thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:39 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1083 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
Dan, thanks! That was really helpful. Do you happen to remember what was your drive's original F/W version (it's printed on drive's label)?

I can see a couple of ebay auctions for these drives nowadays, i.e.:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261051013002?ss ... 1438.l2649

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-128GB-1 ... 4604c37664

One is HP-branded F/W VBM1AH1Q, and the other one is unknown since picture is not clear and the seller doesn't reply on emails...

Thanks,
-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:00 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Mesa, AZ
Looks like my firmware was VBM1EL1Q. It has a Lenovo partno on it. Found this pic. Mine looks just like this, but is revision 1002:

Image

I would probably stick with the Lenovo branded one. I know for sure it works, but the others very likely will as well. Maybe google for firmware updates for whatever you're looking at to get a warm fuzzy that it won't be an issue.

--Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
Dan, thanks! Your help is much appreciated. I'm torn between getting this or try Dell-branded Samsung 470/PM810 -series drive which has a small 1.8" PCB inside a larger 2.5" case (P/N MZ-7PA/MZ-5PA). I have a 470 in my other laptop and it was running great so far and it has TRIM supported by factory firmware already (no F/W tinkering required).

http://www.storagereview.com/samsung_47 ... 5pa256hmdr

-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:00 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Mesa, AZ
albertr wrote:
Dan, thanks! Your help is much appreciated. I'm torn between getting this or try Dell-branded Samsung 470/PM810 -series drive which has a small 1.8" PCB inside a larger 2.5" case (P/N MZ-7PA/MZ-5PA). I have a 470 in my other laptop and it was running great so far and it has TRIM supported by factory firmware already (no F/W tinkering required).

http://www.storagereview.com/samsung_47 ... 5pa256hmdr


I'd go ahead and use that one then. If you know it's a 1.8" board & supports trim there's no reason really not to use it.

Edit: Actually, there is the 3.3v vs 5v thing to consider. The x41 and its PATA connector are for 3.3v drives. Most 2.5" drives including this one you're looking at are 5.5v. The SATA power connector though has different 3.3v & 5v pins. If the drive will run on 3.3v, you're set. If not, you'll have to find 5v somewhere on the mobo for it. Probably not hard to find something, but I dunno. There might even be a 5v pin in the PATA connector somewhere.

--Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
Have received the drive today. As was noted before, there's a 1.8" PCB inside Samsung 470/PM810 drive case, which is about the same size as 1.8" PATA drivers, here's the pictures:

Image

Here's the size comparison to 1.8" PATA drive (SSD is on top, PATA is bottom):

Image

There're plenty of new Samsung 470/PM810 SSD drives available on Ebay. I got mine for $90 shipped here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/290682803602?ss ... 1439.l2649

It's has a Dell-branded firmware AXM08D1Q, so Samsung Magician will not work and I will not be surprised if Dell will never release a F/W updates for this drive. The drive's F/W AXM08D1Q apparently already has TRIM support enabled. I was able to see it's recognized as such under Linux, but haven't seen how automated garbage collection works. I hope that it works as advertised, but cannot verify it at the moment...

Also, the datasheet mentioned that there's an activity LED indicator signal line available on SATA pin 11 on these drives:

Quote:
"The signal provides for activity indication is a low-voltage low-current driver intended for efficient integration into present and future IC manufacturing processes. The signal is NOT suitable for directly driving an LED and must be buffered using a circuit external to the drive before driving an LED."


Dan is absolutely right - this drive doesn't have +3.3V power lines on its SATA connector, only +5V lines. Needs +5V to power up.

-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
Always knew that dremel can be quite handy... :mrgreen:

Image

Image

Image

-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:00 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Mesa, AZ
Wow, you really went to town on that chip eh? :lol: Not that mine looked much better. To do it again, I'd probably go the same way, but just take extra care around those corner pins needed to solder to so that the pads don't get destroyed. One of mine was pretty messed up and it took a few tries to get a good connection.

Done yet?

--Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
houlster wrote:
Done yet?


Not quite yet. The drive gets recognized by laptop's BIOS, so I assume that the data lines are connected correctly, but I was not able to get it recognized when I boot up Linux from the CD-ROM. It looks more line power/grounding issue. Currently the drive is powered from USB +5V, and I think it was not a good idea. I need to find a reliable +5V source inside X41 tablet.... Any ideas?

Image


-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:06 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13487
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
You have been way too impulsive/destructive!
These motherboards have several layers in them. The wiring does not go just on the top and the bottom!
Your amateurish work has also ground away some of the intermediate layers and their wiring, causing way more damage than just annihilating an innocent SATA-PATA bridge chip.
I take those off with a heatgun in only a few minutes.
I suggest you start looking for another motherboard.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
RealBlackStuff,

I'm not quite sure what's your point... I can't care less about any destroyed traces to the bridge chip since I never planned to resolder it back. As far as everything else goes, I can boot Linux and run fine on this motherboard. Wouldn't it be sufficient proof of functionality for you?

-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:32 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13487
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
RealBlackStuff wrote:
... also ground away some of the intermediate layers and their wiring...

