.

In the same time I selected "Patch AppleRTC.kext". I don't think this has contributed to solve the KP. But as I am not sure.

If this can help.

F.I.: I have installed LION on a usb harddrive. Sleep & wake are now perfectly working.


Last edited by fraisdos125 on Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:05 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Miami, Florida
Hi everybody, I would like to this mod to my X220 i5 with a M4128 gb SSD, but i don't feel capable of doing it by myself, I am good at using Windows PC's, but I have zero experience with Macs and actually I don't have one, and I never use one, the closest I have been from a Mac its at a retail store, this is way I want to do this awesome mod, to start learning, if there is any one in South Florida that can help I will appreciate, or any way I can accomplish this MOD.

How you guys setup the BIOS?
I don't want to do dual boot, I want it to be MAC only.
What about the Tonymac86 method, it look easier, but i don't know if i can accomplish moderator results with this method.
I already purchase DW1515.

Thanks Damian


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles, CA
fraisdos125 wrote:
For info, I finally get working SpeedStep, no more KP in 10.7.4
For that I use the SSDT.aml from multi beast 4.5.2, the one for overclockeed i5/i7. The one for standard i5/i7 leads to KP.

In the same time I selected "Patch AppleRTC.kext". I don't think this has contributed to solve the KP. But as I am not sure.

If this can help.

F.I.: I have installed LION on a usb harddrive. Sleep & wake is now perfectly working.



This worked perfectly for me. Now I am on 10.7.4.
_________________________________________________________________________________

Audio is no longer working after updating to 10.7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 12:51 am
Posts: 36
Location: Fuveau, France
Regarding Audio, did you remove VoodooHDA and replace AppleHDA by the patched one ?
A last thing, dsdt has to be modified as specified in the second post.

After that, audio should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Got audio working. I forgot to update the DTST.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 12:51 am
Posts: 36
Location: Fuveau, France
Good good, just enjoy now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:57 pm
Posts: 2
Location: tokyo chu-ku toyosu, japan
Hi, Thank you for your tutorial.

I successed install to step5-(2.(PNLF).
I got Briteness slider.
thank you.

but,in next step5-(3, DSDTSE say error as below.

advice please!!

-------------


Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20091214 [Dec 16 2009]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2009 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 4.0

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 5046: Method (_Q16, 0, NotSerialized)
Warning 1088 - Not all control paths return a value ^ (_Q16)

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 7089: Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
Warning 1088 - Not all control paths return a value ^ (_DSM)

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 7089: Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
Warning 1081 - Reserved method must return a value ^ (_DSM)

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 8395: {
0x00
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
Error 4064 - Object does not exist ^ (DTGP)

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 8592: {
0x00
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
Error 4064 - Object does not exist ^ (DTGP)

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 9231: Store (^^PCI0.LPC.EC.SLBN (), Local0)
Warning 1093 - Called method may not always return a value ^

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 9608: Method (SLBN, 0, NotSerialized)
Warning 1088 - Not all control paths return a value ^ (SLBN)

/Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl 13046: Name (_T_0, Zero)
Remark 5111 - Use of compiler reserved name ^ (_T_0)

ASL Input: /Users/sato/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT/DSDTFiles/dsdt.dsl - 14905 lines, 489058 bytes, 6256 keywords
Compilation complete. 2 Errors, 5 Warnings, 1 Remarks, 59 Optimizations


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 12:51 am
Posts: 36
Location: Fuveau, France
You have to add the DTGP hack at the bottom of your DSDT.
Have a look to the explanation provided by DSDTSE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:57 pm
Posts: 2
Location: tokyo chu-ku toyosu, japan
hi,fraisdos125.

Thank you for your reply.
I got sleep.

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:42 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Atlanta, GA
peroxide wrote:
One interesting thing I noticed is that, after updating to 10.7.4 the Ricoh card reader suddenly start working with this version of VoodooSDHC.kext.


I still haven't gotten this working. Were there any other steps that you had to do besides installing the kext?

Edit: Nevermind. I got this working. My suggestion is to download myHack from http://myhack.sojugarden.com/guide/ and install the utilities, this will enable lspci on your machine.
Run lspci and you should see a device like this:
Code:
0d:00.0 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd Unknown device e823 (rev 04)


You'll then need to edit the kext VoodooSDHC.kext/Contents/Info.plist and fix the following entry:

Code:
<key>IONameMatch</key>
                        <array>
                                <string>pci1180,822</string>
                        </array>
                        <key>IOProviderClass</key>


You'll want to change the string to match the device ID from lspci:
ex.
Code:
<key>IONameMatch</key>
                        <array>
                                <string>pci1180,e823</string>
                        </array>
                        <key>IOProviderClass</key>


After that, just install it as normal and run myfix to rebuild your permissions and kextcache.

