thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:08 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 96
Location: East London, UK
Hi,

I have an X1 and am thinking of swapping the Mobile Broadband card out and replacing with a mSATA ssd drive. I dont want to replace the HDD with an SSD as I need at least 320GB disk space and the SDD drives exceeding that capacity are too expensive for me.

I am thinking I can fit a 120GB mSATA, transfer the OS to to it and get the best of both worlds...I don't really use the Mobile Broadband as my Android phone acts as a wifi hotspot / has tethering which is good enough for me.

Can I use say a Crucial or OCZ mSATA drive or do I have get hold of an official Lenovo item?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:06 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:54 pm
Posts: 224
Location: Coyoacan, Mexico
Yeah, mSATA are standard. Or you can buy an ultrabay adapter for a second hard drive and keep WWAN. Optical drives are rarely used today, are probably less useful than mobile boradband. And you can keep the drive in your sleeve just in case.

_________________
Main: i3 2100T, 16GB, Z68 Pro3 M, 64GB SLC, 320GB HD, GTX 650Ti, 21.5 FHD LED
T420: i5-2520m, 8GB, SSD: 64GB SLC (boot) | 128GB MLC (storage), HD3000, HD (1366x768), 6 Cell, BT, WebCam
X220: i5-2520m, 4GB, SSD: 64GB SLC (boot) | 128GB MLC (storage), HD3000, HD (1366x768), 6 Cell, BT, WebCam, FP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:58 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 4056
Location: Minnesota
It's hard to replace the optical drive on a notebook that doesn't have one like the X1. :P

I don't think there's a Lenovo mSATA with CRU, but I could be wrong. Chances are it's less expensive to just do it yourself anyway.

_________________
ThinkPad X220


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:20 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 96
Location: East London, UK
ZaZ wrote:
It's hard to replace the optical drive on a notebook that doesn't have one like the X1. :P

I don't think there's a Lenovo mSATA with CRU, but I could be wrong. Chances are it's less expensive to just do it yourself anyway.


Thanks - I was planning to stick a Crucial 128GB in - just wanted to be sure - as I had issues years ago swapping the Wifi card on an older Thinkpad - had to hack the BIOS etc.

I will email crucial to confirm first...
Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:29 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:54 pm
Posts: 224
Location: Coyoacan, Mexico
ZaZ wrote:
It's hard to replace the optical drive on a notebook that doesn't have one like the X1. :P

I don't think there's a Lenovo mSATA with CRU, but I could be wrong. Chances are it's less expensive to just do it yourself anyway.


Ammm... lapsus brutus... mea culpa...

_________________
Main: i3 2100T, 16GB, Z68 Pro3 M, 64GB SLC, 320GB HD, GTX 650Ti, 21.5 FHD LED
T420: i5-2520m, 8GB, SSD: 64GB SLC (boot) | 128GB MLC (storage), HD3000, HD (1366x768), 6 Cell, BT, WebCam
X220: i5-2520m, 4GB, SSD: 64GB SLC (boot) | 128GB MLC (storage), HD3000, HD (1366x768), 6 Cell, BT, WebCam, FP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:27 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 96
Location: East London, UK
Just to confirm I successfully installed the Crucial m4 mSATA 128gb SSD into my X1.
After a bit of hassle (my fault) migrating the existing Windows installation from the HDD to the SSD I am now booting from the mSATA drive OK.

EDIT: Someone messaged me asking if I needed to bypass BIOS etc to get the X1 to recognise the Crucial mSata drive - no I did not - it was recognised just fine.
The problem above was more to do with cloning the data from the HDD to the mSata - if memory serves me, I forgot to set the mSATA active..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:33 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:35 pm
Posts: 92
I successfully installed a Mushkin 120GB mSATA along with a 240GB SanDisk SSD (this required some warranty voiding modification) and have had no issues. The only odd thing I encountered was Windows putting the System Reserved partition on the 240GB since it recognizes the drives in a different order than the BIOS.

_________________
X1: i5-2520M | 8GB DDR3 | 120GB mSATA & 240GB SSD | Windows 8.1 Pro

Retired:
T40, T42, T60 (x2), T61, T61p, T500, x100e


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group