I don't require proof from anybody.
And I couldn't care less if your motherboards works or not. I only gave a pointer. Ignore it if you like.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:47 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Richmond,VA
Is there a way to upgrade a Samsung 128GB MMCQE28G8MUP-0VAL1 with firmware VBM0DL1Q to any firmware which supports TRIM.

FRU # 41W0519


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 7:29 pm
Posts: 6
For those of us who are less adventurous, this simple adapter for mSATA drives should do the trick:

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=16819695910

They seem to cost only a tiny bit more than the 2.5" SATA flavor:

http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs. ... T256M4SSD3

http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs. ... T256M4SSD2

That seller even offered both 3.3V as well as 5V versions so theoretically any older ThinkPads should be able to take those mSATA drives if BIOS were able to recognize them. Eventually they should be available @ eBay or AliExpress and then placing an order will be much easier.

Finally I will have sweet SSD upgrades for my X31 and X41 Tablet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:46 am 
Offline
Deactivated

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:47 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Detroit, Michigan
bbq wrote:
For those of us who are less adventurous, this simple adapter for mSATA drives should do the trick:

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=16819695910

They seem to cost only a tiny bit more than the 2.5" SATA flavor:

http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs. ... T256M4SSD3

http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs. ... T256M4SSD2

That seller even offered both 3.3V as well as 5V versions so theoretically any older ThinkPads should be able to take those mSATA drives if BIOS were able to recognize them. Eventually they should be available @ eBay or AliExpress and then placing an order will be much easier.

Finally I will have sweet SSD upgrades for my X31 and X41 Tablet.

Thanks for uploading this, you're my new friend.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
bbq wrote:
Finally I will have sweet SSD upgrades for my X31 and X41 Tablet.



"Will have". I await positive results and will applaud your efforts. Sadly, promises have delivered more than reality, of late.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:46 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 1:06 pm
Posts: 61
Location: San Francisco, CA
5V is on ebay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/280952757843?ss ... 328wt_1076

3.3V also
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-E-MSATA-SSD ... 3207wt_840


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 8:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 12
Location: NYC, NY
albertr wrote:

Not quite yet. The drive gets recognized by laptop's BIOS, so I assume that the data lines are connected correctly, but I was not able to get it recognized when I boot up Linux from the CD-ROM. It looks more line power/grounding issue. Currently the drive is powered from USB +5V, and I think it was not a good idea. I need to find a reliable +5V source inside X41 tablet.... Any ideas?


Haven't been here for awhile, just want to give everybody a quick update... My X41t runs beautifully with Samsung 470/PM810 SSD drive. The brief instability problem I had back in July was due to one of my flying leads I soldered to the motherboard came loose. After re-soldering I put a layer of epoxy to cover the solder joints and never had an issue since then.

A couple of things to notice:

1. There's +5VDC available on the X41t motherboard. I'm using +5VDC found on docking station connector.
2. The activity LED doesnt work with Samsung 470/PM810 drive.
3. Samsung 470/PM810 drive needs +5VDC, it won't work on +3.3VDC.
4. TRIM seems to work fine in Linux with the original f/w.

-albertr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
I appreciate this, greatly, as my CF SSD pursuit is costly and unfruitful. I opened a Samsung 830 SSD to find a 2.5" CB, so that's a dead end, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:58 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:52 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Germany
Hello everybody,
i am also a long term X41t user and went from a 4200HDD over a 64Gb Kingspec now to a Crucial M4 64Gb + mSATA Adapter. One thing that annoys me is that there seems to be a bug in the SATA-IDE Conversion Chip or on the software side. With both SSD i get an almost hanging system under heavy ssd load, like crystalmark. System hangs for 5-6 seconds, HDD LED full bright.
With the Kingspec i always thought this pehnomenom is due to the small cache of this drive, but the crucial has to be safe in that term. One things that helps a lot against that behaviour while doing normal working is disabling windows write cache in the device manager in Win7.
Anyone else observed that behaviour? I also have it after a clean install...Bios is the newest!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:56 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13487
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
You need to get rid of the SATA-PATA bridge chip.
In your situation you have:

Motherboard -> SATA -> Bridge Chip -> PATA connector -> mSATA converter -> mSATA drive.

After doing the SATA mod you could have:

Motherboard -> SATA -> mSATA connector -> mSATA drive.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:01 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Posts: 770
Location: Tartu, Estonia
RealBlackStuff wrote:
After doing the SATA mod you could have:

Motherboard -> SATA -> mSATA connector -> mSATA drive.


Which is what I have just done on my X41: took a dead X61 system board with miniPCIe connectors, sawed the piece of PCB with connector and screw mounts and cleaned the piece of components with hot air gun. Then soldered 6 wires (GND, +3.3V, four SATA wires) and connected them to X41.
With the Adata 64GB mSATA drive it works perfectly.


And it is also possible to use mSATA drive on X60/X61 as the southbridge has 2nd SATA pins on the system board as I learned from the schematics. Since on X60/X61 the mSATA pins are not connected on the mPCIe connectors, you can just solder them (from southbride -> mPCIe) and you have booting 2nd SSD.
When I have more time, I will do it.