_________________
X61 Tablet 7767-96U | x220 4286CT


Last edited by justin412 on Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:05 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Miami, Florida
Please someone can clarify this for me, on Apple store they sold Lion as an update of Snow Leopard, I have to purchase Snow Leopard first, do the installation and after that with my Hackintosh running update to Lion OSX?, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:42 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Atlanta, GA
k9doog wrote:
Please someone can clarify this for me, on Apple store they sold Lion as an update of Snow Leopard, I have to purchase Snow Leopard first, do the installation and after that with my Hackintosh running update to Lion OSX?, thanks.


To make the bootable USB drive, you need a working OS X system. It can be a virtual machine, another hackintosh, or a real Mac. If you have another Mac to work from, you don't have to install Snow Leopard first.

_________________
X61 Tablet 7767-96U | x220 4286CT


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:05 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Miami, Florida
Its possible to run lion in my x220 without W7 in the partition, only Lion, because that's what i am trying to do and I am failing over and over again, with the installation. Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:42 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Atlanta, GA
k9doog wrote:
Its possible to run lion in my x220 without W7 in the partition, only Lion, because that's what i am trying to do and I am failing over and over again, with the installation. Thanks again.


Yes, it is possible to run it on a clean harddrive. Where are you failing at?

Couple of tips:
* get the latest version of Chimera or Chameleon and install it on the boot drive you create
* turn off wake on lan in your bios, that caused a number of issues for me
* it'll take a while to go to the next screen once the installer boots
* when you create your partitions, make sure you change it to MBR. while the x220 has UEFI, it doesn't recognize the guid partitioned tables

I have a fully functioning x220 with Lion 10.7.4. Well, close enough. The only thing right now that isn't working is the display port when I dock my laptop. Otherwise, full video, trim support on my SSD, sound, speedstep, sd card reader, even.

_________________
X61 Tablet 7767-96U | x220 4286CT


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:05 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Miami, Florida
Justin, thanks for your help.

Today I was able to install Lion 10.7.4 on the SSD, using Unibeast USB, no W7 partition, I am able to reboot with Unibeast USB as a loader and boot into lion, the method to create the usb to boot from the author didn't work for me, i did it many times, and the PC keep rebooting.

So now i am at the point were i have to do all the tricks with the kexts, and my biggest worry the DSDT file for my X220, the model is 4290-33U, basically i don't know what to do first at this stage.

I forget, BIOS 1.28 with white list, for Dell1515, the one that the author use, working in windows before OS X install.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:42 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Atlanta, GA
In the first post, there is a link to DSDTSE. Download that, extract the DSDT (there's a button there) and start editing that to make the changes outlined in the OP's tutorial. You'll also probably need to remove the first two lines, when I extract my DSDT there are two error lines at the top. Once you're done making the changes you'll need to compile the DSDT and then copy that into your /Extra folder. I also suggest downloading multibeast for the SSDT you'll need for speedstepping. But, be careful about what you install from multibeast. I don't think all of it works for the x220. Good luck!

_________________
X61 Tablet 7767-96U | x220 4286CT


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:42 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Phoenixville, PA
I copied the mbr hack files and verified that both my usb and thinkpad hdd are mbr, but when I boot from chameleon in the usb it says errors encountered while starting computer, pausing 5 seconds and then restarts. When I boot verbose it loads darwin and mach kernel, then reads a lot of .plist and .kext files before showing the same error. Any advice? Thanks a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:42 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Atlanta, GA
So here's my latest thing I want to try to get working. Following the instructions in the first post, I got bluetooth working. However, it only works until I put my laptop to sleep. The problem is that the bluetooth card is recognized by OS X as a USB device and when you put the laptop to sleep, it ejects this device. The only way to get bluetooth working after has been to reboot my computer. Anyone else run into this or figure out a way around this? I'm thinking either some way to probe and reconnect the device in an rc.wakeup script or preventing the device from ejecting, at all, when going to sleep.

_________________
X61 Tablet 7767-96U | x220 4286CT


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 153 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group