thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:55 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 1799
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Fellow old-timer ThinkPadders...: :wink:

I have an old, but perfectly running ThinkPad 755CE that I use from time to time, and which I wish to keep up-and-runinng. To the best of my knowledge it still has the original IBM HDD inside, and it is running Windows 95 with two partitions ("C" being 236 MB and "D" being 277 MB). I am uncertain about the original IBM HDD P/N or FRU, but since it is the 540 MB version I guess it is the 84G4319 (according to the tpvol2.pdf (Hardware Maintenance Manual, Volume 2: ThinkPad Computers, April 1995).

This HDD is almost filled with data that I wish to retain, so I am wondering about how/where to find a "new" and bigger, either original or compatible HDD? From the above-mentioned HMM I understand that IBM also had available a bigger HDD for the 755CE; the 810 MB having P/N 85G0961, but this drive is a bit hard to find here in Europe, so I wonder if there are perhaps alternatives?? I have to confess that I actually don't know what type of HDD is in the 755CE; is it the standard 2.5" PATA as used in e.g. the T42's, or is it some older type?

If anybody has an idea of how/where to find a bigger HDD (in perfect working condition) for my 755CE, I would appreciate any information - thanks in advance! :bow:

Johan

_________________
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:44 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 144
Location: Heckmondwike
would dare to venture that anything up to the infamous 8GB bios limit would go in there. Not sure what is in my 750c, but i put a 6gb hdd in my 701 and i believe that is older than your 755ce.

_________________
TP 380Z (2635-JGU), TP 240 (2609-21G), TP 240X (2609-62G), TP X61t (7762-B6G), TP 770 (9548-30U), TP770ED (9549-5AU), TP 770X (9549-720), TP 701C (2630-TF4), TP Z61P (0674-KSG), TP 750 (9545), Transnote (2675)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:26 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 133
Location: Central Indiana
It is an IDE/PATA hard drive but thicker (12 mm) than what you see on the market now. You can make a more modern IDE (PATA) drive up to 8 gb work in it by slightly cutting the ribbon cable inside the hard drive caddy. Much easier just to find a legacy hard drive from that era. Any drive from a 360, 750, 755, 760 up to 8 gb will work. They are getting hard to find.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:27 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 1799
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Thanks, to both of you, for your comments... I'm learning here! I am still searching for a "new", larger HDD, but with the information provided here I now know that I can expand the search to cover also HDD's intended for (or shipped with) 360's, 750's, 755's and 760's. Also, thanks very much for the information about the 8 GB limit; never had heard about that. By the way, does this limit mean that a larger HDD, say, born with a 16 GB capacity, won't be usable at all? If getting a, say, 16 GB drive, is it impossible to just somehow format it to be a 8 GB device?

Final thing: Does anyone here know how to clone my existing 540 MB HDD (now in the 755CE)? Is it sufficient simply to copy all the files from the old 755CE HDD onto a new (if I manage to get on!) and larger HDD, or won't that work? Are these issues with boot sector, MBR, MFT etc. which needs to be properly located in specific sectors on the HDD etc. like in newer versions of Windows?

Thanks for any additional hints about actually where to find me a "new" larger HDD for my old '755CE!

Johan

_________________
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:31 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 133
Location: Central Indiana
This is the actual drive (810 mb):

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-DVAA-2810-T ... 3cc54f6311

This 1.2 gb drive will work, too:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-1-2-GB-2-5- ... 45f1b6a5b9

You could simply open up your drive caddy and replace the existing drive with one of these. Cloning the drives from a pre-usb machine is a bit of a challenge. The easiest way is to get 2 usb to laptop ide adapters and do the clone on a modern machine with Acronis or some similar program. It will copy the boot sector and all. You can also do it with a pcmcia compact flash adapter as one of the hard drives and a floppy version of Acronis to boot from.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group