_________________
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Posts: 772
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Raceboy wrote:
And it is also possible to use mSATA drive on X60/X61 as the southbridge has 2nd SATA pins on the system board as I learned from the schematics. Since on X60/X61 the mSATA pins are not connected on the mPCIe connectors, you can just solder them (from southbride -> mPCIe) and you have booting 2nd SSD.


Uh, WWAN slots on X61 actually has PCIe lanes. So you'll have to cut the PCIe traces on a X61 before connecting SATA to them.
Also, are the extra SATA channels actually available (as in easily accessible, instead of being grounded immediately / not connected)?

_________________
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:09 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:52 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Germany
Solved the hanging problem now. When I installed XP for a try, i did not observer any hangs. So whats the big difference between XP and 7? Trim...disabling it in Win7 (disabledelenotify) did the job, no more hangs and nice benches! See here for XP above and Win7 bottom: http://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/147566-Crucial-M4-im-X41t-Ultimative-SSD-L%C3%B6sung-f%C3%BCr-Nichtl%C3%B6tbegabte-%28Pic-warning%29?p=1480579&viewfull=1#post1480579


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Posts: 20
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
My bad experience with ssd mod.
I have used SSD Sandisk P4 32gb 2,5 sata hdd.Inside alluminium case is "half" sized ssd.I tried it in my X41t with modified bios(error 2010).SSD was recognized,but installing windows was not possible.I got random errors.Also Xubuntu had errors.First no wifi,then error read disk.HDD regenerator says no bad clusters.Acronics disk server says no disk,GParted in linux repair it,but about a few minutes hdd has 4kb capacity!!! In another
laptop disk was readeable without any problem.In my mods I take 5V from usb socket.Then I tried another point(near docking connector) for 5v.SSD start very hot and now is pernamently damaged.Before it,I look for new firmware.Sandisk utility says no fw for this type.Disc was recognized under winXP after 2-3 minutes via usb adapter,but without SMART and size was 2,1TB!!!Test with classic 2,5 sata 80gb hdd works without problem.Some peoples had also problems with this SSD in tablests and Lenovo products.I have idea about some incompatibility with this SANDISK ssd.

_________________
A22e,T40,x41,x41t,T60 IPS,2xT61,x61s


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:28 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:52 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Germany
Hi derick,

sorry to hear that it´s not working for you. Which Adapter did you actually use? You have to be careful with the Voltage...X41(t) provide 3.3V instead of 5V that the T4x provide. So if you use the wrong adapter, Voltage might be too low or high for your specific SSD.
USB Adapter don´t provide Smart data in many cases...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Posts: 20
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
Hi
inside X41 was no adapter.Sata was conected to sata pins according mods.(PATA chip was removed etc).
Only 5v was needed.

_________________
A22e,T40,x41,x41t,T60 IPS,2xT61,x61s


Last edited by derick on Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:39 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:52 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Germany
For the direct SATA mod, i never heard of any incompatibilities. The incomp. arise from the various adapter/bridge combinations that are used in the books.
But now as far as i understand your SSD is broken? I would check the soldering again for 100%. SSDs might not work in an adapter, so if you have the possibilitie check in a "real" PC with SATA. To my experience all these computer parts survive much more than initially expected...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Posts: 20
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
Pins are OK.Another HDD 80gb boot win without problem,but it is classic SATA 2,5 disc.My Sandisk
is now totally broken (Sandisk SSD P4 32gb,model: SDSA4GH 032G).
http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=267498

I think it was SSD problem itself.Now HDD is not recongnized in another machine(Dell).Some smd components are very hot.Maybe power line problem.Anyway this SSD had a big problems with X41t.

EDIT:
New info from sandisk forum.Its even for X61 not 41.(My dead sandisk was 3gb/s).
"Lenovo x61 bios is limited to SATA 1.5gbps although the chipset supports SATA 3.0gbps
You might want to flash to the hacked bios which enables SATA 3.0gbps"
http://forums.sandisk.com/t5/SanDisk-Ex ... d-p/272005

Some peoples tried SATAll 3GB/s SSDs and they works OK.So maybe only some models have a compactibility problem.

_________________
A22e,T40,x41,x41t,T60 IPS,2xT61,x61s


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:49 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:52 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Germany
Check here for 3Gbs: http://en.www.ali.dj/sata-ii-support-fo ... 1-x61-r61/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Posts: 20
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
It is fine,but there is no bios for X41t.As for as I understand the speed is cripled to SATA1,but SSD SATA2 disk maybe work in SATA1 mode.Only speed is limited.But in some models has symptoms freezing or hangs the system.
So what is solution?
1.Test another SATA2 SSD?
2.Put back Marvell chip and buy small PATA SSD or CF card?

EDIT:
So,today I put sucessfully Marvel chip back and I will look for any fast CF card.

_________________
A22e,T40,x41,x41t,T60 IPS,2xT61,x61s


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1083 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group